We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff makes a good feeling when visiting Mayo.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Rochester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Rochester to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Rochester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1755 South Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904-7960   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #4 of 56 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staff makes a good feeling when visiting Mayo.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

Recently had to visit Rochester for the Mayo clinic and stayed at the Hampton inn. Checked in and Mike was at the front desk. Couldnt have been any more friendlier or nicer. A bonus to the hotel in dealing with Mike. If all employees were like Mike, all hotels would be 5 stars. Actually, the whole staff was wonderful, but I only remember Mike, but I give accomendations to the whole staff. I dont know the age of the property, but all the amenities work, the pool is open, and in the rooms, they are very very well kept. From seeing the room, it looks to be no older than 1 year, but I know its older. A testament to housekeeping on how well they are kept up. Great Job! As I mentioned, we were there for some testing, and there is a shuttle that runs every 1/2 hour, so you can always make your appointments as well as the return trips from the Mayo center. The clinic itself is only about 2-3 miles away, but by shuttle about 4-5 minutes....always a plus in Minnesota winters! No need to wait, or call the hotel or even park in town, which I hear is $12.00 a day. For mornings the usual breakfast fare, cereal, breads, juices coffees fruits, and some pancakes also. Overall, you WILL definately be satisfied if you stay here.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    89
    22
    8
    0
See reviews for
142
80
40
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cincinnati, oh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

Decent stay in Rochester, MN. Here on business at Mayo and would stay again. 5-10 mins from Mayo Hospital.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2008

We stayed at this hotel with sub-zero Minnesota temperatures and snow outside. But inside we had a warming welcome and hot soup in the evenings. Lovely.

The service was wonderful - especial thanks to the dedicated employees who not only cleared the parking lot but even brushed the snow off every single car before the sun had come up. And to the little lady in the kitchens who prepares a hot breakfast every day alongside muffins, pastries and fruit.

Our room was recently renovated, clean and cosy. We even managed to enjoy a swim - the pool area is kept plenty warm despite the snow outside.

Thank you to all the staff at the Hampton Inn - we will most definitely be back for another stay.
The Hindal family, England, UK.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

I was in Rochester for a couple nights for business. This Hampton Inn is in a good location, close to restaurants and shopping, if you're interested in those features. The staff was very very friendly.

I was surprised to see the pool was open 24/7, which is a great feature for us super early risers.

They also had a large number of cable channels on the TV, which was a plus.

The internet signal was strong, but the speed was super slow. Painfully so.

Also, I was on the 3rd floor in a non-smoking room and the smell of cigarettes was so strong in the room as to be unacceptable. They came up and deodorized the room, which helped some.

Overall, it was ok. Not the best Hampton I've ever stayed in. However, location was very good!

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, ca
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

I was in Rochester for one night on business and stayed at the Hampton Inn because I like this chain of hotels. This hotel does everything well and I rate it excellent.

While it is located about a mile south of downtown, they have a shuttle service that runs to the Mayo Clinic during the week, so it is very convenient.

The breakfast area is a little small, but adequate. The breakfast hostess was very friendly and helpful.

My room was spotless. I love the pile of various pillows on the bed.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2008

Second stay here for a family gathering. Nice, clean place. Spacious lobby. Friendly staff. Good indoor pool with play things for the little ones (and the big ones taking care of them!) The fitness room, too, was adequate and on par with what's typical at hotels (which is to say, small).

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

My parent's recommended this hotel to me as frequent Mayo Clinic patients. I brought my family to the hotel for a weekend and we loved the friendly (and entertaining) staff, 24 hour pool (what a way to wear the kids out), and the great breakfast in the morning. The beds were the most clean and comfortable hotel beds we have ever slept in and the location can't be beat. We could not have asked for a better stay!!!

  • Liked — 24 hour pool
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Rochester

Address: 1755 South Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904-7960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Rochester
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#4 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Rochester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Rochester has 103 well appointed rooms with an indoor pool and whirlpool, 24-hour fitness center, 24-hour busienss center, & free parking. We serve our complimentary "On The House" hot breakfast buffet from 6-10am daily in our newly renovated lobby. We are conveniently located on South Broadway, near over 40 restaurants and also the Apache Mall. We are also only 2 miles from the Mayo Clinic. Free weekday shuttle service is available to the Mayo Clinic and local hospitals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Rochester Hotel Rochester
Rochester Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Rochester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.