We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here for years” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kahler Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kahler Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Kahler Inn and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Third Avenue Northwest, Rochester, MN 55901   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Enjoy 5% Off!
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Rochester
Hawthorn Woods, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Stayed here for years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel is adjacent to Mayo Clinic and is connected via tunnels to all buildings and hospitals. Very convenient. It has been newly renovated and the mini-suites are especially nice. After years of staying here we were faced earlier this year with a $100.00 fee for our small dog which previously was complimentary if you stayed in a mini-suite. This flat fee is outrageous considering most hotels charge from $10.00 (Best Western) to $35.00 at some upscale hotels per night. Still complimentary at most Comfort Inns. The complimentary breakfast is so-so at best, but adequate. We've been attached to this place for many years but may look elsewhere next spring due solely to the pet fee since our stays are usually 2-3 nights.

Room Tip: Try the Doubletree Hotel down the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    102
    49
    21
    18
See reviews for
142
34
41
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bismarck, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel many times. Last summer we were at a campgrounds. Altho it was a very nice one; we missed the convenience of the Kahler Inn & Suites. To be able to park your car and just forget it is a plus. We were there for a week and it was cold and rainy. Didn't even have to go outside to get to the Mayo. Cafe is good or we could go the subway to the hospital cafeteria. Whatever we chose to do. Everyone is friendly from the maintenance staff to the desk clerks to the cafe staff. We will definitely stay there on our next trip to Mayo

Room Tip: I think all the rooms we've been in are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The best feature of this hotel is the location. One is very close to Mayo (across the street) and you can use the "subway" system (underground walkway) which means you don't have to drag a heavy winter coat or umbrella to various appointments at Mayo. This convenience comes with a hefty pricetag.

For what you get, it is way over priced. The bathrooms are very tiny, you can hardly turn around. The rooms are dirty (I found goldfish under the bed) and dingy. The continental breakfast is awful (coffee is good).

Staff is friendly & parking is free.

I would not stay here again. There are more economical hotels on the "subway" system.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

While attending medical appointments for our daughter, we stayed at the Kahler Inn and Suites for a week. The location is perfect to the Mayo clinic. You don't have to even go outside to get to the clinic. Underground subways connect the the hotel to the clinic. Continental breakfast every morning is free and is all you need. Staff are very friendly and eager to help. Enjoyed the exercise equipment. All good equipment and not very busy. Rooms are very clean and updated. Beds are very comfortable. All in all our stay was very good and would definitely return if we needed to.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for ten days and thought it was quite good. Very convenient to Mayo, underground walkway so warm and no parking issues although parking is tight but once in you really don't need to move the car.
We had a larger room with micro and frig which is very convenient. Breakfast is included although not much of a variety.
There is a good coffee shop in the lobby as well as a sandwich shop. You can easily walk to the better restaurants in town.
Will stay here again.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The Good:
1. Location, location, location - Kahler Inn & Suites is located less than a block from Mayo Clinic building, Gonda building (where you may have Mayo appointments) and Methodist Hospital (also Mayo).
2. Complimentary parking - I recommend parking in the Graham parking garage, which is less than a block away - have your parking ticket stamped at the front desk. You can park temporarily on the street to unload, then park in the Graham garage.
3. Cost - The cost for my parents and I to stay was approximately $150 per night with taxes and a $10/night fee for a comfortable recliner.
4. Restaurant on site.
5. Complimentary breakfast - fruit, cereal, biscuits and gravy, bagels, breads, juices and coffee - the usual hotel breakfast fare.
6. Staff were friendly and accomodating.
7. Mini suites are nice - two queen beds, small living room and mini kitchen area. Would highly recommend if you are staying for a week. This gives you a little more space and makes your stay a bit more like home.
8. Nice bedding - comfortable, cottony sheets. I am picky about sheets and these are crisp and cottony.
9. Caribou Coffee Shop and Jimmy Johns Sandwich Shop entrances are located in the hotel lobby. Good coffee and subs.

The Bad:
1. The toilet/shower area is small - it is its own separate room. The vanity, sink and mirror are located in the main hotel room area, which is nice, but it would be nice to have a couple more square feet in the toilet and shower room.

Overall: I had to really think about it to write something bad - the bathroom comment above is stretching. This is a nice hotel, cozy, in a great location. It was a nice room to come home to after a long day at Mayo. Our housekeeping staff were wonderful, wait staff in the restaurant were friendly, it's a decent place to stay and I'd book there again if I had to visit Mayo.

Room Tip: Ask for a mini suite if you're staying more than one night, and get a recliner for $10/night. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Nice, clean, friendly staff and nice size room (we had a queen mini suite). Pool area was on the cool side. Pool is only 3-3.5 feet deep. I have teenagers, and this would have been nice to know, as we were planning on using pool, but didn't. The hot hot is the smallest I have seen-max people is 2 and it's not hot. The continental breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kahler Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahler Inn and Suites

Address: 9 Third Avenue Northwest, Rochester, MN 55901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Rochester
#12 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahler Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to relax in comfort in one of our renovated guest rooms featuring luxurious bedding and LCD televisions. Mornings can be busy and parking can be a hassle -- but not at the Kahler Inn and Suites. Enjoy a fantastic free continental breakfast every morning along with free covered parking. If you need to go anywhere we are connected by underground pedestrian walkways to Mayo Clinic as well as downtown Rochester. We also offer a free shuttle service to a number of destinations throughout Rochester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kahler Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahler Hotel Rochester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kahler Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.