We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TRUE suite: Better than others @ the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1620 1st Ave, S.E., Rochester, MN 55904-7901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #25 of 55 Hotels in Rochester
Barrington, Il
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“TRUE suite: Better than others @ the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Go annually to Mayo for 18years. Not fancy but true two rm. suite with heavy door between rooms. Nice lamps, good shower head, 4 cup coffee pot, full sized refigerator, decent kit sink, dishes AND wine glasses, nice towels, toilette to remove makeup, toaster, TWO make up areas (one in bedroom), decent breakfast w/waffles and can also take to your rm. as few tables and there is a table by the kitchen. Free in rm. wi fi. Free shuttle to Mayo but not a private hotel one so takes 10/15min. stopping @ other hotels.
Fast check in and out. No pool or hot tub and couch saggy. But a sep. chair that can be rolled from bedroom to living room.

Room Tip: For best rate CALL the hotel....don't book on internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    27
    5
    6
    4
See reviews for
23
10
3
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011 via mobile

Good value for the money. Breakfast was simple but did include hard boiled eggs and make your own waffles. The rooms were clean but showed signs of wear. The toilet appeared to struggle to flush but eventually accomplished it's task. The kitchenette was convenient. I stayed on the second floor in a king suite but noticed that the first floor units had very homey private entrances and were wheelchair accessible.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
little falls, mn
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

We recently stayed here when my son was seen at the Mayo Clinic and St. Mary's Hospital. We stayed in a suite with a bedroom, living room and kitchenette. It had a nice amount of space so no one felt they were on top of one another. It had a recliner which was important to our son since he had ear surgery and was unable to lay flat. He was able to get comfortable on the recliner. The room was somewhat worn but adequate for our needs. It was great to have access to a full refrigerator for water, juice and jello. As noted in a previous post it is a little hard to find, but our GPS got is to the hotel. It is within 15 minutes of the medical facilities and we drove since the shuttle times are farther than an hour apart and we needed to be at Mayo between shuttle times. Staff was courteous and helpful. They also provide a complimentary breakfast in the morning. The other benefit for us was that it is a pet friendly hotel and we traveled with our dog since we had to be there a few days. Thank you to the hotel for providing this service as well! We would consider staying here again on a return visit to Rochester.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, IL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

This hotel is a great place to stay. It is very clean and tastefully decorated, and the rooms are very spacious. The beds are extremely comfortable, and the continental breakfast is great. We would highly recommend this Quality Inn!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnston
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

Absolutely the best choice. remodeled, new furniture. Very clean. Guest laundry available for $1 to wash $.75 to dry. WOW. The desk people are totally out of control, funny and wonderful caring people. Great breakfast, free. Oops we were ungraded to a suite. Oh darn. I was so sad, lol, we stayed an extra night. You MUST stay at this Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul, MN
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

So this place is behind another Choice hotel, making a little hard to find,
The rooms were clean and decent, I had a king suite, my friends had Double bed suites,
The furniture was a little older and uncomfortable, the tv's were 19" tvs.. plenty of channels, they have small "kitchenettes" Full size fridge & wet bar.
The bathroom was small, there is another sink and mirror in the bedroom,
My biggest complaint is my room must have used to be a smoking room because the
mattress wreaked of cigarette smoke..
The rooms are quiet and clean, the breakfast area was decent,

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

I am a 74 year old retired dentist who went to Rochester to the Mayo Clinic. My wife wanted a suite as she gets up earlier than me. This Quality Inn was way over my expectations and I have traveled all over the world for over fifty years. It's in a quiet area of town which was great because a free shuttle picks you up every hour and arrives at Mayo in twenty minutes.....and returns you every hour up until 6:15pm. Newly redone, new mattresses, rugs, kitchen appliances, great breakfast....but best of all it is privately owned and the front desk is the most courteous and helpful that I have ever encountered. They even took me and returned me to the airport but won't be doing that any more. But, a cab is only around 20 dollars. The price is 50% lower than anything comparable and much roomier and very quiet! Run, don't walk and pick this motel over anything else in Rochester. ( also, I was on the second floor and there is a large skylight in the living room which makes everything bright and cheerful). I know I must sound like a shill for this place or a part owner, but I just thought everyone should know about this place!! Dr. Melvyn Greenstein....Miami, Fl.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 1620 1st Ave, S.E., Rochester, MN 55904-7901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Hotel Rochester
Quality Inn Rochester
Rochester Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.