We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area

Save Saved
You added Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 6th St SW, Rochester, MN 55902 (Formerly Best Western Plus)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 53 hotels in Rochester
Indian Head Park, IL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed here twice in February for Mayo Clinic visits (a total of 7 nights). There could not be nicer people to care for you. The desk staff really want to see to your comfort. My spouse is an amputee and the handicap shower in our room on the first stay was excellent for him to use. When we could not be in that room for our second stay, the staff provided a shower chair moments after our request. Since my spouse could not sleep flat due to the pain he was having, they even brought a recliner to our room just as quickly. Just as valuable to us was the shuttle service which is run by wonderful engaging staff. A request from the doormen at Mayo brings them quickly and the drivers are very quick to see to your safety getting off and on. In fact, you can park and forget it since they will even take you to nearby restaurants. In the winter this is great because fear of falling on any ice or snow is pretty much eliminated. We will always look here first for a room when we return to Rochester.

As for other comments, the rooms are pretty well kept up. Lots of lighting was available which is often an issue for us in hotels. My only comment to staff would be a change in shower curtains. On both stays they could have been cleaner (one had definite mildew on the outer bottom side that faced the tub wall.)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. I am so happy to hear that our front desk staff was able to help make your stays with us comfortable with a caring attitude. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed the shuttle service and were able to leave your car parked until you were ready to head back home. Our drivers are one of a kind. Thank you for letting us know about the shower curtain. We have since replaced them all with brand new hookless curtains. We can’t wait to pass along your comments to our staff. They enjoy hearing how much they are appreciated by our guests. Thanks again for your comments, we truly appreciate them. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Rochester. Sincerely, Myron Salz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    72
    30
    17
    21
See reviews for
84
30
13
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed in the towers for daughters hockey tourney. Liked the shuttle service they offered. They have a nice bar/restaurant on site and pool. The hotel does a great job or getting teams on same floors. They come through hallways at 10:30 to make sure people are being quiet. Good breakfast in morning. eggs, sausage, toasts, oatmeal, cereals, muffins, donuts, fruit, and make your own waffle. The only complaints I had was the beds were not comfy and saggy. felt like I was going to fall off as it was down on 1 side. also never enough towels at the pool.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed having the shuttle service and were able to use the service to get to and from the arena. I am glad you were able to enjoy the pool area and Twigs Tavern and Grille. I am thrilled we were able to get you and your team on the same floor, we work really hard to accommodate all of our teams. I am happy to hear that our staff walked through the halls to ensure everyone was enjoying themselves at a comfortable level. Thanks for your comments on our complimentary breakfast buffet, we have recently added a few extra hot items which include an egg bake, American fries, and a pancake machine for our guests enjoyment. I am sorry to hear that you found our beds uncomfortable, we have recently added a mattress topper to all of our beds, can you please contact me to let me know which room you stayed in so we can ensure that this room was not missed during our installation? I apologize that there was not enough pool towels in the pool area, we have spoken to our staff to remind them that they need to continuously restock the pool towels. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, without guests like you we would not know about these issues. We greatly appreciate your comments. If you would like to discuss anything further, please contact me Myron@soldiersfield.com. Sincerely, Myron Salz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have been visiting Mayo Clinic at least once every year since 1989. We always stay at Best Western Soldier's Field for it's convenient location, transportation service, clean rooms and overall friendliness of staff and guests. We stayed at a different hotel a couple of times when BWSF was full. Now, we make sure our reservations are made early. No comparison!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and for staying with us for so many years! Your kind words mean everything to us and the fact that you keep coming back says alot! Thanks for letting us know how much you enjoy the location, the shuttles, cleanliness of your room, and our staff and guests. Our drivers have been with us for years and love our guests, this comment will mean the world to them. We have a new Executive Head Housekeeper who has done an amazing job working with her staff and I am thrilled you are happy with the cleanliness of your room, we will pass this on to them as well. Our front desk and Twigs staff are such nice people and I agree, the guests we meet are wonderful too! We are lucky to have you and thank you for choosing us! Sincerely, Myron Salz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed in the "towers" during our sons hockey tournament in town and the hotel had everything we needed, including shuttle to and from arena and local business's, pool, bar area and light breakfast. Rooms were nicely decorated and had AWESOME beds. We'll definitely stay here again!

Only things I didn't like was the Loading/Unloading Area... it was very congested with only 1 way in and 1 way out so when cars were parked waiting for people and with the shuttle there, you have to wait for the car infront of you to leave.....and the smell of fried fish in the lobby all weekend, probably from the restaurant attached. But all in all a nice hotel for a hockey tournament weekend!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments from your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we had everything that you needed to make your stay wonderful! We are thrilled that you were able to enjoy the shuttle service to and from the arena and around the Rochester area. Our shuttles help make your stay relaxing and stress free! I am glad you were able to utilize the pool and enjoyed Twigs Tavern and Grille, as well as our complimentary breakfast buffet. This year we have plans to expand our guest registration parking as we have seen the congestion issue ourselves. Your comment validates how important it is for us to make this improvement a priority. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Myron Salz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

The king suite across from the main hotel wasn't worth it unless you need the full sized kitchen and Murphy bed. The rooms were clean but not very modern. I think the rooms in the hotel would be better and then we'd been able to use the pool. We opted to not cross the street in the winter time with wet hair!!! The breakfast was very good with lots of good choices!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your time in reviewing your stay with us. You are right, our extended stay suites work wonderfully for extended stays. I am sorry to hear that you opted not to use the pool area due to the weather. Our shuttle drivers are more than happy to take you to and from your room whenever needed. We apologize if this was not offered to you. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast selection. We have worked extensively to find options that are fitting for all of our guests. If you are ever visiting Rochester again, it seems as though our tower guestrooms may be a better fit for you and we would love to have you come and stay with us again. Please let me know if you have any additional questions or comments, myron@soldiersfield.com. Sincerely, Myron Salz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coupeville, Washington
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a very well-tended hotel, with good electrical connections, comfy beds and pillows, and a seeming good attitude. The breakfast was better than most. I imagine a lot of Mayo Clinic visitors stay here, and it shouldn't be disappointing to any of them.
The associated restaurant, Twigs, was quite good, and a welcome change from the road food we had been having.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysalz, Owner at Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our comfy beds and our staff was very helpful during your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed our breakfast selections that were offered on our complimentary breakfast buffet. We are thrilled that you were able to dine in Twigs Tavern and Grille and enjoyed your experience. Thanks again for your wonderful comments, we can’t thank you enough and can’t wait to relay your comments to our staff. We hope to see you again if you are ever in the Rochester area. Sincerely, Myron Salz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area

Address: 401 6th St SW, Rochester, MN 55902 (Formerly Best Western Plus)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#10 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal location in Rochester! This full-service Minnesota hotel, near the Mayo Clinic, is located in the historic district of downtown Rochester. The Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field is conveniently located in downtown Rochester with easy access to local area attractions, events and business locations. Guests will find the Mayo Clinic, Saint Marys Hospital, Mayo Civic Center, historic Mayowood Mansion, Apache shopping mall, Graham Arena, and RCTC Regional Sports Center nearby. Each well-appointed room at this Rochester hotel features free wireless high-speed Internet access, free long distance access, an iron/ironing board, coffee/tea maker and hairdryer. For added comfort and convenience, The Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field comes equipped with a state-of-the-art fitness center, laundry facilities, and Twigs, our award winning restaurant. Guests will appreciate the hotel's Express Courtesy Shuttle to all Rochester downtown destinations including Mayo Clinic and Rochester International Airport. Hotel guests will appreciate the complimentary expanded hot buffet breakfast buffet offered every morning. Additional hotel amenities include an extra large indoor swimming pool, whirlpool and video arcade area. A friendly staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Soldiers Field Tower Hotel Rochester
Best Western Rochester
Rochester Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centerstone Plaza Hotel Soldiers Field - Mayo Clinic Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.