We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel- Great Staff- Won't go broke or feel dirty for Staying here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge South

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Econo Lodge South
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1850 South Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 53 hotels in Rochester
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Hotel- Great Staff- Won't go broke or feel dirty for Staying here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My friend and I met in Rochester over the weekend. We wanted a decent place to stay with out going broke over a hotel room. This place was a real treat.

Extremely nice staff, clean hallways, room and bathroom. My friend even made a comment about wondering how often they wash their shower curtains becuase it looked brand new.

The breakfast was just what we needed for two ladies. It had make you own waffles, donuts, english muffin, dry crereal, oatmeal, hard cooked eggs, coffee and juice.

The staff was always friendly and offering help with directions. They were always working on something.. I think they have just been finishing an outdoor seating area.

You can tell the owners really care about this property. I would definately return and tell friends to stay here also.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    30
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
33
7
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berryville, Arkansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The room was sparking clean, with nice furniture, fridge, micro. It was quiet, really quiet. The bed was soo comfortable. The staff helped me out of several problems i'd created for my self. The new fridge didn't work well and they replaced it immediately and gave me credit to eat at neighboring restaurant for the food i'd lost. It's so good to know that anytime i have to return, which i do, i am set up in the best place for best price, with best staff! No more searching and wondering.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Very pleasant stay while visiting Rochester overnight. This hotel is the cheapest you will find in the area but does not compromise on quality whatsoever. They earned a 2012 award for outstanding service and rightfully deserve it; comfortable beds, great coffee, and exceptional continental breakfast made our weekend getaway so enjoyable. It is adjacent to Perkin's and within a five-minute drive of everything remarkable in Rochester. Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: If you require any sort of disability services, make sure to request a room on the first floor since...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Had some appointments at the Mayo Clinic and we stayed at the Econo Lodge. Stayed for 3 nights. ENJOYED it totally. Had shuttles going to the Mayo. They served a very good pick your own breakfast, served hot, cold cereals, waffles, fruit, toast, muffins, sweet rolls, ect.
We WILL STAY at the Econo Lodge again for sure.
TRY IT.............YOU'LL LIKE IT!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onawa, Ia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had an appointment in Rochester, Mn at the Mayo Clinic. We have visited Mayo many times but have never stayed at the Econo Lodge but thought we would try it on this visit. We were not disappointed. It has such a friendly staff that help make your stay great. The rooms are on the small side but very clean and nice. The continental breakfast had very good choices to pick from. They have a shuttle that runs to the clinics and hospital. We will definitely stay there again if we have to visit Rochester. The beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My daughter and I traveled to the Mayo Clinic during the last week of August, 2012. Our stay at the Econo Lodge South was very nice; the rates were excellent for the accommodations we received. Each morning began with a breakfast that offered a wide variety of choices followed by a ride on the free, hourly shuttle bus service to and from the clinic. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. You couldn't have asked for more. Our beds were comfortable and the rooms clean. It was in a safe neighborhood, and no noise was noticed from the highway out front where our room was located. A friend of ours who had stayed there twice recommended it to me, and I highly recommend this facility to you if you are in Rochester visiting Mayos. By the time you take into consideration the Mayo discount, the cost of breakfast, and the parking fees saved by using the five-minute shuttle bus ride, it was indeed an Econo Lodge.

Room Tip: There was no elevator for the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here on August 21st. We were going to the Bob Dillon concert at the civic center.
We stay at the Choice Hotels whenever possible. This was our first Econo Lodge and we
will be back. It is an award winning hotel. We could see why. I read all the other reviews and
it is true. It is very clean, the beds are comfy, the breakfast is very good. The staff is very
friendly and make you feel welcome. It is very close to John Hardys BBQ one of our favorite
places to eat. Perkins is also very close. You can walk right over. We will be back here in
October for an appointment at the Mayo. The shuttle takes you over. I have to mention
the A/C is by far one of the best. It is quiet and you can adjust it so the fan will run constantly
and you won't hear the machine turn off and on. Which gives me a good night sleep.

Room Tip: They do not have an elevator. It is two levels. The staff is very helpful to tell you about this wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge South

Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Rochester
Rochester Econo Lodge
Econolodge Hotel Rochester
Address: 1850 South Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Rochester
#8 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge South 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The EconoLodge is an award winning hotel, earning Choice Hotels "Hotel of the Year" in 2009 and 2012 and Choice Hotels Platinum Awards for the past 5 years. Econolodge is a Family owned hotel offering 100 % Smoke-free, and Pet free rooms. All rooms include a microwave, refrigerator, televisions are 32" HD LCD's, with 71 HD channels and 8 HBO HD channels. There is free wireless internet available throughout the hotel supported by a dedicated fiber optic line. EconoLodge offers free local and long distance calls to 48 states. A complimentary shuttle will take you to the Mayo Clinic and Saint Mary's Hospital When clinic is open. An expanded continental breakfast is offered every morning from 6-9 am. EconoLodge is Located 2 miles south of Mayo Clinic and next door to Perkins Family Restaurant. 3 Blocks from Olmsted County Fairgrounds, Graham Arena Sports Complex. 1.5 Miles from Mayo Civic Convention Center, University of Minnesota Rochester, Apache Mall, Plummer House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.