We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Can Do That” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Towers at the Kahler Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Towers at the Kahler Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Towers at the Kahler Grand Hotel
20A SW Second Street, Rochester, MN 55902 (Formerly International Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 53 hotels in Rochester
Mexico, Missouri
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“We Can Do That”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at the International Hotel. On both visits the rooms have been very nice, the hotel itself, located on the top two floors of the Kahler, is very quiet and private. If you need a quiet place to recover, this is it. The 24 hour lounge is good when you can't sleep and need to rattle around outside your room a bit. The concierge service is truly spectacular. They made any request my wife or I had come true. I heard "we can do that", or "I can get that for you" numerous times. From getting the exact newspaper we wanted to making more salmon appear at the complimentary breakfast in the lounge, they are there to make our stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. These people are used to working with world leaders, celebrities and royalty and it shows. Pure professionalism.
Another big plus is being able to take an elevator directly to the connector to Mayo. You never have to go outside. I can be from my room to the 15th floor doctor's office in well under 10 minutes.
Also close via sky walk to a Barnes & Nobel located in a refurbished theater. It's pretty neat. Tons of food options close by, many offering al fresco dining. A lot of art near by--explore the neighborhood if you get the chance.

Room Tip: Executive king suites have one bedroom with a king bed and a nice living room. Also a half bath and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
2
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

I stayed at the International Hotel during a visit to the Mayo Clinic. I had stayed at the Doubletree and the Marriott previously, and wanted to compare the International. It is a nice place, but I am not sure that I would stay again.
PROS:
High end finishes. Mahogany woodwork, nice furniture, nice bath with slightly outdated finishes.
24 hour lounge with concierge
Key access only floor
Quiet, unless you are near the elevator.
Very clean room
CONS:
saggy bed
elevator bangs when it runs
very very slow internet in lounge, none in room (and lots of attitude from the front desk after an hour with tech support)
temp controls in room don't work
few places to sit comfortably in lounge
meager food choices in lounge
no ottoman for chair in room. This is the worst after a day of walking the Mayo Clinic.

Being a repeat Mayo visitor, I have 4 things that I would like at the end of a long day-
a place to rest my weary feet in my room, a concierge lounge to have breakfast and a hearty snack in the evening (many times you just don't want to leave the hotel) with a comfortable place to sit in the lounge, and internet access, and a clean room. Unfortunately the International provided only one of these.
They do provide a turndown service with a handful of loose pretzels and some root beer barrel candies. (????) No mat provided by the side of the bed.
Would I return? Probably not for the value and comfort. The Marriott and Doubletree both offer concierge floors with plenty of amenities for a much lower price and equal comfort. If you need total privacy, however, this may be your place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

I was booked at the Kahler Grand and the second I saw my room (the 2nd time I had been there) I switched to the International. I was there to be with my dad while his wife is at the hospital, and he loves the Kahler, but I never realized the International was within the building. The second I go off the elevator it was completely different! the carpeting, the doors, the whole atmosphere! I had a room with 2 queens because my brother was there that night, and the room was huge and beautiful. There was a nice sitting area with a 1/2 bath, then the separate bedroom which was huge. Both rooms had their own tv. The beds were plush and the bathroom gorgeous! The conceriege service was wonderful, there was a nice breakfast, afternoon tea and snacks and drinks later. After getting back from the hospital late I went up to the lounge to ask the conceriege where I could get a glass of wine, and he very kindly brought me one. (Room service only sold bottles), the lounge was also open 24 hours and had soda/juices/water available. Loved everything about it!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, WI
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

I've stayed all over the city on business and there is no comparison. Bathroom is right out of a Martha Stewart photo shoot -- granite, marble and brass fixtures. I didn't want to get out of bed it was so comfy. Loved the concierge lounge with the free breakfast and afternoon appetizers. Only gripe would be that I wish they had true High-Def signal on flat screen (I know it's being picky!).

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2006

I just stayed at the International Hotel and I loved it.
5 Star service from the Concierge to Housekeeping. The room was extra large, with flat screen tv's, you even had your own phone number to the room. The Concierge lounge was wonderful from the Breakfast, afternoon tea and the snacks at night.
THIS HOTEL IS TOP OF THE LINE!!!! If you have a chance PLEASE choose the INTERNATIONAL HOTEL, you will not be disappointed.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Choose this and you will see why I liked it so MUCH
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Towers at the Kahler Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Towers at the Kahler Grand Hotel

Address: 20A SW Second Street, Rochester, MN 55902 (Formerly International Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 53 hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Towers, which are directly connected to the world-famous Mayo Clinic, is the premier choice in luxury Rochester, MN hotels. Offering direct access to the leading medical facility via a climate-controlled subway and skyway, guests enjoy the convenience of close proximity to 2,800 expert doctors and scientists and over 45 medical and surgical departments across six multi-specialty centers. The hotel is a top choice for international travelers coming to Rochester.In addition to our convenient Rochester Mayo Clinic hotel location, guests relish our 44 exclusive accommodations and services, which include a domed rooftop pool, celebrated onsite dining, complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Loews Hotels and Agoda so you can book your The Towers at the Kahler Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Towers at the Kahler Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.