We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable home away from home...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aspen Suites Rochester

Save Saved
You added Aspen Suites Rochester to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aspen Suites Rochester
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1211 Second Street SW, Rochester, MN 55902 (Formerly Staybridge Suites Rochester)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Rochester
Huntsville, AL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable home away from home...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My daughter and I stayed here the week of August 18th. We were very comfortable throughout the visit. From the charming lobby to the immaculate room, we were quite happy with the stay. The staff were helpful and friendly. The room was equipped with a full size refrigerator, 2 burner stove, microwave and dishwasher. Silverware, dishes, paper towels, dishwashing liquid, microwavable bowls were all included.

The room was quiet enough, and my daughter and I really enjoyed relaxing in the room. The television had more than the usual number of channels for a hotel, which provided low key entertainment for us.

Every weeknight evening, the staff prepares some sort of treat ranging from Chex Mix to grilled burgers.

Breakfast was good, and the dining area was ample.

I love the location! Walking distance to St. Mary's with Mayo Shuttle service at the hotel. Two yummy restaurants are on either side of the hotel. It was also within a reasonable walk to the main Mayo Clinic and the upscale shops there.

Parking was in a locked underground garage which felt secure and meant we stayed cool and dry as we accessed our car. We liked it so much that we've rebooked the hotel for another visit to the Rochester area soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    25
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
60
14
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Aspen Suites is a clean, immaculately maintained facility with a very courteous staff,
frequent shuttle services and a breakfast worthy of any cafe. Our suite had a mini, fully equipped
kitchen. The cleaning staff also provided microwave popcorn, tea and coffee. A small canister in the cupboard was filled with sugar-free sweetner. The refrigerator is full size as is the microwave.
The cupboards contained ample dishes, glasses, cups, bowls, cooking utensils and eating utensils to prepare meals for a family of four. The breakfasts included most items on a diner's breakfast menu.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 4th frloor. It was quiet, Our only complaint was that the air conditioner blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and had to go to Mayo for testing. I wanted a clean and quiet atmosphere, as we were dealing with enough stress and did not want any commotion or disorder. I researched for many hours and found Aspen Suites. I am very happy we stayed at Aspen, clean, quiet, everything you need for extended stay or short term. Price was good, shuttle service on time, staff was kind and helpful. Thank you Aspen for making our stay pleasant!! When your dealing with a stressful health issue it's nice to have a little comfort. I will recommend it highly.

Room Tip: parking free and many perks. like kitchenette with dishwasher etc. and evening snacks and breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I recently enjoyed a three night stay at Aspen Suites. The entire staff was courteous and attentive. The facility was clean and well maintained. The room amenities (including full size refrigerator and kitchenette) allowed for alternatives to dining out for every meal. The morning breakfast offerings were plentiful. Each evening there was a different hospitality/ snack offering. Outdoor patio with grill for guest use and secure underground parking were nice perks. Aspen suites is located about 1/2 mile from Mayo Clinic and downtown. While there is an exercise room and hot tub, there is no pool. Overall, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in a 2 bed 2 bath suite for 8 nights. Compared to other places that offer 2 bed 2 bath -- the price is excellent for the quality/size of the space. The room was pleasantly decorated, clean and quiet. Very handy to have a full size fridge, dishwasher etc so we could bring in a few groceries and have a few simple meals in the room. This is especially nice for longer stays. Indoor parking and free laundry room also a plus. Staff are very pleasant and helpful -- and offered flexibility in checkout date, which was dependent on the unpredictable scheduling of and recovery from surgery. Extremely convenient if you have business at the St. Mary's Hospital campus. And the trip downtown to other Mayo facilities is easy/quick -- plus there's a shuttle if you prefer that. An added plus -- there are good restaurant options within steps of the front door (Tonic and Canadian Honker both do a nice job). If I had to make a return trip to Mayo, I'd stay here again!

Room Tip: We asked for a top floor room to be sure we wouldn't hear anyone above us. Note -- the hallway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My parents stayed here a month while my dad had a transplant at Mayo. They were very happy with the hotel, from the friendly housekeepers to the fact they allow pets.

The place is updated and clean and the shuttle service was very handy for the many clinic appointments they needed to get to.

The free covered parking was also a nice benefit. The only issue was that the one bedroom suite was a tad cramped. It really isn't much bigger than a typical hotel room that has been sectioned off.

The smallest thing about it was the bathroom. The commode and tub/shower are separate from the sink and vanity and even my 95 pound mother found the bathroom so tiny that she lost her balance navigating the tight spaces and fell partways into the tub.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is close to the Mayo Clinic. We stayed in a suite with two Queen size beds. It has a stove, refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, and sink. There are two TV's. They have free laundry and a great free breakfast and coffee. For coffee lovers there is a Caribou Coffee shop next door and great restaurants. We are coming back in August to the Mayo and will be staying here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aspen Suites Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Suites Rochester

Address: 1211 Second Street SW, Rochester, MN 55902 (Formerly Staybridge Suites Rochester)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rochester
#3 Family Hotel in Rochester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aspen Suites Rochester 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Aspen Suites in Rochester, MN! Located just off of Highway 52 and less than 10 miles from the Rochester International Airport. Whether you are in town on leisure or business travel, we invite you to experience our award winning hotel which is conveniently located directly across the street from St. Marys Hospital and less than 1 mile from downtown and the Mayo Clinic. Local businesses include IBM, Schmidt Printing, Kemps, Benchmark, University of Minnesota Rochester, and Rochester Community and Technical College.The Aspen Suites is an all suite hotel designed to let travelers feel more comfortable! Guests may choose from our studio, one bedroom, and the two bedroom/two bathroom suites; all featuring fully-equipped kitchens complete with full size refrigerators, 2 burner stoves, microwave oven and utensils.Our spacious living areas offer comfortable furniture and televisions with a DVD player. All rooms come with free high-speed Internet (wired and wireless), two phone lines with a direct dial phone number and personalized voice mail, ample closet space and storage areas, 24-hour business center with computer terminals, complimentary guest laundry, fitness center, and whirlpool spa. All guests will enjoy a free deluxe continental breakfast every morning and an evening Suite Social on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday evenings where we serve a light snack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Otel so you can book your Aspen Suites Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Rochester Hotel Rochester
Rochester Staybridge Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspen Suites Rochester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.