We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The people are nice here.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   155 16th Ave SW, Rochester, MN 55902   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #24 of 56 Hotels in Rochester
Lansing, MI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The people are nice here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

After researching the options for a visit to the Mayo Clinic - I found this to be the best deal that is still within "skywalk" walking distance. One thing that I was consistently happy with was the people here at this hotel - they were extremely accommodating. I'd like to acknowledge, Jeremy, out front desk specialist who was very helpful, but everyone was nice from, Shannon, our housekeeper, Beth who waited on me at the restaurant, Nick the nighttime service staff and the helpful maintenance supervisor, Gaylen! I felt appreciated by the staff. Its also very close to the parking garage. The bar/restaurant seems to be well attended by locals - so that means there is something good about it.

I only have some minor critiques but these don't merit much weight in your decision at potentially booking this hotel. There is no hot-tub. The internet is a little slow. Overall the hotel is on the verge of being a little outdated.

Room Tip: Ask to have a view of the Mayo Tower. At night its lighted and very pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    21
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
15
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois USA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

My wife and I stayed here the night of 10 October. Our room was number 421.
Even though we were on the 4th floor, traffic noise from outside was not an issue. Nor was noise from the room heating unit. The room was very comfortable and the bed and pillows were great. Our bathroom was very clean but the decor of the room is very dark counter top, etc. I could have used a little more light while shaving in the morning.

The hotel was busy but the elevator was not congested. Breakfast was very good however seating seems limited. The staff did a good job of keeping the breakfast choices stocked.

Here is a tip: The hotel has a heated parking garage under the hotel. While we did not have snow when we were there, it saved me from having to scrape frost off the car's windows.

Room Tip: Our room was fine, see my review. .... No idea what other rooms are like in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melany L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
Dear B_Maurice,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites -
Rochester West Medical. All of our guest comments help us to guide and direct our operations staff.

You mention my two favorite amenities at our hotel. I love our Express Start Breakfast. We have wonderful healthy options as well as our delicious cinnamon rolls. Our underground parking is amazing specailly during those cold months in Minnesota.

Again, thank you for the opportunity to serve you and my staff and I look forward to hosting you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubrey, Texas
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

If you stay here, make sure your room isn't facing the freeway. I think they forgot to sound proof the rooms. The noise level is really high and makes it hard to sleep. It sounds if the cars are in the room with you. Other than that the bed and pillow are comfy but that's the only good thing I can say.

Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melany L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Dear JohnluvsAK,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites -
Rochester West Medical. All of our guest comments help us to guide and direct our operations staff.

We apologize for the inconvenience you had during your stay. We do offer white noice machines and ear plugs.

Again, thank you for the opportunity to serve you and my staff and I look forward to hosting you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

This is a nice HIE. It seems new. Plenty of free parking. Spacious rooms. Exercise room and pool. Free shuttle to The Clinic. It has a sub shop and pizza joint in the shopping area in front of the hotel.
A little tricky to get into. Good rates with free WIFI. It features a rather extensive complimentary breakfast. Business center.
This was the least expensive and with the most benefits of the similar places I searched in Rochester.
We were able to leave early and we had no problems canceling the balance of our reservation. I would recommend.

Room Tip: I am not sure exactly where the quiet rooms are located. We were on the front on the ground floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melany L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Dear Plaztik,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites -
Rochester West Medical. All of our guest comments help us to guide and direct our operations staff.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are right of Highway 52. Thank you so much for mentioning all our amenities. The Express Start Breakfast is my favorite amenity. We have great healthy options.

Again, thank you for the opportunity to serve you and my staff and I look forward to hosting you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

The hotel was great , staff very nice and only two blks. from St Mary's hospital.
But I will never book with hotels -rates. com ever again . The person taking my reservation was high pressure up selling a discount card. Would not take no. My husband was very sick and all I wanted was a room.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melany L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Dear Laurel H,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites -
Rochester West Medical. All of our guest comments help us to guide and direct our operations staff.

We apologize for the inconvenience you had while making your reservation. If you ever come through town please do not hesitate to call the hotel directly.

Again, thank you for the opportunity to serve you and my staff and I look forward to hosting you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taranto, Italy
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

A pity: this hotel could have gotten at least 4 stars, but it's not fair to be given such a room just because we were on points.
Anyways, the hotel is clean, comfortable and probably with nice(r) rooms (I guess). Breakfast is included and the food variety is good. The staff was kind, though a bit distracted...
The location is easily reachable from highways and interstates and one can reach Downtown Rochester after a 20-minute walk.
I'd give it a second chance.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melany L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites -
Rochester West Medical. All of our guest comments help us to guide and direct our operations staff.

We apologize for the inconvenience you had during your stay. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand. We definitely like to upgrade our IHG Club members when there is availability.

Again, thank you for the opportunity to serve you and my staff and I look forward to hosting you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The rooms were clean with updated bath, free breakfast and helpful staff...plus parking was free and there were restaurants within walking distance. Easy drive from airport and convenient to access to major highway. Did not hear any traffic noise, but we were on the parking lot side of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melany L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Dear Flipflopcasa,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our Holiday Inn Express & Suites -
Rochester West Medical. All of our guest comments help us to guide and direct our operations staff.

We are glad you were able to enjoy our Start Express Breakfast bar. We are conveniently located in town. Thank you so much for mentioning my staff. I will make sure to pass your comment on to them.

Again, thank you for the opportunity to serve you and my staff and I look forward to hosting you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center

Address: 155 16th Ave SW, Rochester, MN 55902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 56 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rochester West-Medical Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.