We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be staying her again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area to your Saves list
Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 6th St SW, Rochester, MN 55902 (Formerly Best Western Plus)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 55 Hotels in Rochester
IOWA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Will be staying her again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

3 others and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while a family member was having medical procedures. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite in one of the out buildings. We found the room to be clean with plenty of room for 4 people. Staff was very good and were eager to answer questions and give advise on the area. The shuttle service is prompt and courteous. The only down side I found was not enough towels in room and no ashtrays in a smoking room, but no big deal for us. We just went to the front desk and got them. We will be back in a week and probably several times in the next year and we will be staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    78
    32
    19
    22
See reviews for
92
33
15
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

Best Western Soldiers Field has everything you need for a relaxing trip to Rochester. I was there for Mayo Clinic and they have the best shuttle service i have seen in Rochester. The staff couldn't be any nicer and helpful. I think the shuttle and the staff are the reason i stay there. But the restaurant and the location help. Almost forgot , the shuttle will take you just about anywhere in the city.. Malls, hospitals, library, etc. I have more but will save it for later. I stayed in the main building so i can't comment on the rooms in the other buildings.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

Our room was quiet and very comfortable, a very good hot breakfast buffet was included every morning. Free parking, GREAT quick shuttle service to Mayo Clinic and St. Mary's Hospital - all for free. Drivers were highly efficient, warm and friendly, and when you were ready for pick-up, you'd just call hotel and shuttle would be there in a flash. Walking to Mao Clinic is only 4 blocks, anyway. And, we usually don't eat at hotel restaurants, but the restaurant here, "Twigs," was so good, we ate there all four nights! The food was creative, the ambience warm, inviting, and beautiful! Prices very reasonable, service was great. This restaurant has apparently been open about 18 months, so older reviews panning it are out-of-date.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

We were in town for a visit to the Mayo Clinic. This hotel was perfect for what we needed. We had a double queen room inside on the 8th floor. Our room was very clean, spacious and quiet. We never heard any noises in the hallway or from the elevator (we were only two doors down). The elevators were fast and convenient. The beds & bedding were very comfortable. Our room had a mini fridge, microwave & coffee maker. We made a quick trip to the market and stocked it with drinks and snacks. The daily breakfast was good and plentiful. We did not eat at the attached Twigs restaurant, as we had a rent-a-car and chose to go off-site each night. I will say though that the covered patio area was always filled with people and the food smelled delicious. There was a ton of free parking spaces also. The front desk staff was extremely helpful and very nice. I appreciated having the ability to check email at the two computers located off the lobby also. The hotel is located across from Soldiers Field Memorial Park. It was nice to have it close by. My husband likes to walk and he enjoyed having the park nearby and was very happy with its walking paths. We also chose to walk to/from the clinic on a cool morning before the heat & humidity kicked in. It was a short 4-5 block walk...made for a good morning stroll. But the BEST thing about this hotel is the convenient shuttle service. This is truly the "gem" service added here. This is the only hotel that I could find that offers its own shuttle service and you don't have to ride the others for 30-40 minutes as they go around to all the other hotels and/or mall. There wasn't one time that we waited for more than 5 minutes to either go to the clinic or be picked up from it. Excellent service and very caring, fun drivers.

I cannot comment on the outer towers, but I am glad that our room was inside the main building...just for convenience. We did not use the pool, but was surprised by its size. Had we been traveling with children, this would've been great. And I cannot comment on the fitness room, but it look adequate and roomy.

As for the "old carpet and furniture" mentioned in previous reviews...they certainly could be updated. But they were clean and untattored. I never once felt like the place was not clean.

The rate is worth its price. And if you've compared any other hotel prices, you will see that this Best Western is mid-range. For the convenient location, comfortable surroundings, quiet & clean room, free parking and excellent shuttle service, I would highly recommend this place. (Be sure to ask for the Mayo discount if you're coming in for the Mayo Clinic.) If we ever need to be back in this area, we would stay here again hands down!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

My family recently stayed overnight here. As others say, avoid the outer buildings if you can. We were in building 3. The fortunate thing was that we were on the 1st level in the front of the building where it was easy to park and unload. The unfortunate thing is that we were in building 3 and not the nice tower across the parking lot! Okay, the room was clean, but very outdated. Upon entering, we were all a bit stunned, including the kids - green carpet, plaid couch, blue chair, exposed sprinkler system - and everyone was curious about the little fan in the wall between the living room and bedroom.

The pool was nice and the staff was courteous and helpful even considering the hotel had been taken over by wrestlers and dancers!

Later that night, we would find out later that only way to get conditioned air into the bedroom is to use that cleverly placed little fan everone was curious about - umm, noisy fan. As other said, it was difficult getting sleep due to the stuffy room and uncomfortable surroundings.

On to breakfast! The choices were good and despite the fact that it was very crowded, we managed to have a good breakfast before heading out for the day!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

We spent two nights here for an OOT BBall tournement. It was agreed upon by our team that the outer buildings should really be passed by. Our room smelled "like an old lady". We went out and bought a wall plug in freshener. The murphy bed was very uncomfortable. Thirteen year olds had a hard time falling asleep. As other reviews say, the room was VERY clean. The bed was comfy in the seperate bedroom. The outdoor rooms really are like one bedroom apartments. The outside of the exterior buildings are dirty and bleak- the backsides are very scarey. We were on the SECOND floor but because of the way the building was built we had to walk up two flights of stairs. My shower ran out of hot water at 7am. Others in our group had NO hot water later in the morning. The breakfast was good, the food from Twigs was good as well. Pool was fun- but only one ball was available for the hoops. We used the shuttle once and we were "bumped" by a couple going to Mayo. (We were on a time constraint as well and were late to our destination) Unless you are staying long term, I recommend the tower rooms. Multiple high speed internet connections available- all were slow.

Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

The Good: The suite was nice. Very good kitchen area with adequate counter space, cabinets, pantry and spacious full-size refrigerator with large freezer. Shuttle personnel are very friendly and attentive to rider's comfort and safety. Front dek personnel were very helpful and freindly. Rates were reasonable. We did not eat from the provided continental breakfast or use the onsite lounge and restaurant. Located within one mile of two shopping plazas and strip malls, one to three miles from various eating places, including: Outback Steakhouse, Perkins, Pizza Hut, Burger King and two Chinese eateries. Also within four miles of a Wal-Mart Super Center and Shopko. Easy five minute shuttle ride to the Mayo complex, Methodist Hospital and St Marys Hospital.

The Not So Good: The carpeting definitely needs updating (old, dingy and dusty appearing), as well as the couches and the easy chairs. Beds were a bit too firm for my pleasure, but comfortable to other family members. The website needs updating and should include a virtual tour of all available room classifications (king and queen premieres are merely standard guest rooms with mini frig and microwave - online photos are misleading in that I thought they were suites; rooms in outer buildings contain the suites). My biggest complaint was the bath area. On the last night of a five day stay, the toilet clogged at 1:30 A.M. I called the desk and was told someone would be there shortly. About five minutes later, the security guard knocked on the door and gave me a plunger to unstop the toilet myself. To ensure a functioning toilet for my family's use during the night, I spent almost an hour plunging to no avail. I called the desk and was told someone would be there at 5:30 A.M. to take care of it; however, no one showed until about 7:30 A.M. which was a few minutes after my family woke up. I do not believe guests should have to plunge toilets, nor should the customer have to wait four hours to correct a sanitation issue.

Overall: Our five day stay was pleasant, except for the toilet issue. We were there for Mayo Clinic appointments, and we were picked up and returned at our door three days in a row and shuttled to and from the clinic free of charge. The shuttle was also available to and from other points in the city, as well as other medical treatment facilities.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area

Address: 401 6th St SW, Rochester, MN 55902 (Formerly Best Western Plus)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#12 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal location in Rochester! This full-service Minnesota hotel, near the Mayo Clinic, is located in the historic district of downtown Rochester. The Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field is conveniently located in downtown Rochester with easy access to local area attractions, events and business locations. Guests will find the Mayo Clinic, Saint Marys Hospital, Mayo Civic Center, historic Mayowood Mansion, Apache shopping mall, Graham Arena, and RCTC Regional Sports Center nearby. Each well-appointed room at this Rochester hotel features free wireless high-speed Internet access, free long distance access, an iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker and hairdryer. For added comfort and convenience, The Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field comes equipped with a state-of-the-art fitness center, laundry facilities, and Twigs, our award winning restaurant. Guests will appreciate the hotel's Express Courtesy Shuttle to all Rochester downtown destinations including Mayo Clinic and Rochester International Airport. Hotel guests will appreciate the complimentary expanded hot buffet breakfast buffet offered every morning. Additional hotel amenities include an extra large indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and video arcade area. A friendly staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Soldiers Field Tower Hotel Rochester
Best Western Rochester
Rochester Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.