We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff all the way around and extremely convenient!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kahler Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Kahler Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kahler Inn and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Third Avenue Northwest, Rochester, MN 55901   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Enjoy 5% Off!
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Rochester
Fairbanks, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly Staff all the way around and extremely convenient!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here after 2 nights in the Kahler Grand. Lots of black mold in the Kahler Grand bathrooms had me concerned for my wife's health. Was very surprised at how nice and clean the rooms are and roomier as well here at the Inn. Housekeepers are the nicest that I have come across. Front desk staff, restaurant staff(besides the manager who just walked by customers) bellmen and Mike were all very nice. This is how it should be-especially so close to the hospital where you have know idea the medical issues/circumstances that your customer's may be dealing with. It is actually more convenient than the Grand also. 100 yards up the subway and you are in the Gonda building. Or walk out of the hotel and Rochester Meth. Hospital is right across the street which is very convenient if you have a loved one that has just had surgery. Definitely would stay here again. Moving out while wife is in hospital for a week in favor of a efficency room, but will be back when she gets out prior to flying back home. Definitely Recommend The Kahler Inn for anyone that is coming from afar that is stressed out enough from their long trip!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    95
    46
    20
    18
See reviews for
134
32
40
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

As natives and residents of Texas, we were apprehensive about visiting Rochester to go to the Mayo Clinic in January. We had been told there was a pedestrian subway between Kahler Inn & Suites which would enable us to get to our appointment without going outside. Little did we know, however, that it would take 10 minutes max to reach the the doctor's office. My husband uses a motorized scooter, and this made it so easy to navigate what we feared would be a difficult passage.

In addition, the staff at the Kahler couldn't have been friendlier--from the bellman who greeted us at the taxi to the bellwoman who helped us with our bags as we were leaving. Everyone had a big smile and provided whatever service or directions we needed in a timely manner.

The room was a mini-suite which had everything we needed. Although we had not requested a fully accessible room, the mini-suite had plenty of room for my husband's scooter and his needs.


The complimentary breakfast had great variety, and we enjoyed a full breakfast at the Center Street Cafe one morning when we were too late for the complimentary one. We also had dinner twice at the Center Street Cafe, which has friendly service and great dining choices.

We used the exercise room which was clean and large. My only suggestion would be that an exercise bicycle be added to their equipment.

When we come back for the annual follow-up, you can be sure we will stay at the Kahler Inn and Suites.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Arrived about 1 am after a long day at Methodist hospital with a family member. I just walked across the street from the hospital to the hotel entrance. Front desk gentleman was a young man who was VERY nice. I was quickly given room keys and on my way to my room. Room was nice and clean. Beds were comfortable. Because of proximity to Methodist hospital, there were people in the halls all night long. So, there is some noise to deal with but this is not the fault of the hotel. Bathroom was small but clean and adequate. No available parking in underground parking in hotel but was given a pass for the Graham parking lot. Biggest complaint is the breakfast in the morning. Blech. Instead, went to the Caribou Coffee that is attached to the hotel. Had breakfast and coffee there. There is also a sub shop attached which I used one evening.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

It always helps when ur sick or sad and away from home to feel like ur at home the rooms were very clean and tidy loved the full kitchen the stove was very old though. Ps if u have a hard time walking u might want to stay closer to mayo its about 20 minet walk if u hurry

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The recent updates have made this a much more enjoyable place to stay. The rooms and halls are brighter, the frig is a welcome addition, and the staff was helpful. Appreciate the access to the subway system in the cold weather and the free parking. Makes the trip to Mayo much easier,

Room Tip: Dining is on the first floor and swimming pool and exercise area on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The room was very nice; good quality remodel. Great location with access to the subway walkway. Also a good value with free parking, although it was somewhat limited and we were advised we might need to use a parking ramp down the street (we didn't have to but parking was not plentiful). The hotel staff was pleasant but not overly friendly; this didn't cause us any problems.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange city, IA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This hotel is attatched to the Mayo by the underground tunnel (subway walkway), and free parking all day for guests which does save $. There are other hotels more expensive, and others more cheap, but this is a good value for how convenient and how nice the rooms are. My daughters came with us (16 and 12), so we had a queen suite, and the fold out sofa was very nice. The downfall was the small bathroom right off the bed area, but you do get a small fridge, microwave, dishes and sink to use! The pool was nice, hot tub is very small, but fit three of us at once.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kahler Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahler Inn and Suites

Address: 9 Third Avenue Northwest, Rochester, MN 55901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rochester
#11 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahler Inn and Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to relax in comfort in one of our renovated guest rooms featuring luxurious bedding and LCD televisions. Mornings can be busy and parking can be a hassle -- but not at the Kahler Inn and Suites. Enjoy a fantastic free continental breakfast every morning along with free covered parking. If you need to go anywhere we are connected by underground pedestrian walkways to Mayo Clinic as well as downtown Rochester. We also offer a free shuttle service to a number of destinations throughout Rochester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Loews Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Kahler Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahler Hotel Rochester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kahler Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;