We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Impressed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kahler Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kahler Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kahler Grand Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 South-West Second Ave., Rochester, MN 55902-3013   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Enjoy breakfast for two!
Ranked #27 of 53 hotels in Rochester
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We booked this hotel through Priceline and ended up getting it for $67 a night. So that part was good. It's also directly across the street from the Mayo Clinic and connected by the subway. Also good as I was having surgery at Methodist Hospital in February and going outside was less than desirable. The lobby of the hotel was nice and there were several little boutique type stores on the main level, but that's about where the nice ends. The room we had was desperately out of date. The beds were hard and uncomfortable (and to be clear, I'm not a super picky traveler), although there were plenty of pillows. The bathroom sink wouldn't drain, and was dirty when we first got to the room. But when we asked for maintenance, the guy was up to our room literally within minutes to fix it. The shower sprayed in all different directions, and the drain stopper wouldn't stay up. No one came to clean our room. The restaurant attached to the hotel had a pretty good selection of bar type food on the menu, but none of it was particularly tasty. Parking in the garage was $12 a day, and we could come and go as we pleased. Also, the internet was free and reliable. We have stayed in 5 different hotels in Rochester in the last 4 months. This one was by far the worst.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond L, Manager at Kahler Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We appreciate your honest feedback and want you to know we are listening. Thank you for complimenting the many services our hotel has. While the Kahler Grand Hotel is obviously a historic hotel, we are paying attention to your advice on furnishings and amenities. We have refurbished our guest rooms as well as other renovations within our hotel, however, it is difficult to appeal to everyones comfort level. As far as your room cleanliness this is not standard practice and believe me I will be sharing this with the appropriate staff as we utilize these comments as training exercises to continually improve our service. I do hope you stay with us again in the future when you return to Rochester. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    303
    152
    106
    83
    91
See reviews for
158
117
135
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire WI
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is a grand hotel, a little past its prime, but perfectly situated in the middle of downtown Rochester. It is part of the subway system and is directly across the street from the Gonda Building. The hotel is clean, has all the expected amenities. There is a small, but nice pool up on the top floor under a dome, a small whirlpool and a lot of fitness equipment, good workout area. Only concern is that the fitness equipment is not in a separate room and it is very warm and humid in the pool area. Rooms are a little small, but have everything you need. We had a 2 queen room, but the beds were definitely NOT queens, they were doubles and it was a little tight. Close to restaurants, shopping, everything you need. The price of this hotel is less than others in the area. Because of the clinic, Rochester hotels are a bit more pricey than you would expect. Starbucks onsite, great Italian restaurant in the hotel, Victoria's, a cafe which has good service and good food. A full-service bar. Parking is free if you are staying in the hotel, parking ramp is attached to the hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are comparable, be aware that the queen beds are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond L, Manager at Kahler Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments in regards to your stay at our hotel in Rochester. We appreciate any and all feedback regarding your stay with us. I am sorry you felt the beds were small. We just did some room refurbishing in the past year that included new mattresses, however, it is difficult to reach everyones comfort level but we try. I hope you stay with us again in the future upon your return to Rochester. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Kahler Grand is a good option if you're visiting Mayo Clinic. It is right across the street and has an underground "subway" if the weather is really unpleasant. The cheapest rooms are really small - fine for a single person, probably not for a couple. We stayed on the 10th floor, which is convenient to the very pretty and well equipped fitness center and pool area and gets lots of light. The only slight complaint we had was that the housekeeping didn't keep the corridors very clean (someone's socks and an old breakfast tray sat in the hall for a couple of days!) and the bar, where we watched the Superbowl, had both lousy food and service. Having said that, most of the staff are extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Best seem to be on a high floor - ask for a renovated one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond L, Manager at Kahler Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We appreciate your honest feedback and want you to know we are listening. I was not pleased to read your comment about the uncleanliness of our corridors. Be assured that I have addressed this issue with my service team, in fact, we utilize all feedback as a training exercise with our staff to continually improve our service each and every day. I hope you choose to stay with us again in the future when you visit Rochester. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Wyoming
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

While very close to mayo clinic and easy access with the subway access. This hotel is very dated. The people were very nice and helpful but the room was very over priced for the room service. Our room was not clean and there was a lot of build up around the edges of the carpets. The beds were not very comfortable and walls were thin. We could here everything going on around our room. We did have management come look at our room, they did do a cleaning audit but when we returned to our room it still was not clean. We checked out the next morning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond L, Manager at Kahler Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your honest feedback and want you to know that we are listening. We utilize all feedback with our service team as a training exercise to continually improve our service. We are obviously a historic hotel but our guest rooms have been recently updated along with renovation of our lobby and pool/exercise area to better serve our guests.

I hope you choose us again in the future if you ever need to return to Rochester, MN.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Arrived on Friday January 25th Front Desk very helpful when checking in. I entered my room was suprised to see it has been upgraded liked the new furniture!! It has been 6yrs since I have stayed at the Kahler and I very much enjoyed it in the past. We had our annual winter get away there is year!! Was not pleased with the Bartender at the Martini Bar he was most unpleasent and acted like we were intruding on his cleaning. The Waiter Josh was very pleasent. Saturday went down for the Breaksfast Buffet which was very good and our waiter Steve was outstanding very pleasent. we had our banquet on saturday and the food was very good and our server and bartender were fantastic. We are looking forward to having our winter getaway there again next year!!

Room Tip: the rooms were very nice and clean the bed was a little to firm for me!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond L, Manager at Kahler Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your honest feedback on your stay with us recently. Yes, we did just undergo extensive renovating of our lobby area and refurbishing our guest rooms as well as our pool/exercise area. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to having you with us again next year. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is a "grand" hotel, with exemplary service. Many of the rooms have been updated, and are very pleasant, modern, and clean. All employees appear to enjoy working for the Kahler Grand, and are very willing to offer advice and answer questions. If you get a chance talk to Robert, everyone at the hotel knows who he is. If Robert can not answer your questions, no one can.
The hotel offers free parking in their connected ramp only when booking directly with them(kahler.com), otherwise you will pay a parking surcharge. The hotel is connected to the subway walking system, with extremely easy access to shopping, dining, and the Mayo Clinic. Their breakfast buffet, with made to order omelets is very good. And if you have time, eat dinner at Chester's, which is connected via the subway walkway. Their food and service is outstanding. This was our fourth stay, and whenever we get back to the Rochester area we will definitely stay at the Kahler Grand.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Marriott are quieter and have a very good view. Try to avoid rooms which overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond L, Manager at Kahler Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your honest feedback about your recent stay with us at our hotel. I want you to know that we will definitely share your comments with Robert. He is an asset to our Bellstaff for sure. We hope you stay with us again in the future on your return to Rochester. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Beautiful older hotel just across the street from Mayo Clinic. It is also connected by an underground tunnel in case of inclimate weather. Wonderful, helpful staff and good in house restaurant. Many good restaurants close by as well as some boutique shops.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kahler Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahler Grand Hotel

Address: 20 South-West Second Ave., Rochester, MN 55902-3013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahler Grand Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 80-year legacy of personalized service and world-class comfort awaits you at the Kahler Grand Hotel. Boasting a timeless charm and storied past, our Mayo Clinic Rochester Minnesota hotel is elegant, historic, and wonderfully unpretentious. Select from 668 rooms and suites tailored to any budget - from luxury to economy. Enjoy direct access to the world-renowned Mayo Clinic or downtown area via a climate-controlled pedestrian skyway and subway. Reminiscent of the great hotels of yesteryear, our impressive Minnesota hotel suites and guest rooms have been designed with your ultimate relaxation in mind. Whether your stay is a family getaway, romantic retreat, business trip, or Mayo Clinic visit, you will love our vibrant urban setting:Situated in the heart of downtown Rochester, MinnesotaDirectly linked to the Mayo Clinic, via pedestrian subway and skywayGrand Shops - over 65 unique stores Convenient to Highways 52 and 63 as well as Interstate 90Just 6.1 miles from Rochester International Airport (RST)Short distance to Mayo Civic Center and Government Center Now with super fast internet speeds up to 50 Mbps ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Kahler Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahler Grand Rochester
Hotel Kahler Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kahler Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.