We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Rochester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Rochester to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Rochester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1755 South Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904-7960   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mayo Clinic Rate
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Rochester
RAPID CITY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Comfortable room, excellent and friendly staff (thank you Liz and Brandon), yummy breakfast, shuttle to and from clinic every half hour. A very cozy, pleasant place to stay when you are away from home for health reasons.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with a King Sized bed - comfortable! And with one bed, there was room for a cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rochester, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you very much for staying! We appreciate the kind feedback. Our team works hard to make this a great place to stay for our guests, and we enjoy hearing when we have accomplished this!

thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    79
    21
    8
    0
See reviews for
118
76
37
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Md/DC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

It depends on why you are in Rochester, most everyone seems ill and going to the Mayo clinic. This place seems well designed for those in that situation, hopefully nothing contagious? Food was average but also included which is nice. Room was fine, not elegant, but fine and adequate for the price. Would not vacation here, but I don't see Rochester as a vacation resort area. So this place seems to get good ratings and I was satisfied but not overwhelmed. The staff was very friendly.

I like the location as it is near enough to the airport but not right next to it, also near enough stores and restaurants that it was ok that they have no dinner restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rochester, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for your response. We are glad you enjoyed your stay overall, I am sorry you were disapponted we did not have a restaurant. We hope you asked the front desk for some recommendations, as we have some fabulous restaurants in Rochester, and a few nearby! Hopefully, we will see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We've been coming to Rochester since 2007: often twice a year and have tried a number of cheaper options but have returned. The reception staff and drivers are friendly and helpful with a sense of humor. The shuttle is dedicated (runs 6:30 am to 7:45pm on the half hour) and you do not need to take a tour of other hotel parking lots. The breakfast is good with precooked cheese omelets, substantial sausage patties and fingers of french toast. Cereal, waffle maker, yogurt oatmeal (with cranberries, brown sugar and almonds) and danish complete the offerings. Fresh apples, pears, bananas and oranges are available during the day and evening. "Soup therapy" in the evenings. The coffee is great. Packaged breakfasts are available to take with on request.

Over the years the hotel has underwent major remodeling: the latest revamped the lobby and dining area maximizing the usable space. The beds are comfortable (we have bad backs) and we avoid noise risks by asking for rooms away from potential noise sources. The AC and fridge were quiet...almost unnoticeable. The bathroom was clean and well maintained: nothing noticeable to this picky eye. The exercise room was recently updated. Pool is available but no one used it: have to remember to bring swim gear next time!

Mayo clients like us seem to be dominant guests with a few younger business travelers thrown in. There are special Mayo and AAA rates which vary during the year. I found that you are better off to make your reservations directly.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd Floor to the back away from Broadway
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rochester, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
We appreciate your continued loyalty to Hampton, and to our hotel. I'm very happy you have enjoyed staying with us these last five years. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Had to revisit Mayo Clinic and once again picked the Hampton Inn on Broadway.
The staff is always accomodating to uncertain Mayo schedules and their location is convenient.
This is truly a home away from home when there are medical problems.
They have recently renovated the lobby/breakfast area and the hotel looks great.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rochester, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you very much for the comments! I am glad you enjoyed the hotel, and that you felt at home, that is the biggest compliment we can receive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, WI
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This Hampton Inn my favorite hotel in Rochester, MN! The staff are always excellent and helpful. I love the recently remodeled public space. It's sleek and modern and comfy. The only bummer is the noisy air conditioning unit, but as a heavy sleeper it doesn't inhibit my sleep.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rochester, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and happy that you approve of our lobby renovation. We are proud of how it turned out.

I will check on that air conditioning unit. I am glad it did not detract from your stay with us.

thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

As usual, the bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. I also liked the pillows - not so puffy and firm that you feel like you are sitting up all night. On the "less than perfect side," there was a clicking sound intermittently all night long - we couldn't figure out where it was coming from; thought it was in our bathroom, but may have been from the room next door. Also, the people in the room above us were up walking around during the night (2:30am) and the sound proofing is not as good as other Hampton's I have stayed in. The drain plug in our bathroom was not attached to the lift mechanism, so we had to lift the sink plug with our fingers to get the sink to drain.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room on the top floor so you don't hear the footsteps of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rochester, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Hello Linda,

I am very sorry your experience was less than perfect with us. We appreciate the feedback however, as it allows us to address the issues you had. I would like to chat with you about your stay, if you have a chance to contact the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I like these 'business class' hotels and I try to rate them within that catagory. I find that they generally provide a clean and comfortable place to stay for a reasonable price. This hotel was no exception.

We had a very clean room, including the bedding and the bath.
The king size bed was very firm with pillow top - so you're not sleeping on a board. I loved it, just a little too firm for wife's taste.
There was a very helpful staff at the front desk, and check-in was effortless.
The breakfast was typical (very good in my opinion) Hampton inn fare - eggs, sausage, fruit, yogurt, hot oatmeal, etc.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rochester, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you very much for the comments! We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and our team hopes you visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Rochester

Address: 1755 South Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904-7960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#3 Family Hotel in Rochester
#7 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Rochester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Rochester has 103 well appointed rooms with an indoor pool and whirlpool, 24-hour fitness center, 24-hour busienss center, & free parking. We serve our complimentary "On The House" hot breakfast buffet from 6-10am daily in our newly renovated lobby. We are conveniently located on South Broadway, near over 40 restaurants and also the Apache Mall. We are also only 2 miles from the Mayo Clinic. Free weekday shuttle service is available to the Mayo Clinic and local hospitals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Rochester Hotel Rochester
Rochester Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Rochester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.