We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place needs more care.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area to your Saves list
Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   441 West Center Street, Rochester, MN 55902   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #11 of 56 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good place needs more care.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

See - georgiadenverite review below. She said it all.

I have history with this hotel and it is slipping. I have recommended it to friends. Staff seems stressed except for front desk who are friendly and helpful.

Common bathrooms, patio and eating area could be cleaner. Room could be cleaner.

Fold out bed was very difficult to open and it was dirty underneath.

Breakfast was a good deal--hot food. Tables need to be cleaned in a more timely fashion.

In the past there seemed to be a manager on duty maybe that is the difference.

Stayed on 6th floor and there was often a strong cooking odor in hallway. It seemed like a kitchen vented into the hallway. Could have been one of the rooms but it seemed to come from a large hallway vent.

Rochester is injecting 5 billion (that is right billion) into their economy. Major changes are coming.

This is a great place if you are going to Mayo. A direct tunnel to their building. They offer a free grocery shopping service for free.

Room Tip: There is a construction project next to hotel. The first night they worked in the evening very loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    43
    7
    6
    4
See reviews for
41
16
20
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ames, Iowa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

First time I stayed here. Seemed newly updated to the fact that I thought this was a new property. The room was huge with full refrig and kitchen. Staff was friendly and helpful. Parking was a little pricey but then again it's downtown. Walking distance to Mayo and a lot of restaurants. Breakfast was good and had a lot of variety. Would stay again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This Residence Inn is either on the brink of becoming an excellent property or teetering on becoming an average hotel. Here's our assessment - pros and cons - and why we made this statement.

Pros:
1. Location - Very near to the main Mayo Clinic buildings and has underground "subway" access, too. It's a three block walk to Mayo with a Caribou Coffee about 1.5 blocks away and a Starbucks about 2.5 blocks away in the Kahler Hotel.

2. Parking - There is outdoor parking as well as limited indoor parking. Nice not to worry about that aspect of our visit. It does cost money for both - so, beware!

3. Lauralee - the Front Desk "Hostess" - she was friendly, informative, interested, and alert. She gave us a ton of eating tips, shopping tips, and "tourist" tips. She seemed genuinely interested in our well-being and satisfaction. I noticed that she was personable to all of the guests, and everyone liked her positive, upbeat attitude.

4. This property has been refurbished and has two flat-screen tv's in the room along with modern, updated furniture.

5. Rates aren't inexpensive, but they do have a discounted rate for longer stays which brings the prices down significantly, and is appreciated by people who are here for longer than 5 days.

Cons:

1. The Communal Breakfast Area and kitchen is not well-managed. The food is typical Residence Inn; however, it's not served efficiently and the Staff doesn't seem to remember to re-fresh the empty containers on a regular basis in the AM. In fact, the entire serving area is somewhat unkempt, and borders on slightly "dirty". No one from the Hotel stands in the Breakfast area to greet the guests, tidy up, or help people in any way. It was a real turn-off - especially in light of the many Mayo patients who stay here - sanitation and customer service should be Number One in this part of the hotel.

2. While the rooms are relatively new, if you look closely, housekeeping could be doing a much better job of cleaning up in between guests. The fronts of our kitchen and bathroom vanities had stains on them, the bathroom floor wasn't that clean, and the kitchen appliances had grit and grim on them. Again, on first blush it all appeared okay. It was only after staying here and using the room facilities that we noticed these things - including our bathroom door which didn't shut tightly or without shoving it shut.

3. We would have loved to have a new bed, too. Again, I would assume that many people who stay here are in their rooms a great deal due to long-term staying clients/patients at Mayo. Most hotels don't have these types of clients - which results in greater wear-and-tear on beds, and the overall sleeping room, etc. Our bed was definitely lop-sided, and in need of replacement, probably due to the reasons previously stated.

While I might consider staying here again, and wouldn't rule it out, I will read future reviews to see if things have improved or if they haven't. There are many other hotels in the area to choose from. Hopefully, the new owners will invest some time, attention, and money into making this a great property for future Mayo Clinic and other guests. It has the potential to go back up with a little bit of tweaking!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Located in excellent proximity to the Mayo clinic buildings, this is a nice pleasant spot for long term stays. It's equipped with a perfect large fridge/freezer and cooking range. Room is decently clean, but kitchen area was not cleaned properly. Only after pointing out to the cleaning crew did they return to redo under the sink area. Overall stay was pleasant, nice friendly staff but abit overpriced. I guess it boils down to demand and supply...
I would return here again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thunder bay ontario
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is the first time in a few years that we have stayed at this property. It has been redecorated , which is nice and We enjoyed the new decor and the Cleanliness that comes with it. The service left something to be desired, but was not a deal breaker. I would say we will be back but have heard the hotel is being sold, so I guess it will depend on how that develops. Easy access to Mayo Clinic made this stay very pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The Residence Inn is newly renovated with easy access for anyone with a disability. The rooms were very clean, The staff was helpful and pleasant. The rooms have many plugs to charge phones and computers which is nice for a change. The breakfast is ok and very busy. Overall it was a pleasant stay and easy to walk to Mayo or restaurants downtown.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This newly renovated hotel is clean and has nice amenities like a kitchenette. This was very convenient as we need to feed our disabled son in the room. They also have indoor parking (for a fee) but it was very helpful on a rainy day. We also had convenient access (one stop on the elevator) to the "subway" which allows access to the Mayo buildings (and others) without having to go outside in the elements. The continental breakfast was very good and also helped to make this a very convenient stay. We will probably stay here again on future Mayo visits.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area

Address: 441 West Center Street, Rochester, MN 55902
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Rochester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#14 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the comforts of home, all the convenience of a hotel, directly connected to The Mayo Clinic via an underground walkway. Our all suites hotel offers full kitchens in every room as well as complimentary breakfast, a lounge area and an outdoor patio to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area Hotel Rochester
Marriott Rochester
Rochester Marriott
Rochester Residence Inn
Residence Inn Rochester Downtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Rochester Mayo Clinic Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.