We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kahler Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Kahler Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kahler Inn and Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Third Avenue Northwest, Rochester, MN 55901   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Enjoy 5% Off!
Ranked #10 of 53 hotels in Rochester
Carmel
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for ten days and thought it was quite good. Very convenient to Mayo, underground walkway so warm and no parking issues although parking is tight but once in you really don't need to move the car.
We had a larger room with micro and frig which is very convenient. Breakfast is included although not much of a variety.
There is a good coffee shop in the lobby as well as a sandwich shop. You can easily walk to the better restaurants in town.
Will stay here again.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    89
    42
    18
    17
See reviews for
125
31
37
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The Good:
1. Location, location, location - Kahler Inn & Suites is located less than a block from Mayo Clinic building, Gonda building (where you may have Mayo appointments) and Methodist Hospital (also Mayo).
2. Complimentary parking - I recommend parking in the Graham parking garage, which is less than a block away - have your parking ticket stamped at the front desk. You can park temporarily on the street to unload, then park in the Graham garage.
3. Cost - The cost for my parents and I to stay was approximately $150 per night with taxes and a $10/night fee for a comfortable recliner.
4. Restaurant on site.
5. Complimentary breakfast - fruit, cereal, biscuits and gravy, bagels, breads, juices and coffee - the usual hotel breakfast fare.
6. Staff were friendly and accomodating.
7. Mini suites are nice - two queen beds, small living room and mini kitchen area. Would highly recommend if you are staying for a week. This gives you a little more space and makes your stay a bit more like home.
8. Nice bedding - comfortable, cottony sheets. I am picky about sheets and these are crisp and cottony.
9. Caribou Coffee Shop and Jimmy Johns Sandwich Shop entrances are located in the hotel lobby. Good coffee and subs.

The Bad:
1. The toilet/shower area is small - it is its own separate room. The vanity, sink and mirror are located in the main hotel room area, which is nice, but it would be nice to have a couple more square feet in the toilet and shower room.

Overall: I had to really think about it to write something bad - the bathroom comment above is stretching. This is a nice hotel, cozy, in a great location. It was a nice room to come home to after a long day at Mayo. Our housekeeping staff were wonderful, wait staff in the restaurant were friendly, it's a decent place to stay and I'd book there again if I had to visit Mayo.

Room Tip: Ask for a mini suite if you're staying more than one night, and get a recliner for $10/night. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Nice, clean, friendly staff and nice size room (we had a queen mini suite). Pool area was on the cool side. Pool is only 3-3.5 feet deep. I have teenagers, and this would have been nice to know, as we were planning on using pool, but didn't. The hot hot is the smallest I have seen-max people is 2 and it's not hot. The continental breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I have had to visit Mayo many times and Kahler Inn and Suites is the best place to stay at a reasonable cost. It is conveniently located near Mayo and my favorite restaurants. The rooms are good sized compared to many in the area and comfortable. There were lots of pillows available and the bed was comfy. Going to Mayo is a stressful experience and staying at Kahler Inn and Suites makes it more manageable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

After staying for several days at another hotel in town, I decided to find another hotel for my next trip. This was a pleasure. The location is extremely convenient. It's a very reasonable rate for a newly renovated hotel with parking and fancy continental breakfast included. i was very pleased with my room. The bed was very comfortable and that's saying alot since I have a TempurPedic mattress at home. Pillows clean and comfy. Any assistance I needed from the front desk was handled nicely and efficiently. One night I came back to the hotel later than usual, and there were no parking spaces available in the hotel garage but I was able to park in the public parking garage directly across the street. I had my ticket validated at the front desk and the parking was free. I didn't use the pool or gym so I can't comment on those. Everything went so well during my first visit, I just made another reservation for this coming month.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I had a reservation for the 16th of Sept. 2012 for four nights as he was to have surgery at the Mayo Clinic. I made the reservation on the 11th of Aug, on the 16th of Sept we left our home in South Florida at 4:30 AM and after a long day and three airplane rides later I tried to check us into the hotel. That was a nightmare!!!! I have stayed in hotels all over this world and NEVER been treated with such disrespect. Apparently the gentleman I made the reservation with misunderstood and put our date down for Augsust 16th rather than Sept. 16th. Mistakes can happen but when I tried to check into the hotel the "clerk" Staft at the desk was as rude as rude could be. Especially the dark haired lady whose name I will have tomorrow. Yes, I have had a huge amount of things going on with my husbands surgery coming up but there was zero customer service or help in trying to resolve a very difficult situation. I will NEVER stay at a no name hotel like this again, If you accidently make a mistake or are a part of a mistake in your reservation that was made by them they will do nothing to help you resolve it. We were about 1600 miles away from home with my husband scheduled for tests and then surgery tomorrow. In no way did she try to help us find a resolution. Shame shame shame Kahler Inn and Suites. I will post the ladies name tomorrow. Thank you Hilton for stepping up to the plate and helping us out! You ALWAYS come through! I will be on a mission to prove all of the lack of service Kahler Inn and Suites have!!!!! At least the Hilton was able to provide us with two nights, my husband will be in the hospital and I'm sure I'll be alble to work the last two nights out someplace. BEWARE of the Kahler Inn and Suites!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: It seems you can't get past the rude front desk in order to coment on anything else with this ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill S, General Manager at Kahler Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Kathy G,

First I would like to apologize to you for the problem you had. I am sorry you did not read you email Confirmation that was sent you to and that you presented to my desk staff when you tried to check in. The date on it was August 16 for four nights, not September 16. Sunday and Monday September 16th and 17th we were full and did not have any rooms. My front office Mgr email a letter of apologizing to you and offer a free night stay to you. Again I am sorry for the mistake and that is why we email comfirmation to our guests so they can check over all the dates and rates for their stay.

Yours,

Bill Seitl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Small rooms likely out of the 50s with some updating. Room smelled like it was smoked in. Very hard beds. Tiny bathrooms. Hotel hooks right up to a Jimmy Johns, that is the extent of their dining within 3 blocks.
Second floor has laundry that ran into the night, and was very loud. Management refused to do anything about it. Dont waste your time or money on a poor excuse for a hotel. Spend the extra 60 or 70 bucks and stay at the Marriott Mayo Clinic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill S, General Manager at Kahler Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Fine Diner1777,

I am sorry we did not meet your expections. We are a smoke free hotel that was remodeled in 2011. All of our beds are extra firm and were replaced in 2011.

Again I am sorry we did not meet your expections,

Yours,

Bill Seitl
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
Quiet, Mid-rang...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#23 of 53 in Rochester
3.5 of 5 stars 722 reviews
Free Parking, I...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Aspen Suites Rochester
Aspen Suites Rochester
#4 of 53 in Rochester
4.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Rochester / Mayo Clinic Area
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Rochester Marriott Mayo Clinic Area
Quiet, Budget...
Show More
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester
Hampton Inn Rochester
#3 of 53 in Rochester
4.5 of 5 stars 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kahler Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kahler Inn and Suites

Address: 9 Third Avenue Northwest, Rochester, MN 55901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Rochester
#10 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kahler Inn and Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kahler Inn and Suites Has a New Look and Feel! From the moment you walk through our doors, you will notice a difference with warm color tones and a completely new lobby. We invite you to relax in comfort in one of our renovated guest rooms featuring luxurious bedding and LCD televisions. Free Continental Breakfast. Mornings can be busy and parking can be a hassle -- but not at the Kahler Inn and Suites. Enjoy a fantastic free continental breakfast every morning along with free covered parking. If you need to go anywhere we are connected by underground pedestrian walkways to Mayo Clinic as well as downtown Rochester. We also offer a free shuttle service to to many destinations throughout Rochester as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Kahler Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kahler Hotel Rochester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kahler Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.