We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely grounds all the time. Nice place for a party or meeting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plummer House

Plummer House
1091 Plummer Lane S.W., Rochester, MN 55902
507-328-2525
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 17 Attractions in Rochester
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Rochester, MN
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely grounds all the time. Nice place for a party or meeting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The grounds are beautiful and usually you can just show up and walk around. You can also rent the building for receptions, parties, etc. It's a very unique venue and user friendly. Not a lot of rules and regulations (the park board books it)

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    17
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“a quick outing at no cost”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The house was closed when we were there so we walked the grounds. There was what appeared to be a wedding reception going on in the upper gardens so we didn't go that way, so we were only able to explore the lower gardens which were nice with two reflecting pools. It was a real quick outing, I thought there would be more to see, but it didn't cost anything.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murderapolis
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“What A Little Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My fiance and I were visiting Rochester recently, While driving around town, we noticed a huge tower up on a hill. We figured out this was the Plummer House. We decided to go and check it out. Thankfully there were very easy to locate signs that helped us find our way up the windy hills and streets to get to it. The building exteriors and gardens are open to the public for self tours. Since we went on a Thursday, the interior of the mansion was closed. [It's only open to the public on Wednesdays...bummer! Check their website for full information] This place is so incredibly visually stunning! The gardens are inviting and the structures are magnificient...reminiscent of times gone by. My only complaint is that we had to Google information about what we had seen once we got home since there were really no informational signs posted along the way. It's a place to put on your 'to do' list while visiting the city...for sure. It does consist of a lot of walking and in some places...rocky/uneven terrain...so people with walking limitations or if you have young children in strollers...may have a hard time seeing the majority of it. Very lovely estate, architecture and grounds.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

The building is a work of art , starting with the outside and then the elevators I just love the work in its doors anr the Carrillon its just beautiful and a real nice experience

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting inside and outside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The Plummer House gives a good insight into life at the turn of the century. The grounds are beautifully maintained with lush gardens and secluded areas for reflection.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plummer House also viewed

 

Been to Plummer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plummer House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.