We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfied Customer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1620 1st Ave, S.E., Rochester, MN 55904-7901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #28 of 53 hotels in Rochester
Middleton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Satisfied Customer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We decided to stay here because of the many very positive ratings and we were not disappointed. Our unit included a spacious "sitting" area, an adequate kitchen area, and a comfortable bedroom area. It was a place where up to four people could comfortably stay for several days. So many motel rooms seem to have been designed by people who have never stayed in a motel. This was an fine exception; things were thoughtfully laid out, including utensils in the kitchen area. And there is a Trader Joe store just a few blocks up the street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    23
    5
    6
    3
See reviews for
18
10
1
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albert Lea, Minnesota
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I recently stayed at Quality Inn & Suites in Roch. MN, first impression was overall very inviting the front desk staff was very friendly and breakfast was great, not to mention that area was very clean. Other than the breakfast area i noticed our room was not as clean, i have housekeeping experience myself and if I were to leave any rooms the way my room was left, i would've been out a job, what people don't realize is you need to make those rooms look like no one has ever stepped foot in them before, from dusting things off to simply straightening something up everything should be gone over and cleaned. When housekeepers cut corners its extremely obvious and for that reason its a shame. Ratings & business might be better if things improved, just an opinion.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

After reading previous reviews I stayed here expecting a separate bedroom and a kitchenette. I was surprised when opening the door that I found a standard motel room with a dorm size refrigerator.

The room was clean and spacious. Bed was too firm for my taste. The breakfast was good several choices including yogurt, cereal, waffles and fruit.

The shuttle to Mayo was very useful.

Room Tip: If you want a suite, be certain that is what you will get by calling the hotel directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onawa, Ia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband had to have heart surgery at St. Mary's hospital in Rochester, Mn. My son and Granddaughter and husband stayed with me. We had a suite there. It was very clean and very comfortable. The help at front desk was most helpful. They have a continental breakfast that was very good. Waffles, biscuits and gravy, cereal, etc. We would definitely stay here again if we were to be in Rochester.

Room Tip: We chose a suite and they are located on the bottom level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is a very unique motel. All of the rooms have a separate bedroom about the size of a typical room. There is also a separate family room , kitchenette - full sized fridge and microwave and a breakfast nook. The bed was comfortable and the extra space was a plus. The first floor is all exterior enrances that appear wheelchair ready. My room was on the second floor.

The downside was the TV's in the room. They were maybe a 19" tube TV- one in each room. it did have most cable channels. Great for the news but not for a big game. Another downside was the breakfast. There are four tables in the room. The food selection was one of the smallest I've encountered for a Quality Inn. The highlights were waffles, hard boiled eggs and biscuits and gravy.

All in all a nice stay. Handy for the Clinics. I saw they were part of the route for the free shuttle. For the money a great stay.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms were less money but no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratt, Kansas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The king bed was very comfortable, the shower had good pressure, the price was great and there was a lot of room in the suite. The towels were decent, but the carpeting needs to be upgraded. It wasn't dirty to make my feet black like low end hotels, but it is cheap carpeting, and it could stand to be upgraded like a lot of the hotel looks like it has been. The iron had white things falling out of it, but the guy working at night replaced it right away. He was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulaski, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We were here for treatments at Mayo's. Our needs were perfectly met by this clean comfortable Quality Inn with pricing that doesn't break the budget. Each room is a suite with kitchen ammenities (important for the budget!). The wonderful staff help make your visit enjoyable. The drive to Mayo's is quick and if you desire a shuttle service is provided. Continental Breakfast included!

Room Tip: No elevator but upper level are less expensive. ! block off Hwy 63 - main drag so its quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 1620 1st Ave, S.E., Rochester, MN 55904-7901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Hotel Rochester
Quality Inn Rochester
Rochester Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.