We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, quiet place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge South

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge South
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1850 South Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 53 hotels in Rochester
Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very clean, quiet place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel and found the room to be very clean and updated. It was also very quiet. The staff was friendly, and the morning breakfast offerings were great. The location was really convenient, nice to have the Perkins restaurant right next door. The hotel was in the middle of some renovations while we were there, but it did not negatively affect our stay. We had requested a 2nd floor room and our request was fulfilled. We would definitely stay here again. Great room rates too, especially after signing up for the Choice Privileges membership program (which was free).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    33
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
35
8
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grand Forks, North Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was a nice place to stay. It was quiet and clean. The breakfast room was very good and continually stocked as people came and went. The staff were very helpful with any problems of which we had none.
We were there on a trip for Mayo Clinic and the shuttle was a great way to get to the clinic and back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed here 2 weeks. Special weekly Mayo rate available. Rooms clean,frig,microwave,coffee. Just a good basic hotel with quiet rooms. Upgrade adding elevator underway so for now you must climb stairs for 2nd floor. Very basic free breakfast. Grocery store,Perkins, Outback, etc. all within walking or short drive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for her visit to Mayo Clinic. The room was clean and nicely furnished. We got a king room with a recliner, which we especially enjoyed. It was very convenient to walk next door for dinner at Perkins. Our room was on the second floor. After my wife's surgery it was clear that we needed a room on the first floor since she would have severe trouble on stairs. I called from Mayo's in the morning to see if we could arrange this. It was graciously done even though the motel was full or nearly full and we were able to switch rooms in early afternoon. The complimentary Rochester and Minneapolis newspapers were appreciated.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so if stairs to the second floor are a problem, ask for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael J, Owner at Econo Lodge South, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for the nice review. Since purchasing the hotel over 7 years ago, we have been doing our best to improve our guests experience. The elevator issue you mentioned is now under construction and should be open by July of 2013. This will greatly improve our ability to serve our Mayo Clinic and for that matter all guests. Thanks again. Mike Jacobson Owner/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Last visit to Rochester we stayed at a different motel...not a good experience. But on the shuttle bus we rode, the folks getting on from Econo Lodge were raving about their room and the motel in general, so we booked a room for this visit and are very very glad we did. The room (and motel in general) looked and felt very clean, the bed was super comfortable, it was quiet, and even the heat in the room was SO NOT annoying - no blowing musty heater unit rattling away. Some kind of heat panel - it was quiet and not blowing air in our space. We did not even wake up with hurting backs from the beds!! I think that was a first! We will definitely be back to stay in comfort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael J, Owner at Econo Lodge South, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for the nice comments. We also like our "Boiler Heat" in the winter months as it is a very quiet heat. However it will soon be coming to an end as our boiler is old and does not have the recovery speed that conventional through the wall heating/cooling systems have. We will eventualy be removing the boiler and switching entirely to the individual, "through the wall" heating and cooling systems. You can be assured that we will always mantain them very well. I wanted to let you know in advance of our future plans so you won't be disappointed.
Mike Jacobson
Owner/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here because we had appointments at Mayo clinic. The hotel is up to date, clean and the staff is super friendly. Upon checking in, we ran into two other guests and they told us what a wonderful hotel we had chosen. The week before, Rochester had received a good amount of snow, and the owners went out to the parking lot and brushed all the cars off and shoveled between the cars so it was one last thing for the guests to worry about. Also, the shuttle that goes to and from Mayo Clinic is AWESOME, saving you parking fees and looking for a parking spot. We will be staying here again and we recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael J, Owner at Econo Lodge South, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments. I just wanted to let our guests know who read this that we do attempt to clean snow off cars. However we are not always able to make this happen before guests leave our property. We make decisions based on staffing, time of day or night that it snows or stops snowing, outdoor temp, future forcasts etc.
Thank you, Mike Jacobson Owner/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

needed 2 rooms due to a family member having surgery........... very accomidating!! This also
IMPRESSED US VERY MUCH....they have Bible verses written on a board going into the laundry room. AND if you need prayer they will pray with you!! What a wonderful thing when a loved one is in the hospital! And for Christians that is wonderful. The more prayer we have the better!!

Room Tip: We asked for the main floor, they have 2 floors but you have to use the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge South

Address: 1850 South Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Rochester
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#12 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge South 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The EconoLodge was recently named "Hotel of the Year 2014" by Choice Hotels International. Econolodge is a Family owned hotel offering 100 % Smoke-free, and Pet free rooms. All rooms include a Microwave, Refrigerator, & Coffeemaker televisions are 32" HD LCD's, with HD cable & HBO. There is Free Wi-Fi available throughout the hotel. EconoLodge offers free local and long distance calls to 48 states. A complimentary shuttle will take you to the Mayo Clinic and Saint Mary's Hospital during normal clinic hours. An expanded continental breakfast is offered every morning from 6-9 am. EconoLodge is Located 2 miles south of Mayo Clinic and next door to Perkins Family Restaurant. 3 Blocks from Olmsted County Fairgrounds, Graham Arena Sports Complex. 1.5 Miles from Mayo Civic Convention Center, University of Minnesota Rochester, Apache Mall, Plummer House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Rochester
Rochester Econo Lodge
Econolodge Hotel Rochester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.