We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area to your Saves list
Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1850 South Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 57 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
mpls
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“very nice place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

very nice hotel, somewhat small, but very comfortable, clean, the stadd was very good. The breakfast was very good for what it was. location is easy to find and get around.Having never stayed at an Econo Lodege this was a pleasant surprise. The price was very much in line with the area's hotels. All the ratings that put this as a top line hotle in Rochester are correct

Room Tip: second floor is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    38
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
39
38
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My friend and I met in Rochester over the weekend. We wanted a decent place to stay with out going broke over a hotel room. This place was a real treat.

Extremely nice staff, clean hallways, room and bathroom. My friend even made a comment about wondering how often they wash their shower curtains becuase it looked brand new.

The breakfast was just what we needed for two ladies. It had make you own waffles, donuts, english muffin, dry crereal, oatmeal, hard cooked eggs, coffee and juice.

The staff was always friendly and offering help with directions. They were always working on something.. I think they have just been finishing an outdoor seating area.

You can tell the owners really care about this property. I would definately return and tell friends to stay here also.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berryville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The room was sparking clean, with nice furniture, fridge, micro. It was quiet, really quiet. The bed was soo comfortable. The staff helped me out of several problems i'd created for my self. The new fridge didn't work well and they replaced it immediately and gave me credit to eat at neighboring restaurant for the food i'd lost. It's so good to know that anytime i have to return, which i do, i am set up in the best place for best price, with best staff! No more searching and wondering.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Very pleasant stay while visiting Rochester overnight. This hotel is the cheapest you will find in the area but does not compromise on quality whatsoever. They earned a 2012 award for outstanding service and rightfully deserve it; comfortable beds, great coffee, and exceptional continental breakfast made our weekend getaway so enjoyable. It is adjacent to Perkin's and within a five-minute drive of everything remarkable in Rochester. Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: If you require any sort of disability services, make sure to request a room on the first floor since...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Had some appointments at the Mayo Clinic and we stayed at the Econo Lodge. Stayed for 3 nights. ENJOYED it totally. Had shuttles going to the Mayo. They served a very good pick your own breakfast, served hot, cold cereals, waffles, fruit, toast, muffins, sweet rolls, ect.
We WILL STAY at the Econo Lodge again for sure.
TRY IT.............YOU'LL LIKE IT!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onawa, Ia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had an appointment in Rochester, Mn at the Mayo Clinic. We have visited Mayo many times but have never stayed at the Econo Lodge but thought we would try it on this visit. We were not disappointed. It has such a friendly staff that help make your stay great. The rooms are on the small side but very clean and nice. The continental breakfast had very good choices to pick from. They have a shuttle that runs to the clinics and hospital. We will definitely stay there again if we have to visit Rochester. The beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My daughter and I traveled to the Mayo Clinic during the last week of August, 2012. Our stay at the Econo Lodge South was very nice; the rates were excellent for the accommodations we received. Each morning began with a breakfast that offered a wide variety of choices followed by a ride on the free, hourly shuttle bus service to and from the clinic. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. You couldn't have asked for more. Our beds were comfortable and the rooms clean. It was in a safe neighborhood, and no noise was noticed from the highway out front where our room was located. A friend of ours who had stayed there twice recommended it to me, and I highly recommend this facility to you if you are in Rochester visiting Mayos. By the time you take into consideration the Mayo discount, the cost of breakfast, and the parking fees saved by using the five-minute shuttle bus ride, it was indeed an Econo Lodge.

Room Tip: There was no elevator for the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area

Address: 1850 South Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Rochester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#5 Family Hotel in Rochester
#11 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 2014 "Hotel of the Year" by Choice Hotels International is a family owned and operated hotel. At the Lodge, we believe in going above and beyond the standard which is why we offer a Deluxe Continental Breakfast that includes fresh fruit, yogurt, Belgian waffles, hot and cold cereals, and so much more. The Lodge provides door-to-door service with a complimentary shuttle to the Mayo Clinic and St. Mary's Hospital during normal clinic hours. We understand our guests desire in-room conveniences which is why we have equipped each room with a microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, and hair dryer. Be sure to take advantage of our many on-site amenities including our 24-hour Fitness Room, Business Center, and free Wi-Fi. Dining out is easy with several nearby restaurants - many of which offer discounts to Econo Lodge guests. Whether you are coming to Rochester to visit the world renowned Mayo Clinic, for a local sporting event, or a family reunion, the Lodge will provide you with outstanding accommodations in a central Rochester location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Rochester
Rochester Econo Lodge
Econolodge Hotel Rochester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.