We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best downtown location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area to your Saves list
Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 First Avenue SW, Rochester, MN 55902   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #21 of 56 Hotels in Rochester
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best downtown location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed quite a few times at the marriott mayo clinic area hotel. Above all I would like to point out its convenient location, near to many restaurants and shops and of course mayo. The staff is very helping and polite. Breakfast is very good at the concierge level and also on the main breakfast area. Rooms are spacious and bathrooms also, very clean and we'll maintained. Some overlook first avenue, some the indoors pool which sometimes gets really crowded especially on weekends where lots of kids (belonging to swimming teams?) come in to practice.,something that can be annoying if one wants to rest. I would definitely recommend the hotel and I would come back if I travel to rochester again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks. We are here for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    65
    21
    10
    7
See reviews for
37
23
20
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I can't say enough about the valet staff at this hotel. They were so helpful - above and beyond type service. They went out of their way to help you and make sure your stay was pleasant and they seemed happy to do so. The beds were awesome.... so comfy. One very small issue is that some of the guests in our party said that they could not regulate the temperature in their rooms .... it was way too hot. (below zero outside) Not sure what is up with that , but our room was fine. Great staff , great location, nice rooms and amenities. I will definitely stay here again next time I am in Rochester.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate hearing them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lenox, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I can't say enough good things about the Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic. This was our 2nd stay at this Marriott and we are booked for another stay this weekend. We have stayed at several hotels in Rochester as we use the Mayo Clinic. However, the Rochester Marriott is by far the nicest of them all. The staff goes above and beyond to help you. It starts with the valets, the counter service, room service, and everyone you just pass in the hallways. They are always friendly and say "hello". They also go out of their way to help you and see if you need anything. The rooms are very clean and nice. The beds are so comfortable. The food was wonderful. I highly recommend this hotel. We look forward to our return this weekend. Thank you!
The Doede's

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Great to hear you like it here at the Marriott Rochester. Hope we see you again if you are back in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I stayed at the Marriott in downtown Rochester and initially I thought the hotel looked great. Certainly the location is perfect, in the middle of downtown Rochester. However, I had some concerns with my stay. The mattress was very lumpy; a poor mattress. The bed did not have real pillows. You know how Marriott likes to put a bunch of pillows on the bed? Well the pillows were all of a decorative nature and none were real bed pillows. I woke up feeling very sore. The room was also super hot even though it was cold outside. I could not lower the heat. There was hot dry air and a lumpy bed and no real pillow. For some reason, the staff were not friendly or nice except the woman at the bar in the afternoon (she was nice). From room service, the chef salad was horrible. Smothered in too much dressing and all the meat and eggs diced up-- more like a blended shake than a salad. I did not eat it. A hamburger and fries in the bar with beverage ran around $30. Water level in pool so low it's not enjoyable or safe to swim. No open patio or windows; the pool is in the middle of the building. They have little signs everywhere that they are available to help with your nursing or medical needs, but the prices are very high, and the "caring" message comes across as cynical. In the end, this hotel was not up to Marriott standards, in my opinion. Only thing going for it is location.

Room Tip: I didn't feel relaxed after staying here. If you do, make sure you can control the room tempera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
In reading your review, not a lot went right with your stay. I would hope that we could have addressed some of these concerns while you were here. If you are ever back in the area, I would not hesitate to address each and every concern with you if that would help. We are constantly upgrading and bringing in new furniture and menu items in the restaurant. Please check on us the next time you are in town to see how much we are improving day by day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fayetteville, ar
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Moved here from the Holiday inn express because there rooms were noisy. great facility and close to everything at Mayo Clinic connected by the subway. Staff was freindly and very helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for trying us out. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PALM SPRINGS, CA
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is a great hotel to stay at when in the Rochester area or visiting The Mayo Clinic. Totally the most convenient for access. You never have to go outdoors. Hotel Manager, Tamala was awesome. Rooms are clean, staff is very gracious. No complaints whatsoever, would go back for sure.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, Manager at Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks. We appreciate hearing everything about your great stay here at the Marriott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, MT
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We recently spent 4 nights at this hotel and overall it was fabulous right down to the bellman, Bob, who was super helpful throughout our stay. Everything went well and the hotel even had an excellent fitness area that was spotless. The location to Mayo and other shops restaurants, etc is excellent via the most walkable subway and skyway system.
The only negative was how room rates could vary so much depending on what groups were in town, etc.; thus one could pay "x" one day and then "2x" the next day. Other than that, the Marriott delivered the goods in all other areas.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott M, General Manager at Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your review. Room pricing does change upon demand just like most of the hotels in the area. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area

Address: 101 First Avenue SW, Rochester, MN 55902
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Rochester
#14 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#18 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern updated guestrooms and a convenient location connected to Mayo Clinic make Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area one of the top hotels in Downtown Rochester, Minnesota. The hotel offers 202 renovated guestrooms and suites, Salute wine bar and more. This downtown Marriott also has easy access to local attractions including the Mayo Civic Center and shopping options via climate-controlled walkways. Whether you are visiting Mayo Clinic, coming to Rochester for leisure, or traveling for business, our downtown hotel provides everything you need to make your stay seamless: in-room dining service, business services, a fitness center, and convenient continental and full American breakfast each morning available in our restaurant (for a charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area Hotel Rochester
Marriott Rochester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.