We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Rochester

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Rochester to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Rochester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1755 South Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904-7960   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mayo Clinic Rate
Ranked #4 of 53 hotels in Rochester
Morton, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed two nights recently during a visit to Mayo Clinic. The staff was friendly, the room was clean, and they were very flexible in terms of check out times (which is nice considering you don't really know what you're schedule at Mayo will be like). They run a very efficient shuttle - even picking us up from a restaurant instead of regular Mayo stop) and breakfast in the morning/soup in the evening were nice. It does seem like the rate could have been a little lower, but I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rochester, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you kindly for the feedback. Our shuttle drivers are known for their door-to-door service to the clinic, with no stops in between! I'm glad you were able to take advantage of this amenity, and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    194
    66
    18
    8
    0
See reviews for
96
58
33
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kalamazoo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Staying at the Hampton was great, they had a hot breakfast for you in the morning and soup in the evening free of extra charge, by it being winter they kept your car cleaned of snow, the staff are so helpful, the shuttle driver was great, the beds were very comfortable, even the pillows were wonderful, it made you feel like it was your own bed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rochester, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you so very much for the kudos in your comments. We are happy you felt at home with us in Rochester. We know the weather in Minnesota isn't always welcoming, but at least we can be! It is our pleasure to keep your car clean, your stomach full, and your bedding comfortable.

We hope you choose us again next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed here last year and it was awesome. This year has been just a little off. Let me mention first of all last time I stayed here it was nearly empty this year it is completely packed. Pros: breakfast is yummy, the hotel is clean, in a great location, the staff are very polite. Cons: pool was cold this year, hot Tub is out of service (not hotels fault), not enough parking, and very loud guests this time. We had a slight misunderstanding at check in but was resolved fairly quick. Overall I would stay here again and would say it is one of the better hotels in Rochester.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rochester, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for the feedback Cheryl. I'm sorry your experience was less enjoyable than your previous one. We try our best on busy sports weekends to block rooms accordingly, but I am sorry we missed the mark this time. I appreciate your generous and understanding tone however, and I hope you'll choose us again when you travel to Rochester.

Please reach out to me at sele@raymondteam.com, so I follow up with you.

thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansaw, WI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff! WONDERFUL breakfast with tons of healthy choices. We had fun swimming in the pool and relaxing in the hot tub. AND the beds were heaven..I slept like a rock-- IN A HOTEL!! THEY EVEN brushed off our windshields in the morning!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rochester, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you very much for the nice review. We are in the business of selling sleep, and we are very happy you got a good night's rest, and a healthy breakfast to start your day. Cleaning off the cars each morning is our way of helping our guests deal with those Minnesota mornings! Glad you found it helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I've stayed at many Hampton Inns and this one is right up there. You can tell that they have recently renovated and the place looked great. What I thought was great was that overnight, we received a few inches of snow. I was walking out to my car to clean it off and was followed by an employee with brush. He then started cleaning off my car. Great Service! Great location and a straight shot down town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rochester, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your generous feedback Dean. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We really enjoy cleaning the snow off our guest's cars and helping you start the day off right!

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukon, Oklahoma
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was a comfortable hotel and it is probably perfect for the Mayo Clinic patients coming into town. But be aware, they won't provide shuttle service anywhere but to the Mayo Clinic. They will have a taxi service available for other destinations, including the airport, and they won't always pay for it, despite what they say. I was on a flight crew, and they refused to pay for our return trip to the airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rochester, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We appreciate your feedback, and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I'd like to chat further about the taxi transportation issue, if you have a chance to give me a call at 507.287.9050.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Will definitely stay at this motel again - wonderful customer service from the front desk to the shuttle drivers to Mayo clinic. Great breakfast and soup in the evenings!!! Rooms clean and comfortable, fitness center clean. AAAAAA++++ rating!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rochester, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your generous feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our team does our best to make our Mayo patients feel at home while visiting Rochester, so they are well-rested for their clinic appointments.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Rochester

Address: 1755 South Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904-7960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#3 Family Hotel in Rochester
#5 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Rochester 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Rochester has 103 well appointed rooms with an indoor pool and whirlpool, 24-hour fitness center, 24-hour busienss center, & free parking. We serve our complimentary "On The House" hot breakfast buffet from 6-10am daily in our newly renovated lobby. We are conveniently located on South Broadway, near over 40 restaurants and also the Apache Mall. We are also only 2 miles from the Mayo Clinic. Free weekday shuttle service is available to the Mayo Clinic and local hospitals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hilton Hotels, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Rochester Hotel Rochester
Rochester Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Rochester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.