We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would definately come back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kahler Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Kahler Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Kahler Grand Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 South-West Second Ave., Rochester, MN 55902-3013   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Special Deal
Enjoy breakfast for two!
Ranked #28 of 55 Hotels in Rochester
Rochester
1 review
“I would definately come back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Kahler Grand was very convenient for my trip to MAYO clinic. Food was good, people were friendly and helpful I would recommend this hotel and I will come back also. I liked the easy access to the restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond L, Manager at Kahler Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments in regards to your stay at our hotel in Rochester. We appreciate all feedback. My staff and I look forward to having you join us again in the future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    159
    114
    86
    97
See reviews for
163
122
138
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The hotel was very clean and the staff was wonderful. This is our go to hotel while in Rochester! The hotel is attached to the Mayo Clinic and several shops and dining. We had a wonderful lunch and dinner and were able to get to appointments easily.

We didn't have any issues during our stay. Parking was included with our room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond L, Manager at Kahler Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments in regards to your stay at our hotel in Rochester. We appreciate all feedback. My staff and I look forward to having you join us again in the future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland Center, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We have stayed at the Kahler Grand several times over the years and have always been very satisfied with the facility and the staff. Everyone was very helpful and went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. We have been there both for medical appointments at the Mayo Clinic and for business as well as visiting friends in Rochester. The location is great for clinic appointments and also for business meetings downtown. The subway and skyway access means in bad weather(and Rochester in the winter can be bad) one need not venture outside. The Kahler Grand is an older Hotel with some recent upgrades. Most of the rooms are very comfortable and a good value for the money. We have stayed in other Hotels in Rochester and always return to the Kahler.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond L, Manager at Kahler Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments in regards to your stay at our hotel in Rochester. We appreciate all feedback. Your loyalty to our hotel is much appreciated. We strive to make everyone's stay a pleasant one. I look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helotes, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The Kahler Grand is an old hotel that has been well maintained. The rooms with special hospital rates are inexpensive and quite comfortable. We had a room with two double bed (very comfortable), desk, flat screen TV, microwave, small fridge, free internet access. The room had modern furniture and the carpet and walls recently replaced. It was VERY clean and well maintained. The bathroom probably was the original bathroom but it also was clean. The sink and tub did not drain as fast as I would have liked and the shower head was just OK. I did not ask for either to be worked on but I imagine it would have been corrected. The hotel has a self service washer and dryer, each cost $1.00-good deal! The hotel restaurant The Grand was outstanding. The food reasonably priced, large portions and very tasty. There are many restaurants near by and there is an underground subway to make travel to other hotels, clinics and shops weather free. The attitude of the hotel staff was professional, can do, pleasant. I cannot say enough good things about the hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room away from the elevator that was very quiet but the hotel did not seems to be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond L, Manager at Kahler Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments in regards to your stay at our hotel in Rochester. We appreciate all feedback. My staff and I look forward to serving you again in the future and making your stay a pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, ID
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in February. Being connected to the subway was nice. The room was quite small for what we paid. Bathroom faucet dripped. Very high prices at attached bar/restuarant. Don't bother eating there. Convenient if you're there for Mayo.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond L, Manager at Kahler Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your honest feedback, and we want you to know we are listening. I am sorry you felt the size of your room was not worth the quality. We provide many different types of rooms for everyone's needs. I do hope you will stay with us again in the future when you come to Rochester again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We booked this hotel through Priceline and ended up getting it for $67 a night. So that part was good. It's also directly across the street from the Mayo Clinic and connected by the subway. Also good as I was having surgery at Methodist Hospital in February and going outside was less than desirable. The lobby of the hotel was nice and there were several little boutique type stores on the main level, but that's about where the nice ends. The room we had was desperately out of date. The beds were hard and uncomfortable (and to be clear, I'm not a super picky traveler), although there were plenty of pillows. The bathroom sink wouldn't drain, and was dirty when we first got to the room. But when we asked for maintenance, the guy was up to our room literally within minutes to fix it. The shower sprayed in all different directions, and the drain stopper wouldn't stay up. No one came to clean our room. The restaurant attached to the hotel had a pretty good selection of bar type food on the menu, but none of it was particularly tasty. Parking in the garage was $12 a day, and we could come and go as we pleased. Also, the internet was free and reliable. We have stayed in 5 different hotels in Rochester in the last 4 months. This one was by far the worst.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond L, Manager at Kahler Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We appreciate your honest feedback and want you to know we are listening. Thank you for complimenting the many services our hotel has. While the Kahler Grand Hotel is obviously a historic hotel, we are paying attention to your advice on furnishings and amenities. We have refurbished our guest rooms as well as other renovations within our hotel, however, it is difficult to appeal to everyones comfort level. As far as your room cleanliness this is not standard practice and believe me I will be sharing this with the appropriate staff as we utilize these comments as training exercises to continually improve our service. I do hope you stay with us again in the future when you return to Rochester. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire WI
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is a grand hotel, a little past its prime, but perfectly situated in the middle of downtown Rochester. It is part of the subway system and is directly across the street from the Gonda Building. The hotel is clean, has all the expected amenities. There is a small, but nice pool up on the top floor under a dome, a small whirlpool and a lot of fitness equipment, good workout area. Only concern is that the fitness equipment is not in a separate room and it is very warm and humid in the pool area. Rooms are a little small, but have everything you need. We had a 2 queen room, but the beds were definitely NOT queens, they were doubles and it was a little tight. Close to restaurants, shopping, everything you need. The price of this hotel is less than others in the area. Because of the clinic, Rochester hotels are a bit more pricey than you would expect. Starbucks onsite, great Italian restaurant in the hotel, Victoria's, a cafe which has good service and good food. A full-service bar. Parking is free if you are staying in the hotel, parking ramp is attached to the hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are comparable, be aware that the queen beds are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond L, Manager at Kahler Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments in regards to your stay at our hotel in Rochester. We appreciate any and all feedback regarding your stay with us. I am sorry you felt the beds were small. We just did some room refurbishing in the past year that included new mattresses, however, it is difficult to reach everyones comfort level but we try. I hope you stay with us again in the future upon your return to Rochester. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kahler Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahler Grand Hotel

Address: 20 South-West Second Ave., Rochester, MN 55902-3013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahler Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 80-year legacy of personalized service and world-class comfort awaits you at the Kahler Grand Hotel. Boasting a timeless charm and storied past, our Mayo Clinic Rochester Minnesota hotel is elegant, historic, and wonderfully unpretentious. Select from 668 rooms and suites tailored to any budget - from luxury to economy. Enjoy direct access to the world-renowned Mayo Clinic or downtown area via a climate-controlled pedestrian skyway and subway. Reminiscent of the great hotels of yesteryear, our impressive Minnesota hotel suites and guest rooms have been designed with your ultimate relaxation in mind. Whether your stay is a family getaway, romantic retreat, business trip, or Mayo Clinic visit, you will love our vibrant urban setting:Situated in the heart of downtown Rochester, Minnesota. Directly linked to the Mayo Clinic, via pedestrian subway and skyway Grand Shops - over 65 unique stores Convenient to Highways 52 and 63 as well as Interstate 90. Just 6.1 Miles from Rochester International Airport(RST)Short distance to Mayo Civic Center and Government Center. Now with super fast internet speeds up to 50 Mbps ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kahler Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahler Grand Rochester
Hotel Kahler Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kahler Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.