We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great one night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Mayo Clinic Area/St. Mary's

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Mayo Clinic Area/St. Mary's to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Mayo Clinic Area/St. Mary's
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1125 2nd Street SW, Rochester, MN 55902   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #15 of 53 hotels in Rochester
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great one night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here while visiting the mayo clinic for one night. I checked in very late but without any problems. Front desk staff was very helpful. The room was decorated in modern comfy style. Lots of room in bathroom and living room area. I slept very well even with the freezing weather. The breakfast was great with both hot and cold options. Pool looked clean but I didn't use it. Microwave and fridge were convenient in the room. TV stations were great. I would stay here again as the quality for the price was just right.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringhillGM, Manager at SpringHill Suites Mayo Clinic Area/St. Mary's, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, and the 5 star review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    51
    25
    13
    3
See reviews for
59
21
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The hotel looks like it was renovated or built fairly recently. The rooms have nice amenities with a wet bar the includes a microwave and mini-fridge. Everything is modern and chic looking, by it is all spoiled by the layout. There is a small wall that divides the bed area from the seating area, but someone measured wrong and the couch and end tables don't fit between the bedroom wall and the front of the room so one of the end table just sits in front of the couch corner. The worst part is the TV which is placed in the middle of the entryway into the bed area. What they did was rather than put a TV in the seating area and a TV in the bed area they put a TV in the middle of the doorway so that you can get a crappy view of the TV from both areas. A more traditional layout would have been much better and ruined what could otherwise be a good design.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringhillGM, Manager at SpringHill Suites Mayo Clinic Area/St. Mary's, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you appreciate the amenities provided in each of our suites and that you like the recent improvements we have made to our property. Thank you for expressing your concerns on the layout of the furniture in your room – we are always looking for ways to improve and comments like yours enable us to do so. We will follow up on your review with our management team and see what we can do to improve future stays. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is perfectly across from St Mary's right beside a Caribou and has a shuttle to any part of Mayo you need to go. The staff is great, the rooms are clean, and it is a very peaceful place to stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, IN
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has a great location, right across from the hospital and an easy walk or drive (depending on season) to downtown. There is a free hot breakfast which basically consists of eggs and sausage, plus bagels, English muffins, and make it yourself waffles. The hotel looks like it was recently renovated. The showers are great and the rooms clean. The pool is nice and it has a nice, but small, fitness room. Parking is limited, but we still didn't have a problem finding a spot close by. The only bad thing is that the beds are hard. This seems to be a trend with Marriott lately though, so I don't know if this is a new bed they have switched to, but it is too hard for me. If you like an extremely firm bed, then you will have no problems.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPImanager, Manager at SpringHill Suites Mayo Clinic Area/St. Mary's, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind comments, and the 5 star review! We are delighted that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary breakfast and swimming area. It is great to hear that you like the new improvements we had made to our property as well. Please accept our apologies if the comfort of your stay was interrupted due to the firmness of our guest beds. We are always looking for feedback on our property as we strive to provide a comfortable and accommodating environment for our guests to enjoy and we will follow up with this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest City, Iowa
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

A very normal stay. Clean rooms (oddly decorated, I will admit), clean public spaces, easy check-in (and friendly), plenty of parking, nice pool area, accessible business center, and a very good FREE breakfast. No complaints.

Room Tip: Upper floors. We were on the first floor and could hear a lot of walking above us, but it really wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPImanager, Manager at SpringHill Suites Mayo Clinic Area/St. Mary's, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review! It is great to hear that you had no issues during your stay with us and found our property to be clean and accessible. We are thrilled you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast that we offer each morning! We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck ND
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here about 4 years ago and knew it would again be a good choice with my husband once again being a patient at St. Mary's Hospital right across the street. It was wonderful to be able to leave our vehicle in the hotel parking lot (FREE parking) and walk directly across the street to one of St. Mary's hospital buildings and walk "inside" to his room. The breakfast provided at the hotel was good and they were very accommodating with our "not sure" on check-out date. The inroom microwave and fridge were definitely handy to have -- I even bought a bag of popcorn in the little lobby "store" and enjoyed it in the room. Good wireless speed too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kjerstin K, Manager at SpringHill Suites Mayo Clinic Area/St. Mary's, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review regarding your recent stay with us! We are very fortunate to be located so close to the hospital for our guests who are either patients themselves or have a loved one whom is. It is great to hear you were able to take advantage of our lobby convenience store and enjoyed some relaxing time in your guest room. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us! Thanks again for the 5 star review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STP
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Room was pleasant and clean. Quiet, except for a bit of street noise. Pretty good choices for breakfast. In room microwave (paper plates and tableware in the oven), mini-fridge, bar sink.
Good wireless speed. All in all a good bargain in a good location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kjerstin K, Manager at SpringHill Suites Mayo Clinic Area/St. Mary's, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for the great review! We are delighted you chose to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Mayo Clinic Area/St. Mary's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Mayo Clinic Area/St. Mary's

Address: 1125 2nd Street SW, Rochester, MN 55902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Rochester
#19 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Mayo Clinic Area/St. Mary's 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each spacious studio suite features separate sleeping, eating and working areas. Amenities include Complimentary High-Speed Internet access, a pull-out sofa bed, pantry area with mini-refrigerator, microwave, in-room coffee, a large desk and 2-line telephones. We'll get you started each day with a complimentary breakfast buffet. Free local calls, business center, free parking and free Mayo Clinic and airport shuttles. Located across from St. Marys Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your SpringHill Suites Mayo Clinic Area/St. Mary's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Mayo Clinic Area/St. Mary`s Hotel Rochester
Springhill Suites Rochester
Rochester Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Mayo Clinic Area/St. Mary's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.