We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Efficient to the max!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mayo Clinic

Mayo Clinic
Rochester, MN
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Attractions in Rochester
Type: Architectural Buildings, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
Attraction details
Evansville, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Efficient to the max!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Went to Mayo clinic in February for some serious GI problems and it was the best medical experience I've ever had! I brought a book to read because I figured I would spend a lot of time in waiting rooms, but that was not the case! I think the longest I ever had to wait was about 10 minutes.
Since I traveled from Indiana, the scheduling lady in the GI department was AMAZING at getting all my appointments and procedures done in just a few days so that we could get all of our results and return home as soon as possible.
The people there were so incredible! Everywhere you turn there was always someone to help you find your way. Every interaction was positive!
I'm going back in 2 weeks for a follow-up! Actually looking forward to it!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    630
    38
    16
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockwall, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Has to be "Best Place on Earth" for Medical Care”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We came here for the first time a couple of years ago, after disappointments with our then-current physician. The first impression is that you are in a world-class hotel, not a hospital... spacious corridors, tasteful decorations, friendly staff, and what must be the most-efficient model of health card anywhere.

This place runs like a well-made Swiss watch; in one day they seem to accomplish what might take multiple days/visits in a conventional medical setting. Any tests needed are conducted in the AM, results in the computer by ealry afternoon in time for the doctor's review and consultations. Wow! And all a patient'd doctors are 'connected' in a continuous loop to insure the best possible outcome and care.

We talk about the BILLIONS of wasted dollars in health care in the US; we should look to Mayo as a model to fix that. Extraordinary, in that it has been working that way for decades and most healthcare practices have yet to adopt it.

If you need anything health related, we heartily recommend Mayo.

PS If you don't need healthcare, it's stll worth a visit! The place holds a museum's worth of exhibits, artwork, Dale Chilhuly glass sculptor, etc. in an extremely well-architected and well-lit space.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tour of Mayo Clinic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Having read many reviews on Mayo Clinic, I am proud to add Mayo Clinic brought us to live in this state. Every praise reviewed here by the travelers to Mayo Clinic is absolutely true. Their motto stil can be found on the walls says "The best interest of the patient is the only interest to be considered.” Mayo clinic has a daily guided tour of the place that gives the history of its conception leading to the present day. Worth watching the 15 minute film at the start of the tour in the Judd Auditorium of Mayo Buidling daily at 10 a.m. There is also an art tour around 1 p.m. worth taking. After this tour, another worthwhile visit would be to the Mayowood Mansion, with another short film that depicts the personal lives of Drs. Mayo and Mayo with their family. We highly recommend all to find time between the appointments and take the first two tours and the mansion can be visited on weekends.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Mayo Clinic awesome: Most accommodating staff--very patient oriented.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife had appointments and procedures spread over three days. She had thorough interviews and procedure descriptions by all medical staff encountered. We will return for follow-up with another expert later this week.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Top Contributor
512 reviews 512 reviews
283 attraction reviews
Reviews in 177 cities Reviews in 177 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“BEST CLINIC IN U.S.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Appts are always on time, professtional staff and very qualified doctors! Diagnosis is always right on. Everyone is so caring.
Been coming here for the past 8 years.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mayo Clinic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayo Clinic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.