We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice motel, conveniently located downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kahler Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kahler Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Kahler Grand Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 South-West Second Ave., Rochester, MN 55902-3013   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 58 Hotels in Rochester
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice motel, conveniently located downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The Kahler Grand Hotel was in an ideal location for appointments at the Mayo Clinic. There were ample elevators so little need to wait for a lift. The business center on the mezzanine was handy with several computers and printers for guest use. We stayed in a very small room with a queen bed. It was a bit cramped with very little room to move around. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were flat.
The pool area had a luke-warm whirlpool but a nice pool with a roof-top view of the city on 3 sides. There was a fitness area with treadmills, elipticals, steppers and weight machines, all fairly new.
The clinic, shopping and restaurants were all accessible via the subway or the skywalk. The majority of the stores in the subway area closed at 6 PM. Meals in the attached restaurant were good but a bit overpriced.
We will stay at the Kahler Grand Hotel again simply due to the convenience to the Mayo Clinic.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond L, Manager at Kahler Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Kahler Grand Hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments on your stay with us in Rochester. All comments are greatly appreciated and used by our service team for training exercises to continually improve our service. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    193
    141
    114
    111
See reviews for
194
142
163
345
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Kahler Grand was very convenient for my trip to MAYO clinic. Food was good, people were friendly and helpful I would recommend this hotel and I will come back also. I liked the easy access to the restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond L, Manager at Kahler Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments in regards to your stay at our hotel in Rochester. We appreciate all feedback. My staff and I look forward to having you join us again in the future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The hotel was very clean and the staff was wonderful. This is our go to hotel while in Rochester! The hotel is attached to the Mayo Clinic and several shops and dining. We had a wonderful lunch and dinner and were able to get to appointments easily.

We didn't have any issues during our stay. Parking was included with our room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond L, Manager at Kahler Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments in regards to your stay at our hotel in Rochester. We appreciate all feedback. My staff and I look forward to having you join us again in the future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland Center, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We have stayed at the Kahler Grand several times over the years and have always been very satisfied with the facility and the staff. Everyone was very helpful and went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. We have been there both for medical appointments at the Mayo Clinic and for business as well as visiting friends in Rochester. The location is great for clinic appointments and also for business meetings downtown. The subway and skyway access means in bad weather(and Rochester in the winter can be bad) one need not venture outside. The Kahler Grand is an older Hotel with some recent upgrades. Most of the rooms are very comfortable and a good value for the money. We have stayed in other Hotels in Rochester and always return to the Kahler.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond L, Manager at Kahler Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments in regards to your stay at our hotel in Rochester. We appreciate all feedback. Your loyalty to our hotel is much appreciated. We strive to make everyone's stay a pleasant one. I look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helotes, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The Kahler Grand is an old hotel that has been well maintained. The rooms with special hospital rates are inexpensive and quite comfortable. We had a room with two double bed (very comfortable), desk, flat screen TV, microwave, small fridge, free internet access. The room had modern furniture and the carpet and walls recently replaced. It was VERY clean and well maintained. The bathroom probably was the original bathroom but it also was clean. The sink and tub did not drain as fast as I would have liked and the shower head was just OK. I did not ask for either to be worked on but I imagine it would have been corrected. The hotel has a self service washer and dryer, each cost $1.00-good deal! The hotel restaurant The Grand was outstanding. The food reasonably priced, large portions and very tasty. There are many restaurants near by and there is an underground subway to make travel to other hotels, clinics and shops weather free. The attitude of the hotel staff was professional, can do, pleasant. I cannot say enough good things about the hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room away from the elevator that was very quiet but the hotel did not seems to be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond L, Manager at Kahler Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments in regards to your stay at our hotel in Rochester. We appreciate all feedback. My staff and I look forward to serving you again in the future and making your stay a pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, ID
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in February. Being connected to the subway was nice. The room was quite small for what we paid. Bathroom faucet dripped. Very high prices at attached bar/restuarant. Don't bother eating there. Convenient if you're there for Mayo.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond L, Manager at Kahler Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your honest feedback, and we want you to know we are listening. I am sorry you felt the size of your room was not worth the quality. We provide many different types of rooms for everyone's needs. I do hope you will stay with us again in the future when you come to Rochester again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We booked this hotel through Priceline and ended up getting it for $67 a night. So that part was good. It's also directly across the street from the Mayo Clinic and connected by the subway. Also good as I was having surgery at Methodist Hospital in February and going outside was less than desirable. The lobby of the hotel was nice and there were several little boutique type stores on the main level, but that's about where the nice ends. The room we had was desperately out of date. The beds were hard and uncomfortable (and to be clear, I'm not a super picky traveler), although there were plenty of pillows. The bathroom sink wouldn't drain, and was dirty when we first got to the room. But when we asked for maintenance, the guy was up to our room literally within minutes to fix it. The shower sprayed in all different directions, and the drain stopper wouldn't stay up. No one came to clean our room. The restaurant attached to the hotel had a pretty good selection of bar type food on the menu, but none of it was particularly tasty. Parking in the garage was $12 a day, and we could come and go as we pleased. Also, the internet was free and reliable. We have stayed in 5 different hotels in Rochester in the last 4 months. This one was by far the worst.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond L, Manager at Kahler Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We appreciate your honest feedback and want you to know we are listening. Thank you for complimenting the many services our hotel has. While the Kahler Grand Hotel is obviously a historic hotel, we are paying attention to your advice on furnishings and amenities. We have refurbished our guest rooms as well as other renovations within our hotel, however, it is difficult to appeal to everyones comfort level. As far as your room cleanliness this is not standard practice and believe me I will be sharing this with the appropriate staff as we utilize these comments as training exercises to continually improve our service. I do hope you stay with us again in the future when you return to Rochester. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.1 mi away
Kahler Inn and Suites
Kahler Inn and Suites
#25 of 58 in Rochester
4.0 of 5 stars 492 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Towers at the Kahler Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rochester - Saint Mary's & Mayo Clinic Area
0.8 mi away
Aspen Suites Rochester
Aspen Suites Rochester
#10 of 58 in Rochester
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahler Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahler Grand Hotel

Address: 20 South-West Second Ave., Rochester, MN 55902-3013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 58 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahler Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 616
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 90+-year legacy of personalized service and world-class comfort awaits you at the Kahler Grand Hotel. Boasting a timeless charm and storied past, our Mayo Clinic Rochester Minnesota hotel is elegant and historic. Enjoy direct access to the world-renowned Mayo Clinic or downtown area via a climate-controlled pedestrian skyway and subway. Pairing the convenience of our location with a variety of accommodations ranging from smaller budget-friendly rooms to larger renovated executive guestrooms and services, the Kahler Grand boasts a hotel experience that maximizes comfort at every turn. We also feature 30,000 square feet of flexible meeting space for conferences, weddings and special events in the downtown area. Whether your stay is a family getaway, romantic retreat, business trip, or Mayo Clinic visit, you will love our vibrant urban setting. Situated in the heart of downtown Rochester, Minnesota. Directly linked to the Mayo Clinic, via pedestrian subway and skyway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kahler Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahler Grand Rochester
Hotel Kahler Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kahler Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.