We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cozy & clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Rochester-Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Rochester-Downtown to your Saves list
Days Inn Rochester-Downtown
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Center St & First Ave NW, Rochester, MN 55901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 55 Hotels in Rochester
Rochester
1 review
“cozy & clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I booked a couple days before our event. There was very few rooms available in the intire town, with 3 :major events going on. My choices were limited to 3 hotels, and 3 rooms at each. I have to say, it was nice of the janitor to clean out the closet, so we had a room. That was the smallest roomm I have ever seen. It was neat and clean inside as was the lobby. We didn't spend anytime at the hotel, just arrived after 9pm , left by 7am. Good night sleep, quiet level. Great spot it you are planning to be downtown, in the mist of it all. I can't complain about anything, as I didn't plan ahead and get a room 3 months ago.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    91
    83
    63
    47
See reviews for
83
54
46
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marshfield
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Reserved rooms on line for visit to Mayo. Looked at pictures on web site of "Supposed" rooms. NOT!! Rooms were not as shown. Very tiny with even smaller bathrooms. When I spoke to the manager, Sharon, she said I should have called the motel to find out what the rooms were really like. She said they had some bigger rooms but they were more expensive than the web site shows. Not impressed. Very old building with loud doors and dated elevator. No air conditioning. Restaurant off first floor was good. Clean and reasonably priced. Location benefit not worth the experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

I knew it was creepy, but I didn't think it was haunted, until something kept whispering my name at night!!!!! The rooms were over 100 degrees at night and I'd wake up every single night I stayed there around 3am. That means your body feels something stairing at you. Also, I used the elevator once and it scared me so bad that I used the stairs the rest of my stay, the elevator was slow, so small and creeked so bad. It made me sooo dizzy and high anxiety. So I'd take the stairs and I was on the 5th floor..... But on the stairs I always was looking behind me and I felt like something was watching me or I felt like i was going to be pushed down them! And at night, the stairs are dark!!!!! They barely have any lights and that's very scary! This place is no doubt haunted and you can just tell when you go anywhere in that building besides the lobby area. Has anyone used the bathroom in the basement? Don't.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I was traveling to Rochester from two hours away to work a weekend of twelve hour overnight shifts. When I called to make the reservation I was told that it would not be a problem checking in early, around 9am, on March 22. When I called the next day I was told that I could MAYBE check in at 2pm. This was not acceptable considering I had just worked twelve hours and was going to be doing the same that night. I begged the lady I spoke with on the phone for any room that was available and she was very unfriendly and told me I would have to wait til the afternoon. I was very unhappy with the service I received and have not recommended the Days Inn to my coworkers that are traveling as well. Also, I was told there was no continental breakfast when the website clearly stated that there was. I was also unable to connect to wifi.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

I wish I could post photos. The bathroom was covered in mold and mildew. The rooms were very small and had the stench of body odor. Ground plugs were cut off extension cords being used for the coffee pot and hair dryer. The elevator sounded like it was ready to collapse. Paint was peeling everywhere!

The rooms were so small you could not open the drawers because the bed blocked them!

I wasn't expecting a lot for $90 per night but this was just horrible.

The staff didn't really seem to care when I showed them the photos. Obviously they knew how bad it was and I'm sure they knew management doesn't care enough to invest in the property.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This hotel is old. The rooms are small and very outdated. However, it is clean and the location can not be beat. The price is almost 50% less than others in the same area. It also has a great breakfast place attached (not included). I recommend this hotel if price is your deciding factor.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Rochester-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Rochester-Downtown

Address: Center St & First Ave NW, Rochester, MN 55901
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 55 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Rochester-Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Rochester-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Rochester-Downtown Hotel Rochester
Rochester Days Inn
Days Inn Rochester Mn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Rochester-Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.