We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Makes Mistake with NO MOVIES TO BUY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   150 South Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mayo Clinic Rate
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Moline, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hilton Makes Mistake with NO MOVIES TO BUY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Don't get me wrong...I'm still a big fan of this hotel but Hilton decided recently to drop the movie purchase option and they don't have DVD players so NO VISUAL DISTRACTION is there for guests. BIG MISTAKE HILTON!!!

Most guests at this hotel are patients or family of patients at Mayo Clinic. We ALL need some distraction from our lives. We're either having treatment done, awaiting test results, or just wanting to feel like we're NOT at Mayo.

PLEASE REINSTATE THE MOVIE PURCHASE OPTION IMMEDIATELY or I'm guessing you'll see many loyal guests (myself included) find another hotel that offers distraction for the patients.

The rest of the hotel is wonderful, as usual. Food is great, service from all areas (front desk, cleaning staff, room service, etc.) is top-notch.

Room Tip: The front of the building is a little noisier than the back, but really not much difference. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Dear TravelQueen2010_03 ~ Thank you very much for posting your comments about the movies. I wanted to let you know that your comments have been passed along to our General Manager and our Chief Engineer.
We did make this switch when we added our HD channels. We do offer our guests free DVD players for their rooms. If you return and would like to stay with us again, we will gladly have a DVD player hooked up in your room prior to your arrival. If there are any other requests that you would like to make prior to your arrival with us, please just email me at deb.knox@hilton.com
I am sorry that we did not meet your needs the last time that you stayed with us. We would like to meet your needs if you should return again.
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    117
    38
    8
    9
See reviews for
146
85
51
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

The Doubletree for both Thanksgiving and Christmas 2011 was wonderful. Hotel is clean, very comfortable and attractive (recently remodeled). Staff is extremely friendly and efficient. Rooms on ninth floor in Nov and eleventh floor in Dec were always quiet (although, admittedly, the hotel was not busy due to the holidays) and included extensive free meals in Executive Lounge. The complimentary Thanksgiving dinner there was a delicious buffet. Pescara (in lobby) is a wonderful restaurant and ranks with the best - should you plan to dine out. The Doubletree is located on Rochester's enclosed walkway/mall, which provides a place to walk for exercise (total 2.5 miles) and opportunities to shop and dine, without having to face winter weather.The cotton terry robes, mentioned by another reviewer, are large, plush and fun. The bathrooms are clean and well stocked. Small item but especially appreciated by me - if someone closes the bathroom door and then flushes the toilet at 3am, it can hardly be heard in the bedroom. Yippee! Undisturbed sleep! The studio bedroom on the ninth floor had a beautiful tile and seamless glass shower, a double sink vanity and a pull-out bed. Our physician son left his apartment to stay with us, on the pull-out couch, when he saw how nice the studio room was. (In almost twenty years of visiting him in various locations, don't recall that happening before!) The beds were plush, down filled (can request non-down, if you prefer) and a joy to sleep in. The Doubletree visits really were very pleasant experiences in all respects and I cannot think of anything which could have made them better.

Room Tip: Our rooms were very quiet and we requested "quiet room away from elevators".
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
Dear Alice435: Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stays with us over the holidays. It sounds like you had a great visit with your son while in Rochester. We hope that you will continue to stay with us when you visit your family here in town. If you would need us to arrange anything prior to your next visit with us, please email me at deb.knox@hilton.com
Thank you again.
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Sioux City, Nebraska
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

We were in Rochester, MN, going through the Mayo Clinic. The Double Tree was wonderful. We are reward members, so we were on the rewards floor, which included plush white bathrobes, a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. The staff was wonderful to work with and met every need that we had. We wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Stay on the backside away from the traffic. Ask if you can pay extra to use the executive floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Dear MarilynAK: Thank you so much for your kind posting. We hope that we continue to be your hotel of choice when visiting Rochester, MN. Thank you again!
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Not our first stay, everything about the hotel is wonderful, including the restaurant Pescara. Service is above and beyond in both hotel and restaurant!! Will stay again, they hotel know and practice great guest service from beginning to end of stay. Thanks to a great staff!

Room Tip: 10th and 11th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Dear Joycebaum: Thank you very much for your kind posting. I am very glad to hear that we met and exceeded your expectations during your stay. We do have a wonderful team here at the hotel and I will pass along your kind comments. We hope that we are your hotel of choice, if you should return to the Rochester, MN area. Thank you again!
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

This hotel does everything right, from the moment you enter the lobby to check in to the time you depart their property they strive to ensure that every need you have is exceeded in every respect.

The front desk staff is courteous, friendly and helpful at all time and make every effort to accomodate their guests needs. The housekeeping staff does an excellent job in keeping the rooms in top order and well stocked.

The beds are comfortable and clean as is the rest of the room. If there were any con to the rooms at all it would be the noise transfer through the walls, it is an older downtown hotel and while the building is maintained well and in perfect working order the walls are a little thin so if somebody in a room next to you is snoring you will hear it.

I have to say my stay was perfect in every regard from check in to check out.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Lobby ultra sleek, cool vibes. Be sure to dance in front of the large wall hanging in the lobby and watch your 'image' on screen. Staff was very efficient. Rooms large and very clean. But the star of the show is the warm chocolate chip cookie especially when the temp outside is maybe in the 20s. On a previous visit to the area, we dined at the restaurant, Pescara, and had a wonderful meal but on the expensive side.

Room Tip: Room had microwave and coffee set up. Web site for Double Tree promised robes but there were none.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, December 13, 2011
Dear helen m: Thank you very much for your posting. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially the wonderful DoubleTree cookies! I made a note about the website with reguards to the robes. I will have that fixed. Robes are located in our suites and on our Executive Levels only. Again, I wil have that fixed. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you stay with us again!
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

2 or 3 times a year we travel to Rochester, MN and we always try to book at the DoubleTree. We always feel welcomed back as returning guests and are treated with great care and respect. I highly recommend DoubleTree for your stay in Rochester.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebKnox, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Dear 70Superbee: Thank you very much for your kind posting. I am very glad to hear that we have exceeded your expectations during your stays with us. As always, please just let us know if you needed anything additional during your stay in Rochester. Thank you again!
Deb Knox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area

Address: 150 South Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Rochester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#4 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Doubletree Rochester/Downtown hotel has a great downtown location just two blocks from the Mayo Clinic campus and Methodist Hospital. Our upscale, full service hotel connects to the Mayo, Gonda, and Plummer buildings via Rochester's climate-controlled Skyway and Pedestrian Subway system. Shuttle and Town car service to the Mayo Campus are also available. The Doubletree is near the Mayo Civic Center and University of Minnesota campus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area Hotel Rochester
Radisson Rochester
Rochester Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.