We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay when visiting Mayo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   150 South Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mayo Patient Discount
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Rochester
naples
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“The place to stay when visiting Mayo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Attended a meeting at Mayo Clinic and was given several hotel choices to stay all connected by their system of skyways and subways for pedestrians. I think I made the best choice based on the Honors program. Everything was perfect:location, convenience to restaurants and shops, cleanliness, friendliness and efficiency of front desk. I also chose this hotel because it was a little further walk than Kahler or Marriott to Mayo, but the September weather was brilliant and it forced me to walk outside through Peace Square and discover downtown Rochester. If you're with an ill patient, you might prefer the other hotels. The Doubletree's restaurant and banquet rooms were busy on saturday night, but the room was still quiet. The view of the Mayo buildings was stunning.

Room Tip: Request a room on higher floor with view of Mayo Clinic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear chazb0: Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments about our hotel. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us, especially with the many options that you did have for the conference. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again when you return to Rochester.
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    107
    38
    7
    9
See reviews for
134
78
48
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

After a difficult day of travel we were warmly greeted by the desk staff--and a warm cookie,too. It was late in the evening, but room service was arranged and we were delighted with our meal. The young lady who serviced our room was helpful in every way and made our Mayo stay comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Joanne M: Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to post your comments about your stay. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that we were able to meet your needs. We are looking forward to having you stay with us again.
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Francis, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The DoubleTree Hilton was a nice place to stay for 1 night. The staff was very friendly upon arrival and departure. I do feel the price was high compared to other hotels. But very clean, with comfortable beds.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Lisa B: Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments about your stay with us. We appreciate it and hope that you will consider us again the next time you return to Rochester.
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I attended a four-day meeting sponsored by the Mayo Clinic and held in one of their buildings and at the civic center. Each was about two blocks from the hotel, but in opposite directions. The weather was excellent, but if it weren't one could use the system of covered elevated walkways (the Skyway) or underground connections (the Subway--but you walk, no trains). These connect major downtown buildings. So, the Doubletree is ideally situated on this weatherproof system and near excellent restaurants.

I can't say enough about the friendliness and efficiency of the staff. I can't single anyone out; they were all a pleasure to talk with.

The room had two queen beds, very comfortable. I downgraded the rating for sleep quality only because the room got stuffy at night, even with the fan on. I woke a couple of times each night, as a result. If only the window could be opened....

The room was well equipped with an easy chair, desk with outlets for recharging, a safe, a microwave, a fridge, a clock radio, and a coffee maker. Everything worked. And, you get a warm cookie upon check-in, of course.

Two quibbles about the bathroom:
1 (this applies to almost every hotel I've stayed in). They want guests to reuse towels, which I heartily endorse, but they don't provide any towel racks, just a couple of hooks. If there had been two people using a bath towel, a hand towel, and a washcloth each, it would not have been possible to dry them between uses.
2. The shower has a typical one level control of temperature and no way to regulate the water force. Because of the placement of the door into the stall, one must stand in front of the shower to turn the lever. This results in a splash of cold water for a couple of seconds, until the lever gets to the warm position. Fortunately, one does not have to wait for hot water; it is there in a couple of seconds.

All in all, this was an excellent choice, and I would stay there agin, if I returned to Rochester.

Room Tip: Three floors are reserved for Hilton HHonors members. I stayed on one of them, but don't know ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear HarveyL759: Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments about your stay.
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and your time in Rochester and that you will stay with us again when your travels bring you back. Thank you again!
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were given all considerations in our situation. We will be returning as the follow-up to surgery will be every three months. We liked the convenience of being close to Mayo and walking distance. We enjoyed the comfort of the beds, because we spent a lot of time in the room as we had to eat in the room. The surgery (neck) wouldn't let my husband swallow. He had a G-tube. The only thing I did not like was breakfast in the room or in the restaurant one morning. Too dry and not tasty.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Therese C: Thank you very much for staying with us while you were in town and for posting your comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will return in three months. I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your breakfast. We have many options within Rochester for breakfast, if you are able to leave your room during your next visit. The front desk will give you those options. Thank you again and we look forward to your return.
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed for several weeks at a time a couple of times this summer while visiting Mayo Clinic. Found the bell staff, housekeeping and the staff in the executive lounge to be very helpful and always kind and accomodating. With a couple of exceptions, the front desk staff were not as customer service oriented. They were not very accomodating with Diamond Club upgrades or perks, and were quite annoyed by the requests. They were also unaccomodating with my request to extend my stay, which I ended up handling online with no problem. Their care for returing patorns and loyal Diamond Club customers was quite disappointing. Am trying the Hilton Garen Inn for my next stay.
I found the rooms to be dark and the windows small.

Room Tip: Don't hope for an upgrade from a Hilton Honors Loyalty Club like Gold or Diamond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear RSG3147: Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments and also for staying with us during your extended time in Rochester. I am glad that for the most part, you enjoyed your time with us and got to experience the Executive Lounge. I do want to let you know that I have sent your comments to the Front Office Manager and our General Manager for training and discussion. Thank you for alerting us to this. We look forward to having you as a guest at our Hilton Garden Inn, the next time you visit Rochester.
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Very nice place and within walking distance to great restaurants. Room was clean and bed was actually very comfortable. Overall accommodations were very nice!! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone having to stay in Rochester, Minnesota.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Jeff H: Thank you very much for staying with us and for your post. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us to other travelers to Rochester. Thank you again!
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area

Address: 150 South Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rochester
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#5 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Doubletree Rochester/Downtown hotel has a great downtown location just two blocks from the Mayo Clinic campus and Methodist Hospital. Our upscale, full service hotel connects to the Mayo, Gonda, and Plummer buildings via Rochester's climate-controlled Skyway and Pedestrian Subway system. Shuttle and Town car service to the Mayo Campus are also available. The Doubletree is near the Mayo Civic Center and University of Minnesota campus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area Hotel Rochester
Radisson Rochester
Rochester Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.