We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 13th Avenue SW, Rochester, MN 55902   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #9 of 53 hotels in Rochester
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This hotel has recently undergone a complete renovation. The lobby and bar/restaurant area are welcoming ( fireplace to be warmed by!) and attractive (variety of soft shades of color). The room we requested was beautifully furnished and the two queen beds (kings also available) very comfortable. The bathroom was huge with walk- in shower (ours was a handicap suite, so lots of features we didn't need, but a wheelchair- bound person would be grateful for the wall phone in the bathroom next to the toilet, for instance). We would have appreciated something to lay our clothes on in the bathroom, but no matter: a minor complaint, I would suppose. We did not see any of the standard rooms with tub instead of shower, but we understand they were completely redecorated and refurnished too. Complimentary regularly-scheduled transportation to the Gonda building stops here, as at all the hotels between Gonda and St. Mary's.

This hotel is right across the street from the end of St. Mary's Hospital where the ER and the
entrance to the hospital check-in desk are located, and it has free ramp parking connected to the hotel on the second floor (but if you have a big car, try for the first level; the turns on second level are pretty tight).

Room Tip: We like the third floor near the laundry room for extended stays. Otherwise, we like the street side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardRochester, General Manager at Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
I would like to say thank you for staying with us at The Courtyard by Marriott Rochester, MN.
We want The Courtyard by Marriott Rochester and its services to run at 100% when it comes to guest satisfaction.
I am glad that my staff and the hotel meet your needs when staying here.
We look forward to a return visit from you. Feel free to stop by my office and introduce yourself.
If there is anything you need to the next time you stay please feel free to contact me.

Thank you,


Michael Rupkey
General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott
Rochester, MN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    29
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
26
18
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Clean, nice bar/lounge/restaurant area. Has all other amenities. Good for a small town!!

Staff was nice and the hotel was overall pretty quiet except during dinner hours.

I would recommend to stay here but ig your are looking for something a tad bit nicer try closer to downtown. Granted we were only about a mile or ten minute walk from downtown.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardRochester, General Manager at Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
I would like to say thank you for staying with us at The Courtyard by Marriott Rochester, MN.
We want The Courtyard by Marriott Rochester and its services to run at 100% when it comes to guest satisfaction.
I am glad that my staff and the hotel meet your needs when staying here.
We look forward to a return visit from you. Feel free to stop by my office and introduce yourself.

Thank you,


Michael Rupkey
General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott
Rochester, MN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed at the Courtyard for a wedding and had a great experience. The staff was friendly and rooms were standard, but fine. The complimentary wireless internet was a nice touch, and parking was reasonable. There is also a very nice bar in the lobby that does have a really cheap happy hour. The bartender was really friendly too. We did use the gym, and they have the tv's on the machines that can hook up to your iphone/ipod. I personally was having some problems figuring out how to get the picture to show up on the screen, but other than that, the gym was fine.

We never walked from the downtown area, but some of our friends did and said it was fine. The hotel is directly across the street from St. Mary's. Overall it was an easy location to make a home base from, and should I come back to Rochester I wouldn't mind staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPImanager, Manager at Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us! We are glad you found our team of associates to be friendly and helpful. We pride ourselves on offering “Outrageous Guest Service” and feel it sets us apart from our competition. It is great that you were able to take advantage of our fitness center and found the equipment accommodating –in the future, please know that our front office staff would be more than happy to assist you with the TV screens on our machines. We are fortunate to be located in such an ideal place for our guests to have quick and easy access to downtown and are happy you agree! We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The room was massive, really loved that and the heating unit was relatively quiet so I enjoyed a good warm night's sleep. This is convenient for St Mary's Hospital visitors and depending on season it is walking distance to downtown. Wireless internet was complimentary as it should be, parking was a more reasonable $4 but once again if you are familiar with the area there is street parking 1 block away in a residential area. Close to a Caribou Coffee. Did not use much of the other onsite amenities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPImanager, Manager at Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us! We appreciate your positive feedback and are pleased you found our guest rooms to be spacious and comfortable for you. We strive to provide the ideal environment for our guests whom are patients, visitors, employees, or volunteers of the clinic - and are happy to hear you agree! We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife had surgery and this hotel was close to Mayo and easily accessible to St. Mary's where you can catch the bus to downtown Mayo or the bus will stop every 30 minutes at the door. The restaurant is excellent and has a great happy hour every day that is a good value. The wireless internet is a bonus and it is quick and easy to connect to. Excellent hotel for the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kjerstin K, Manager at Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments! It is great to hear your positive feedback regarding our location, Food & Beverage options, and high speed internet connection. We make every effort to provide a comfortable, guest friendly environment and are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us! The 5 star review is very much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The staff that work at this hotel really make this place great. The little extra this hotel offers, like free laundry machines to use, make it nice too. My room was clean but could be cleaner. I do not like coming into a room after the last guest and still seeing long hair on the bathroom floor. But again all the other things and the service. I can overlook a few hairs. Nothing a towel couldn't take care of. Jamie and Hanna at the counter are great. So was everyone else but I didnt get their names. I hope ypu enjoy your stay as much as I did. Eat at the resturants in this place. Free Starbucks in the morning by the front door.

Room Tip: The fifth or forth floor with a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kjerstin K, Manager at Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Courtyard by Marriott Rochester, MN. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us provide our guests with the best customer service possible. Our team of associates will be thrilled to hear your positive remarks! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of the many amenities we offer our guests. Thank you again for the kind review and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband recently had surgery at St.Mary's Hospital in Rochester, MN. We chose Courtyard by Marriott for it's close proximity to the hospital. St. Mary's is directly across the street. We stayed in Room 500 a one bedroom suite with a king bed. There is a closet in the bedroom along with a dresser. A chair is also provided in the bedroom. The room was very spacious and located on the backside of the building facing North. Very quiet location. The room was very clean and was kept that way for the whole week. I ate at the restaurant 3 times while my husband was in the hospital. I found the staff to be very pleasant in the restaurant and at the Bistro. The Bistro is great for picking up breakfast items to eat there or take with you to the hospital. There is free coffee/tea in the lobby and an assortment of newspapers. The front desk staff was equally pleasant and helpful. Saying hello each time I left and returned. We will be returning here for lodging/meals for any future surgery.

Room Tip: Room 500 (a corner suite) on the north side was quiet facing the parking lot. I never heard any cars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardRochester, General Manager at Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your observations. I am very proud of my staff and will share with them your kind comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys

Address: 161 13th Avenue SW, Rochester, MN 55902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#14 Family Hotel in Rochester
#15 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys Hotel Rochester
Rochester Courtyard
Rochester Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Rochester Mayo Clinic Area/Saint Marys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.