We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here, now.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area to your Saves list
Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   441 West Center Street, Rochester, MN 55902   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #19 of 55 Hotels in Rochester
Raleigh, NC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Stay here, now.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2007

This hotel is very close to Mayo Clinics. It is very clean, the rooms are spacious, housekeeping staff is excellent, and you can cook in your hotel room kitchen. Some rooms include separate bedrooms.

It also hosts a nightly social in its lobby. And, in the a.m.,free breakfast is served. And it's good quality, not just a few cereal boxes and milk, a high quality breakfast with eggs, pancakes, fruit, oatmeal.

Mayo Clinics is a grouping of buildings within 2-4 blocks of each other. This hotel is two blocks from Charlton (the Methodist Hospital), and 2 from Gondo which is connected to the Mayo Building. Easy walking distance.

I highly recommend this hotel. I was so grateful to have it to return to each day.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    38
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
33
13
16
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, MN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2007

The people who work at this hotel are just amazing! They always have a smile on their face and everyone always has a hello for you.

  • Liked — The employees
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2007

Each year I visit the Mayo Clinic for an Executive Physical Exam. The exam lasts 2 days, requiring 2 nights hotel. The Residence Inn appears to be relatively new, is very clean, has above average room size, and has a small kitchen in each suite. The hotel is an easy walking distance from the Mayo Clinic, using the undergound tunnel system. The Residence Inn is nicer and cheaper that it's sister hotel, the Mariott. The only problem is the parking is a little distance from the hotel... not a problem except in the snow (it snowed about a foot the day I arrived). They have indoor parking as well, but it was full.

The other hotels that are close to the Mayo are very expensive, old, or in most cases both. Next year I will be back to the Residence Inn.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness, space
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2006

Stayed for a week in a two bedroom during Mayo treatment. Hotel is very clean, amenities are all new, flat screen TV, refrigerator, stove, microwave, and dishwasher. This is a Residence Inn so rememeber services are very limited but the staff was helpfull in finding answers or suggestions for all our questions.

Room Service is supposed to come three times a week according to front desk but they serviced the room daily. Rochester is a very small place and supermarket is not near, taxis are very scarce (we waited one ahour for one) so plan ahead all your shoping if you are staying for a while.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2006

The 3 of us (plus the cat) stayed here for 5 nights recently while our son saw a doctor at Mayo.

The decorating is new and upscale. Everything is very clean. We had a 2 bedroom suite with a tv in each bedroom. In the living room was a plasma tv mounted on the wall and a gas fireplace.

The breakfast bar is great with many choices. They try to do something a little different each day - breakfast burritos, biscuits and gravy, cinnamon French toast on Sunday. The afternoon snacks are no frills, but sure do the trick if you're hungry. One day was burgers (burger and a bun with packaged catsup and mustard), another was ceasar salad. Coffee and fruit are available at all hours.

We used the food delivery service from the local restaurants. Get a menu brochure at the front desk. Our favorite was the Italian restaurant, Victoria's. Delivery was within the time promised (up to an hour) and very hot on arrival.

The exercise room was clean and spacious with high quality aerobic equipment and a tv. No weights or universal-type machines however.

Parking is $12/day, but you do have an assigned spot and it's a direct entrance into the lobby.

I've never seen a crew of friendlier, more helpful staff anywhere. There's no business center (you can use the one at the Marriott hotel, but the staff was very accommodating when we needed some small jobs - making a copy, printing from a CD. Everyone - breakfast lady, cleaning crew, front desk - consistently cheerful and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2005

We recently stayed 5 days in the Residence Inn in Rochester while my daughter saw various specialists at the Mayo Clinic. This is a newer hotel, 100% smoke-free, and that makes a huge difference. The beds were very comfortable, with down bedding. The room was very clean, and the hotel was a 5 minute walk to all of our Mayo Clinic visits, super-convenient. We cooked and ate all of our meals in our room (our room had a full kitchen and there is a grocery store close by). They allow dogs in this hotel, and we requested a dog-free room, which supposedly had not had dogs in it ever; that may have been why it seemed so clean. I did not come across too many dogs while we were there - I think most of the dogs brought by people would be therapy dogs, that is, well-trained and mellow, since many visitors are there for appointments at the clinic. There is an exercise room which has 2 treadmills, one elliptical, and one recumbant bike, all in very good condition and all upper-end models. I asked the staff to cool off the exercise room one time and they did it immediately. We also stayed one night in the Bloomington MN Residence Inn and it was not nearly as nice, disgusting actually - I guess the chain is not consistent, but I was very impressed with the Residence Inn in Rochester and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2005

My family stayed at the Residence Inn for 9 days while my husband was a patient at the Mayo Clinic. The hotel was very clean and comfortable---the only drawback is the lack of a pool. (We did visit the pools that Residence Inn customers have access to and recommend the one at the Kahler Grand. The pool at Kahler Executive Suites is too cold and small, the Marriott too far away.) We found the breakfast to be very good with a nice variety. We ate waffles, sausages, bacon, oatmeal, cereal, doughnuts, scrambled eggs, breakfast burritos, bagels, yogurt, fresh fruit and more. Sometimes we couldn't find a table and instead ate in our room, but I didn't mind that. I found the front desk staff to be very friendly and helpful. They gave easy to follow directions and helped us to find local attractions that would appeal to us. Almost everytime we entered they greeted us and it made us feel very welcome. They also gave out dog biscuits with "Residence Inn" stamped on them to our dog. The hotel is pet friendly, but does charge $75 per stay for a pet. Over 9 days, that's much cheaper than a kennel, but would be pretty expensive for just a night or two. The mattresses were very comfortable and we all slept well during our stay. The bathroom was very clean, the towels fluffy and bright white. I didn't use the kitchen much, but it looked well stocked with dishes and utensils. I have no reservations in recommending this hotel to anyone staying in the Rochester area, especially if you are going to the Mayo or need an extra large room for your family. The rate for our room was $119 per night, rates are higher for short stays. For the buget-minded traveler, check out the Microtel Inn & Suites.

  • Stayed June 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area

Address: 441 West Center Street, Rochester, MN 55902
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Rochester
#21 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the comforts of home, all the convenience of a hotel, directly connected to The Mayo Clinic via an underground walkway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area Hotel Rochester
Marriott Rochester
Rochester Marriott
Rochester Residence Inn
Residence Inn Rochester Downtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.