We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous Deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1620 1st Ave, S.E., Rochester, MN 55904-7901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #23 of 56 Hotels in Rochester
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tremendous Deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed June 2013 on a Saturday night for only $70! Why so cheap? Well, our suite was on second floor of a building that has no elevator and since most visitors to Rochester are in need of medical care, those visitors cannot stay here. And, this inn is not on the main road so it is difficult to see/locate by sight. But our room was very clean and had a kitchenette, stocked with 4 place settings to use. Besides the sink, microwave, and small full-sized refrigerator in the kitchenette, there were 2 more sinks - one in the bathroom and one in the bedroom with a vanity. The room had a living room area with a love seat and chair. There were 2 tube TVs with remotes so we could watch whatever cable shows we wanted. The breakfast was better than standard, with a variety of pastries, cereals, yogurt, a waffle iron, oranges/apples, hard boiled eggs, milk, coffees, etc. There was someone cleaning and refilling the whole time we were there and seating for 16. Even the landscaping was well maintained. The only negatives were thin bed sheets, and a sky lite that leaked when it rained. We love a bargain and with this hotel centrally located in Rochester, we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    27
    5
    6
    4
See reviews for
24
10
3
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

After a few hours in our 2 bed suite, we found ants all over our food and drinks on the counter. We were offered another room on the main floor,. After moving all our belongings, we realized there was only 1 bed in the room. So then we were given a 3rd room upstairs. And again we moved all of our belongings and food.

This room was better at first, but then they had to move a TV into it since there wasn't one in there.. Later, the refrigerator leaked on our food and ruined it. The towels are paper thin and our shower curtain was riddled with holes. The TV's are old style analog and small. Furnishings and decor are old and worn out. Needs updating. So called "refund" from the manager did not cover the cost of the ruined food much less the inconvenience we had. Be aware, they do charge extra for more than 2 people, lower level rooms, and for outside access.

Room Tip: Do not expect much help from the manager. Would not speak to me until Monday AFTER I had already pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is the first time I've ever written a review, but it was so bad I feel I have to warn others. The motel was dirty, very little hot water and the front desk was totally unhelpful. I tried to speak to the manager with no success. I was booked for four nights but left after one and one was too many. I've looked at the other reviews and can't believe it is the same motel. My only thought is that they were written by the manager. If he spent more time cleaning and maintaining the motel, he wouldn't need to write fraudulent reviews.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Execptionally clean suite (43) on second floor with a skylight. Enjoyed the color scheme as it reminded me of our own home. The mattress was perfect and the sheets smelled fresh. Extra counter space in the bathroom and great water pressure from the shower. Minimal outside noise. Breakfast was nice (bagels, toast, biscuits & gravy, hard boiled eggs, cereal, yogurt, etc). Staff was very friendly and helpful. Will definitely recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We decided to stay here because of the many very positive ratings and we were not disappointed. Our unit included a spacious "sitting" area, an adequate kitchen area, and a comfortable bedroom area. It was a place where up to four people could comfortably stay for several days. So many motel rooms seem to have been designed by people who have never stayed in a motel. This was an fine exception; things were thoughtfully laid out, including utensils in the kitchen area. And there is a Trader Joe store just a few blocks up the street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert Lea, Minnesota
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I recently stayed at Quality Inn & Suites in Roch. MN, first impression was overall very inviting the front desk staff was very friendly and breakfast was great, not to mention that area was very clean. Other than the breakfast area i noticed our room was not as clean, i have housekeeping experience myself and if I were to leave any rooms the way my room was left, i would've been out a job, what people don't realize is you need to make those rooms look like no one has ever stepped foot in them before, from dusting things off to simply straightening something up everything should be gone over and cleaned. When housekeepers cut corners its extremely obvious and for that reason its a shame. Ratings & business might be better if things improved, just an opinion.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

After reading previous reviews I stayed here expecting a separate bedroom and a kitchenette. I was surprised when opening the door that I found a standard motel room with a dorm size refrigerator.

The room was clean and spacious. Bed was too firm for my taste. The breakfast was good several choices including yogurt, cereal, waffles and fruit.

The shuttle to Mayo was very useful.

Room Tip: If you want a suite, be certain that is what you will get by calling the hotel directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 1620 1st Ave, S.E., Rochester, MN 55904-7901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Hotel Rochester
Quality Inn Rochester
Rochester Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.