We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel was fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4353 Canal Place SE, Rochester, MN 55904   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Rochester
A TripAdvisor Member
“This hotel was fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We had been staying elsewhere in Rochester for our monthly Mayo visits but tried LQ this time. The staff was very friendly, helpful and polite. The hotel was super clean, although it is new, with more than you would expect for the money. We had t.v., internet, fridge, micro, homemade cookies, workout room, salt-water pool, hot-tub and kiddie pool, full breakfast in the morning with eggs, sausage, bacon, cereal, yogurt, baked goods, fruit, coffee, juice, etc. For the first time, we brought our dog with to a hotel and LQ was quite accommodating. The hotel is next to a movie theater, restaurants and shopping. They have a shuttle to Mayo/hospitals and parking is free. We will be booking our Mayo visits here from now on!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy T, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Good Evening:
Thanks for making our day on our one month anniversary of being open as a hotel. We are thrilled you enjoyed our hospitality. We pride ourselves as a brand and company in offering great service, a delicious breakfast, efficient shuttle, well appointed guest rooms, a restful setting, exceptional cleanliness, and believe pets should be treated like family too. We look forward to being here for you in future Mayo Clinic visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    29
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
102
30
14
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Golden Valley, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The hotel is new, crisp even!, but the staff was/is poorly trained in customer service and proceedures, which negates everything else.
Nicely decorated. Great pool area. Best breakfast! But was double billed and on the card that wasn't to be charged but for "incidentals."
Incidently, won't be staying there again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy T, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Valued Guest:
We appreciate your staying at our new La Quinta Inn and Suites very much. Thanks for complimenting us on our decor, pool, and great breakfast. And, we are glad you found the hotel to be a strong value, have beautiful guest rooms, and to be very clean.

We value your total satisfaction with our hotel. We apologize for the newness of our staff and their error on your bill. We have been open under a month and some of our staff are new to the hotel industry. We certainly ask that every staff member focus on the importance firsthand of checking every account number to make sure the correct credit card is used. We are sorry that the associate did not pay closer attention. We would like to make it up to you and invite you back soon and your next stay is on us.

We wish you a great start to spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I stayed at this newly opened hotel. It had only been open a week when I spent the night there.
The room I stayed in was a handicap accessible room. My eye is always open for "hiccups" in these rooms. Both my parents are handicapped. My father in a wheelchair and my mother with a walker. My first impression of the room was that it was a beautiful room. The bathroom was set up really nicely for both wheelchair and walker. A wheelchair would be able to fit under the sink without a problem and the handicapped person would still be able to reach towels, faucet, etc.

Now for the sleeping area: still a beautiful room, however, the bed is much too high. Someone trying to get into it from the height of a wheelchair would NEVER be able to reach it. Even someone in an electric wheelchair, which can be maneuvered higher or lower would need assistance and still would have difficulty getting into bed. Also, my mother with her walker, had trouble getting into bed from a standing position. She couldn't get high enough to be able to sit on it and slide into bed. Definitely a problem and/or law suit if someone falls and is hurt.

I DID speak with the manager, Brian, about it the next day. He said he would see what could be done, thinking the bed could be lowered. I am not so sure how much the bed could be lowered as I did check to see how far off the floor the frame was and it was only about 3 inches. That would not be enough to adjust this bed.

I did commend the hotel for the comfort of the bed and the accessibility of the bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy T, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest:
We take the comfort of our guests needing handicapped accessibility very seriously and we sincerely appreciate your feedback on our bed height and on our overall room décor. First, thanks for letting us know you loved our room appearance. We created it with light colored tones and light maple wood finish to keep a spacious feel. And, as far as our bed frames and mattresses we have done some further review. Our Restonic Heavenly Cloud Tintanium Mattresses are some of the most comfortable you will ever sleep upon. But, they can be used without a box spring in order to reduce the height by over 8 inches. We are now using custom bed height requests in our room reservations to ensure we accommodate your needs every time you stay. Thanks for making a difference for every guest we host.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewartville, MN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I highly recommend this hotel if you're looking for a place to stay while in town for appointments at Mayo Clinic, or just need a place to stay for any reason at all. Unspeakably awesome & attentive staff, beautiful new hotel with quiet rooms (even during construction!), a huge, hot breakfast selection, and included shuttle service to & from Mayo Clinic.

My wife & I recently needed to get a hotel room for 1 night - We both work at Mayo and live nearby. We're finishing our basement and needed to leave while our insulation was installed. Knowing we needed to leave our house by 8am Tuesday morning, we wanted to find a place that would possibly allow us to check-in early. Turns out - it wasn't a problem at all. The staff at La Quinta were friendly, accommodating and helpful over the phone, getting us an 8am check-in Tuesday. Typically, this isn't possible - we were thrilled!

Upon arrival, we were greeted by the most attentive and friendly staff I've ever come across at a hotel. Turns out, the room style we paid for wasn't quite ready - so they went ahead and upgraded us to a larger room that was ready at no extra cost with no questions asked. (I hope you get to meet Andy the General Manager - Extremely nice guy, always offering help & truly cares that you're enjoying your stay.) Even though the hotel is still putting the finishing touches on the new building, we never heard a sound or noticed any construction at all. It was quiet during the day & night. You'll get a restful night of sleep in a beautiful new room with comfortable pillow-top mattresses & in-room keurig coffee makers. :) Then, you'll wake up to a wonderful hot breakfast where, again, you're greeted by friendly staff who offer to get anything you need at anytime. The hard working employees at La Quinta truly define customer service with a smile.

Thanks to everyone who made our stay memorable and enjoyable at La Quinta. Hope you have the time to read all the great reviews to come your way - there will be a lot of them!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy T, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Greetings:
It is with deep appreciation that we thank you for your positive feedback on our new hotel, staff, breakfast, and quiet surroundings you experienced. We worked hard to ensure a five star hotel experience without a five star price. We look forward to serving you in the years to come. We hope your home is now back in order for you. Happy Easter to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Beautiful, comfortable, brand new. Attentive, thoughtful staff. A few miles from clinic but has an hourly shuttle. Quiet, clean, & safe. Nice for families too seeing it has two indoor pools, hot tub and exercise area. Nicely decorated. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy T, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Trip Advisor Traveler:
Thanks for saying our new La Quinta Inn and Suites in Rochester is excellent. Your satisfaction is our top priority. We are glad you thought our staff was attentive and you liked our hotel salt water pools- we are the first hotel to have them in Rochester. We always try to make our guests feel secure and to be attentive to their needs. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

If you are looking for brand new, recommend this place. Have a shuttle to the Mayo which is very helpful. Would stay here again just because new hotel and that is what I look for when we visit the Mayo, have a great rate for Mayo patients as well. Can be noisy, walls seem paper thin could hear everything outside and hear people walking above us. Hotel staff seems to be getting used to their jobs, things seemed kind of disorganized. Had a breakfast, but not the greatest, thank goodness they had waffles and bacon otherwise my kiddos would have been upset.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy T, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Greetings:
We sincerely appreciate your insights. We are glad you would recommend our hotel and liked our waffles and bacon. And, thanks for being patient with our staff during the first two weeks we opened our hotel. Our team is gaining proficiency every day in their jobs as service ambassadors. We wish you a wonderful spring season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandstone
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Very pleased,NEW,nice,pleasant staff,clean,easy to find,restaurants close enough..
Reasonable price for rooms,wonderful beds,pillows! We recommend,and would stay again when in the area.
Decor was bright cheerful colors,rooms had ample lighting,nice change compared to so many that are dark without enough lightening! Rooms also were nice size.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy T, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
We appreciate your feedback on our new hotel. We wanted to create a bright, contemporary hotel that is uplifting to travelers. We are pleased you agree that we have accomplished that very goal. Our bright side bedding with 10" pillow top mattresses is among the most comfortable you will find in any hotel. And, the light maple décor we believe is a huge plus because it gives our rooms a light and airy feel. Thanks for becoming part of our La Quinta Inn and Suites Rochester Family! Have a great start to spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester

Address: 4353 Canal Place SE, Rochester, MN 55904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fresh, contemporary, spacious new hotel built in 2014. Features 83 guest rooms including 19 suites with 40" HD TV's, Blu-ray disc players, charging jacks for electronic devices, Keurig coffemakers, fridge, microwave, and 10" pillowtop mattresses. Complimentary hot bright side breakfast. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LaQuinta, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.