We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area to your Saves list
Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1850 South Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 57 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Onawa, Ia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had an appointment in Rochester, Mn at the Mayo Clinic. We have visited Mayo many times but have never stayed at the Econo Lodge but thought we would try it on this visit. We were not disappointed. It has such a friendly staff that help make your stay great. The rooms are on the small side but very clean and nice. The continental breakfast had very good choices to pick from. They have a shuttle that runs to the clinics and hospital. We will definitely stay there again if we have to visit Rochester. The beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    38
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
39
39
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maryville, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My daughter and I traveled to the Mayo Clinic during the last week of August, 2012. Our stay at the Econo Lodge South was very nice; the rates were excellent for the accommodations we received. Each morning began with a breakfast that offered a wide variety of choices followed by a ride on the free, hourly shuttle bus service to and from the clinic. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. You couldn't have asked for more. Our beds were comfortable and the rooms clean. It was in a safe neighborhood, and no noise was noticed from the highway out front where our room was located. A friend of ours who had stayed there twice recommended it to me, and I highly recommend this facility to you if you are in Rochester visiting Mayos. By the time you take into consideration the Mayo discount, the cost of breakfast, and the parking fees saved by using the five-minute shuttle bus ride, it was indeed an Econo Lodge.

Room Tip: There was no elevator for the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here on August 21st. We were going to the Bob Dillon concert at the civic center.
We stay at the Choice Hotels whenever possible. This was our first Econo Lodge and we
will be back. It is an award winning hotel. We could see why. I read all the other reviews and
it is true. It is very clean, the beds are comfy, the breakfast is very good. The staff is very
friendly and make you feel welcome. It is very close to John Hardys BBQ one of our favorite
places to eat. Perkins is also very close. You can walk right over. We will be back here in
October for an appointment at the Mayo. The shuttle takes you over. I have to mention
the A/C is by far one of the best. It is quiet and you can adjust it so the fan will run constantly
and you won't hear the machine turn off and on. Which gives me a good night sleep.

Room Tip: They do not have an elevator. It is two levels. The staff is very helpful to tell you about this wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
144 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This was by far the hotel with the best value of my week long hotel-hopping business trip. I felt that the rates were excellent for the hotel quality. The hotel is very close to many restaurants and some shopping as well and it appeared to be an easy trip to downtown, although I didn't go myself. I enjoyed the discount next door at Perkins for dinner and spent a very comfortable evening in my room getting work done. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast exceeded my expectations. I also found the front desk staff to be very friendly and I was able to check in early, which was great. I would happily stay here if I was back in the area. One and only downer was no fitness center, but for what I paid, I didn't mind.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winkler, Manitoba
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is truly a home away from home. A place where the coffee is always on, a warm welcome greets you at the front desk, and they aim to please. If you are in the depths of despair, and health issues surround you like rising flood waters, this is the place to be. There is a Bible on the Mantel, encouraging scripture on the Bulletin Board, and staff that will take the time to answer your questions and help relief your fears. They recognize any patients going back and forth to the Mayo Clinic, by reducing your rate To top it all off, you can phone your loved ones free of charge to help relief stress levels. Thank you for a great stay!

Room Tip: New Wi-Fi with excellent connection. We were there to see doctors for back surgery. Keeping in touch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

This was my second time to stay here. The staff could not be nicer or more helpful. The linens are quality, beds and pillows terrific. Rooms are very clean and quiet. The mayo shuttle picks up here and brings you back. Breakfast is plentiful. Refrig and microwave in room and free wireless Internet are pluses. Discount for mayo patients. Oh yes, instant hot water and great water pressure in shower..important to many. This place is a diamond in the rough!

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Salle, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I was so surpirsed at this motel! For a middle class motel, with a good price. It had very clean rooms. Microwave, refrigerator, and free internet connection. I got a special discount for being there for my appt. at Mayo's. They had an above avg continental breakfast. The staff was extraordinarly friendly. I really enjoyed a relaxing stay at this motel. I highly reccomend it for a Mayo's visit or just a visit to Rochester.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
5.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester
Hampton Inn Rochester
#5 of 57 in Rochester
4.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rochester - Saint Mary's & Mayo Clinic Area
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#14 of 57 in Rochester
4.5 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area

Address: 1850 South Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rochester
#5 Best Value Hotel in Rochester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#10 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 2014 "Hotel of the Year" by Choice Hotels International is a family owned and operated hotel. At the Lodge, we believe in going above and beyond the standard which is why we offer a Deluxe Continental Breakfast that includes fresh fruit, yogurt, Belgian waffles, hot and cold cereals, and so much more. The Lodge provides door-to-door service with a complimentary shuttle to the Mayo Clinic and St. Mary's Hospital during normal clinic hours. We understand our guests desire in-room conveniences which is why we have equipped each room with a microwave, refrigerator, coffeemaker, and hair dryer. Be sure to take advantage of our many on-site amenities including our 24-hour Fitness Room, Business Center, and free Wi-Fi. Dining out is easy with several nearby restaurants - many of which offer discounts to Econo Lodge guests. Whether you are coming to Rochester to visit the world renowned Mayo Clinic, for a local sporting event, or a family reunion, the Lodge will provide you with outstanding accommodations in a central Rochester location! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Rochester
Rochester Econo Lodge
Econolodge Hotel Rochester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge - Mayo Clinic Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.