We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice weekend with the family.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kahler Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kahler Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Kahler Inn and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Third Avenue Northwest, Rochester, MN 55901   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 56 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Austin, Minnesota
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A nice weekend with the family.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We spent two night's and three day's at the hotel. Nice room's, nice bed's and good food.
Lot's of thing's to see and do. The location is very nice and close to many place's to go and see thing's and do thing's. Under ground walk way filled with many store's to shop in and look around in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam K, General Manager at Kahler Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I am so happy to hear your stay with us was a pleasant one. I am also glad you had a good time in downtown Rochester. Since we are connected to the pedestrian subway there are a lot of options for shopping and dining as you mentioned. Once again thank you for your recent stay and the positive review on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    115
    61
    26
    19
See reviews for
159
43
45
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
KMW55
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I switched hotels on very short notice and had a very accommodating lady at the front desk assist me. I didn't catch her name but she was working 6/16/13 at 7:30pm. Thank you!
The rooms were very clean and updated. The location is great with plenty of parking. Walking distance to clinic and also on the subway. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam K, General Manager at Kahler Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor for the Kahler Inn and Suites. I am very happy that we were able to accommodate your stay. The front desk associate who helped you was Marwa. I will pass along your appreciation. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus Falls, MN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We have stayed here several times in the past year and will again be there in the next week. The staff if courteous and very helpful. Our room has always been clean and well stocked with everything we need. Beds are very comfortable. With the Gonda Building and Mayo Clinic right across the street the location couldn't be better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam K, General Manager at Kahler Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you, thank you for your kind words regarding the Kahler Inn & Suites. Our staff works very hard and when we receive reviews like this it makes it all worthwhile. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cundys Harbor
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Face it, you don't go to Rochester Minnesota for fun, you go to visit the Mayo Clinic. The Clinic is the absolute epitome of efficiency, applied ergonomics and really thoughtful design. Immediately across the street is the black hole of "hospitality" design.
I'm generally not that fussy about hotels, they should have a pleasant lobby, clean well lit rooms with functioning HVAC and above all great beds.
This place was a major swing and a miss on all counts.
The lobby is dingiest most unlovely and dark as a cavern lit place I've ever been-perhaps it's to get you in the mood for the rooms. The rooms were terribly designed, (an example, your "pillow view" is the bathroom sink), very poorly lit, one of those HVAC units that cleverly blows chilled air into the filthy drapes and not into the room, and sounds like a metal lathe when running, then turns off to leave the room stuffy and yucky until the next cycle. But the worst were the beds. If you're at this place, you're likely sick, and need rest.. Between the HVAC and the bed of my bad dreams, no chance.
We had prepaid (Expedia) for 3 nights, hated it so much we simply left after the first night and forfeit our non refundable payment.
Would I return? Only to see Elvis in a live concert.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam K, General Manager at Kahler Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am so sorry your experience at our hotel did not meet your expectations. We pride ourselves on providing a clean and comfortable place for our guests to stay. I am surprised to hear your comments regarding the lobby, as well as the HVAC units in the rooms. Our entire hotel was remodeled within the last 16 months. Most all of the HVAC units were replaced and the lobby was completely renovated. It sounds like there may have been a maintenance issue with the unit in your room. When this happens we love the opportunity to move our guests into a room that is functioning better. Once again I would like to apologize for your experience and hope your next stay in Rochester is a better one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We had a junior suite which had two beds and a pull out couch. Very nice with neat room layout. Both beds and the couch can see the tv, but the couch has privacy from the two beds because of a half wall.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam K, General Manager at Kahler Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. I am so happy you enjoyed your room. The mini suites are my favorite rooms at the property as well. Thanks again and I hope your next visit to Rochester is a good one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Stone City, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Kahler Inn and Suites is a great place to stay. We were there for a MAYO visit and the location is perfect if you are there for a medical visit. We enjoyed walking downtown to the large fountain and visiting the shops along the way. The people that work and live in this area are very polite and friendly to visitors! I personally enjoyed the coffee shop in the lobby of Kahler. Also, we will be going back to MAYO and will be staying at Kahler Inn and Suites again!!

Room Tip: We had a room with a little kitchen area. It was very useful for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel is connected to the underground which runs to all of the downtown clinics, hospitals, restaurants, shopping, etc., and is a great choice for the convenience factor. Parking was free but occasionally limited, so you have to park in the building across the street (although they do validate the parking for you). The hotel is quiet, but the room set-up is strange with the sink and mirror overlooking the beds! If you and your spouse are on different schedules, this arrangement is extremely annoying and inconvenient. We'll look for a hotel with a more conventional arrangement for our next visit, so my wife can sleep while I'm getting ready....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kahler Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahler Inn and Suites

Address: 9 Third Avenue Northwest, Rochester, MN 55901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Rochester
#17 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahler Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to relax in comfort in one of our renovated guest rooms featuring comfortable bedding and LCD televisions. Mornings can be busy and parking can be a hassle -- but not at the Kahler Inn and Suites. Enjoy a fantastic free continental breakfast every morning along with free covered parking. If you need to go anywhere we are connected by underground pedestrian walkways to Mayo Clinic as well as downtown Rochester. We also offer a free shuttle service to St. Mary's Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Kahler Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahler Hotel Rochester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kahler Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.