We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The big "If"......” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Rochester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Rochester to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Rochester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1755 South Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904-7960   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mayo Clinic Rate
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Rochester
minneapolis MN
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“The big "If"......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

If you are traveling with a sports team, this is the place for you! (Pool is open 24 hours!) If you are not, be prepared- (and as others have forewarned)- it can be too loud to sleep. My child had to be at her event at 6am, so that meant trying to go to sleep by 10:30 pm. Noise can always be an issue, but between the soccer, wrestling and baseball teams staying here and the kids running, hollering, and knocking on doors (ours included)- it was really annoying. I even brought ear plugs since I knew that this might be an issue! Now that I know this is who they cater to, I will go back to other places I have stayed in the past.
The staff were very friendly, the rooms were clean.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    79
    21
    8
    0
See reviews for
118
76
36
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

This hotel fulfilled all of our expectations. Our room on the 3rd floor was quiet and clean and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast buffet was great, enjoyed the free morning newspaper, appreciated the free parking, and the convenience of using the free transportation to Mayo Clinic. The hotel staff was very friendly, answered our questions regarding the Rochester area and made you feel welcome. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, IL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

Before you arrive at this hotel, you are told it is the highest rated Rochester hotel by Trip Advisor, and yet it currently ranks only #3. That is not the only time this hotel overrates itself. The rooms are small, the walls are much too thin. The night we spent there, the hotel was hosting a group of young wrestlers, young people who had no problem running down the halls screaming whether at midnight or 6 AM. There was even a security guard roaming the halls, but nothing was done to stop the excessive noise.

The workout room was a joke. Three machines that barely fit in the room. The emergency stop key kept falling off of the treadmill, which led to my abandoing my workout early.

This Hampton has location on its side, especially for those going to Mayo Clinic. But that's all that can recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSTMNHX, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rochester, responded to this review, April 27, 2010
Dear Evanston, IL,
Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Rochester, MN. I appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and provide specific feedback I apologize for the problems you experienced during your stay. As the general manager I work to ensure all pieces are in place to make even a busy wrestling tournament weekend quiet and enjoyable for all guests. I apologize that the security guard didn’t effectively do his job to ensure comfortable surroundings for you and your family. I also appreciate your feedback on the fitness center and I have made arrangements to have the equipment serviced so it will work properly. I can certainly understand your frustration.

I was unsuccessful finding your reservation based on your TripAdvisor profile to invoke our 100% Hampton Guarantee for your stay. We guarantee clean rooms, friendly service, and comfortable surroundings. Understandably you were not 100% satisfied and we don’t expect you to pay. Please contact me 507-287-9050 or at nelson@raymondteam.com so I can make sure you are not charged. I hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you and provide you with an experience that exceeds your expectations.

Thank you,
Dan Nelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Hampton Inn during a visit to the Mayo Clinic. We used their shuttle service to the clinic and found the drivers helpful and entertaining. In fact, everyone connected to the hotel was helpful and cheerful.
The morning breakfast was bountiful and good tasting. There were fresh offerings during the entire period breakfast was served, not simply at the beginning.
We will stay there again if we return to the clinic.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, TN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2009

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights while I had tests at Mayo Clinic--the staff is so friendly and make you feel at home--so kind and compassionate to Mayo patients--Lisa the front desk lady was so nice---answered every question and so friendly--even the shuttle drivers were kind and offered help with directions and suggestions about restaurants.
I'm going back in January and will definitely stay here again. The breakfast is fresh and typical of most Hamptons--fresh fruit, a variety of rolls, eggs, omelettes, coffee, juices,biscuits w/ gravy and from 6-7 PM they serve soup and finger foods for those who had a long day at Mayo--a very good meal and its free!! Better than some 4 star motels!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

We chose this hotel for its location (shuttle) and its Hampton buffet breakfast, but we got a whole lot more.
Extremely helpful staff,spotless rooms and open areas, a very good gym and indoor pool and a great business center. Even though we had free wifi in our rooms I used the business center to print my messages.
I was told about the nearby bike trail (paved), so I that is were I went for a morning run. Good restaurants (Wiskey Creek and Perkins) is within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
God's Country - Wisconsin!
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

Deceiving from the outside. Rooms updated, the beds were so comfortable, awesome sheets. My husband, daughter and I stayed for a wedding. Can't say enough great things. We used 20,000 Hilton Honor points, surrounding hotel points 25,000 - 30,000 and would have had to pay for parking. Walked in, gave our name, handed us our keys! Very impressed and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Rochester

Address: 1755 South Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904-7960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#3 Family Hotel in Rochester
#7 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Rochester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Rochester has 103 well appointed rooms with an indoor pool and whirlpool, 24-hour fitness center, 24-hour busienss center, & free parking. We serve our complimentary "On The House" hot breakfast buffet from 6-10am daily in our newly renovated lobby. We are conveniently located on South Broadway, near over 40 restaurants and also the Apache Mall. We are also only 2 miles from the Mayo Clinic. Free weekday shuttle service is available to the Mayo Clinic and local hospitals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Rochester Hotel Rochester
Rochester Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Rochester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.