We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst Best Western in the country” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area to your Saves list
Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 6th St SW, Rochester, MN 55902 (Formerly Best Western Plus)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 56 Hotels in Rochester
Sioux City, Iowa
1 review
“The worst Best Western in the country”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

By far this is the worst Best Western i have ever stayed at. I am a PLATINUM REWARDS card holder. The customer service i received was below average. So i talk to the manger Myron. Now i see where his employees get their customer service skills from. If i was part of the Best Western franchise i would take the name away from them. i would rate my family's all around experience with this Best Western as well below average. The suite that i stayed in reminded me of my old college dorm room. The only good thing that i can come up with that was good about this hotel was the location. I will be staying at a different hotel on my next trip to Rochester.

Room Tip: Don't stay in their suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We truly apologize that you were not pleased with your stay here at the Best Western Plus Soldiers Field. I am sad that we were not able to resolve your concerns while you were staying here. As I tried to clarify to you on the telephone, it is up to each individual banking institution to decide how to process debit card pre-authorizations. I know that you were frustrated with the situation. I am genuinely sorry that the information on the pre-authorization was not explained clearly to you and we have discussed this with our staff to be certain that this situation does not occur again.

We have been notified by Best Western Corporate that they reimbursed you 10,000 Best Western Rewards Points. We hope that this gesture by Best Western helps to alleviate the situation. Please know how important you are to the Best Western Brand. Again, we apologize. If you would like to discuss anything further please contact me, myron@soldiersfield.com. Sincerely, Myron Salz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    78
    32
    19
    22
See reviews for
92
33
15
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I are so thankful for everything.. We took our adventure to Rochester, MN for the purpose of the MAYO Clinic. A time of stress, sadness and uncertainty. There are no real words to express how grateful I am for the staff, the shuttle service, friendliness, cleanliness and overall compassionate atmosphere provided at this location. The breakfast - perfect. The pool and game room - perfect. I know that we will have to return to Rochester quarterly... and it is with the utmost certainty that I can say we have found a home at the Best Western Soldiers Field.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
WOW! We cannot thank you enough for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us We are so happy to hear that all of our staff showed you the compassion and consideration that we strive for on a daily basis. Our job is to help make you as comfortable as we can when you are visiting Rochester and we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed all of our staff, our shuttle service and we were able to help make your trips so much easier! We are glad that your guestroom accommodations were clean and comfortable! We are delighted that you were able to enjoy our free expanded breakfast buffet during your stay and were able to utilize the pool and arcade as well. Again we cannot thank you enough for your kind words about the Best Western Soldiers Field. We look forward to your next stay with us. Sincerely, Myron Salz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

When we first pulled up to the tower we were staying in, I was very hesitant. When we opened the door to our room, WOW! Clean, nice and comfortable and convenient to Mayo Clinic. The shuttle staff were amazing and made the trips back and forth easy. I would not hesitate to stay here again!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review of the Best Western Soldiers Field. We couldn’t be happier to hear how amazing our shuttle staff was during your stay. We are so glad we could help make your trips to and from the Mayo Clinic as easy as possible. We are in the midst of a complete facelift of our exterior buildings and can’t wait to start the first phase this spring. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your guestroom and how comfortable your stay was. Thanks again for your wonderful comments and we can’t wait to see you again soon. Sincerely, Myron Salz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Clean and comfortable. Reasonably priced. Staff was great! I would definitely recommend if you are looking for a place in Rochester. Kids loved the pool. We stayed in the tower and were very happy breakfast in the morning was very good.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Best Western Soldiers Field. We are so happy to year that you enjoyed your comfortable and clean room at a reasonable price! We can’t wait to pass on your comments to our staff, they love to hear how our guests appreciate them and we love to hear how great they were! Thanks so much for recommending our hotel to others! We appreciate it more than you will ever know!! We are thrilled that the kids loved the pool and you were able to enjoy our free expanded breakfast buffet that we serve daily! Thanks again for your wonderful comments and we look forward to your next stay with us. Sincerely, Myron Salz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Like so many other reviewers, I booked this hotel for the easy access to Mayo. Literally around the corner & down the street from Mayo. The morning complimentary breakfast got us a good start to what was a long medical day. Then we hopped on the free shuttle the hotel provides to Mayo for our appointment. Otherwise, Mayo DOES charge for use of their parking garage.

The hotel was really very busy. You could tell that by the front desk's phone ringing off the hook & the amount of dirt in the carpet in the main hallway at the end of the day. The room was average, probably needing an updating soon. All the typical amenities were provided. Comfortable night's rest.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at the Best Western Soldiers Field. We are happy to hear that you chose us for easy access to the Mayo Clinic and enjoyed our shuttle service. We are glad to hear that our complimentary breakfast buffet was a great start to your mornings. The rooms have recently been updated with new carpet, new bedding, and flat screen televisions. We are in the midst of a complete facelift of our exterior buildings and will begin the first phase this spring. We are thrilled that you were able to get a comfortable nights rest while staying in the hotel. We look forward to your next stay with us. Sincerely, Myron Salz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

we happened to stay for almost a month, due to a long visit in mayo clinic. we recieved a wonderful feeling from all the staff, from the reception team to the shuttle drivers, felt really "at home" though we stayed far away from home. hotel itself is in very good condition. rooms are big and always clean, fresh beddings and lots of light. breakfast (included) is dissent, and very convenient when leaving early in the morning for the clinic. Twigs restaurant is a perfect solution if you are too tired to look for dinner outside the hotel, and with its great atmosphere and delicious food you shouldn't miss it. on top of all- the shuttle service..... what a great service. they will take you everywhere you need, not only the clinic. (and will always recommend a good place for dinner). hopefully won't need to visit Mayo again, but can definitely recommend staying in this hotel to others.

Room Tip: we stayed at the tower. all rooms are the same size, very big and lighted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay with us! I am so happy to hear that our staff went above and beyond to make your stay with us like home! We can’t wait to pass along those comments to them. I am glad you enjoyed your large, clean room and the adequate lighting was just what you needed. I am thrilled you were able to utilize the free expanded breakfast buffet that we serve daily and found it convenient before your shuttle ride to the clinic. Thanks for your great comments about Twigs Tavern and Grille. We are glad we were able to provide you with a perfect solution on days when it was too much to venture out and couldn’t be happier that you enjoyed the atmosphere and our delicious food! We are so very happy that you enjoyed the shuttle service. We have worked very hard to ensure that our guests are taken care of and never have to worry about parking issues downtown. Thank you so much for your recommendations! We look forward to your next stay with us. Sincerely, Myron Salz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area

Address: 401 6th St SW, Rochester, MN 55902 (Formerly Best Western Plus)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#12 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal location in Rochester! This full-service Minnesota hotel, near the Mayo Clinic, is located in the historic district of downtown Rochester. The Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field is conveniently located in downtown Rochester with easy access to local area attractions, events and business locations. Guests will find the Mayo Clinic, Saint Marys Hospital, Mayo Civic Center, historic Mayowood Mansion, Apache shopping mall, Graham Arena, and RCTC Regional Sports Center nearby. Each well-appointed room at this Rochester hotel features free wireless high-speed Internet access, free long distance access, an iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker and hairdryer. For added comfort and convenience, The Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field comes equipped with a state-of-the-art fitness center, laundry facilities, and Twigs, our award winning restaurant. Guests will appreciate the hotel's Express Courtesy Shuttle to all Rochester downtown destinations including Mayo Clinic and Rochester International Airport. Hotel guests will appreciate the complimentary expanded hot buffet breakfast buffet offered every morning. Additional hotel amenities include an extra large indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and video arcade area. A friendly staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Soldiers Field Tower Hotel Rochester
Best Western Rochester
Rochester Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.