We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll Be Back... ;)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   150 South Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mayo Clinic Rate
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“We'll Be Back... ;)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Doubletree over Easter and my goodness! What a beautiful place it is! The staff was extremely friendly (we had about 10 cookies- who can complain?), helpful, resourceful, kind and welcoming. Our room was cozy and comfortable-aside from our air vent switching on and off all night- and definitely worth it. We will be back!
Thank you, Doubletree!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear JulieA2: Thank you very much for spending your Easter Holiday with us at the DoubleTree! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you back again when your travels bring you back to Rochester.
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    117
    38
    8
    9
See reviews for
146
85
51
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed in March for a Mayo Clinic trip. Room was spacious and clean. Very comfy bed. Up to Hilton standards. Did not eat at the restaurant, which has a heavy seafood menu. After check in I discovered the room only had a shower. After a call to the front desk I was moved to another room with a tub/shower combination. Enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear dandg78: Thank you for your post and for staying with us. I am glad to hear that we were able to get you a tub/shower combination room. If you always perfer this, you may send me an email at deb.knox@hilton.com with your name and dates of stay with us and I can put this on your profile so that you always will receive this kind of room when you stay with us.
Thank you again!
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Go for the VIP floors. That will include breakfast, and a heavy cocktail and appetizer (meal) at 5:30 pm. Attached via 'subway' to the Mayo Clinic in city center so no mater what the weather your warm and dry. Welcomed with the usually warm cookie and friendly and helpful staff. Resturant is excellent and a Starbucks is attached.

Room Tip: Go for the VIP, its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear JohnS34134: Thank you very much for your post and for staying with us. I am glad to hear that you value our Executive Level and the Lounge on the 11th Floor. We hope that when your travels bring you back to Rochester that you will stay with us again.
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

While we rarely stay at Hilton brand hotels, we decided to stay at the Doubletree in Rochester because of its central location and good reviews on Tripadvisor.

We arrived early and had requested an early check-in. The front desk was able to accommodate but our rooms were located on the 3rd Floor. Perhaps because of our (quite) early check-in, these were the only rooms available. We request and prefer higher rooms because of the advantage of having a better view and often the rooms are quieter. The SkyWalk to Mayo Clinic is located on the 2nd Floor, so the 3rd Floor is the first floor of guest rooms. The windows were near the top of the walls and looked over some roofing. The rooms had a feeling of being in a basement because of the smaller windows on the top of the walls and the reduced natural light. One of our rooms - 322 - had a heating/air conditioning unit that needs replacement badly. It sounded like a freight train when it cycled on the air conditioning and it made it difficult to sleep. It is the loudest unit we have ever encountered. In retrospect, we should have indicated our disappointment with the rooms sooner to give them a chance to rectify the situation. We did request different rooms the next day when we determined that we needed to extend our stay and we were moved up the 9th Floor. The rooms were much better - with more natural light - and we got a good night's sleep because the air/heat units worked properly and were quiet.

We did find the staff to be very friendly and helpful and the bellman Kenny especially.

The in house restaurant is also excellent - and quite busy!

Two of the three in our party were unable to enjoy their complimentary chocolate chip cookies because of gluten intolerance. They did look and smell wonderful however! We put in a request - just in the hopes that they might have a substitute snack - when we made the reservation but we were provided the cookies at check-in.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the 3rd Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear SSJ83: Thank you very much for trying out a Hilton Brand and for staying with us. Thank you for being honest and letting us know about the heating/cooling unit in 322. I have copied engineering and housekeeping on your post that they can review the unit. Yes, the third floor does have different windows due to the parking ramp. I am glad to hear that we were able to move you to the 9th floor for the rest of your stay. Thank you also for letting us know about the cookies. We do have gluten free cookies available, so if you could send me an email with your name and dates you stayed with us, I will make sure to make a note of this on your profile as we would love to have you stay with us again. My email is deb.knox@hilton.com
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel has a very attentive staff, nice large rooms, free newspapers and a sensational restaurant in house. During a week there we had seafood, red meat, pasta, veggies, salads, desserts - the whole works. They are open for lunch and dinner. In the same structure, on the second floor, is an equally great Starbuck's, again with an extremely good staff. All of this can be enjoyed without going outdoors (we were there in January).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear 73Dwight: Thank you very much for staying with us and for posting your comments. I am glad that you enjoyed both the hotel and the amenities within it, Starbucks and Pescara. Pescara was voted Rochester's Best Restaurant in 2012! We are very proud to have them in the DoubleTree. If your travels should bring you back to Rochester, we hope that you will stay with us again.
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantorville
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The warm cookies, the plush white bathrobes, the quiet room, the free water bottles, and lovely accommodations made this a great get-away. Bed is comfortable. Pool and hot tub and sauna are great. Make sure to use the sky-way and walk over to Victorias Ristorante-- best Italian food! We'll definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floor was nice and quiet away from the basketball team staying at the same hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Jennifer S: Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments. I am so glad that you were able to have a "couple getaway" so close to home. We would love to have you stay with us again!
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Located on skyway system in d.t. Clean, quiet, great staff. Pescara is a fine, upper-end restaurant off the lobby. Rated best restaurant in Rochester. Comfy mattress and pillows. Only thing negative was that pool was too cool.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear lholmberg: Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass along your message about the pool to our engineering staff. Thank you for letting us know.
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area

Address: 150 South Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#1 Business Hotel in Rochester
#4 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Doubletree Rochester/Downtown hotel has a great downtown location just two blocks from the Mayo Clinic campus and Methodist Hospital. Our upscale, full service hotel connects to the Mayo, Gonda, and Plummer buildings via Rochester's climate-controlled Skyway and Pedestrian Subway system. Shuttle and Town car service to the Mayo Campus are also available. The Doubletree is near the Mayo Civic Center and University of Minnesota campus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area Hotel Rochester
Radisson Rochester
Rochester Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.