We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wildwood Sports Bar & Grill

Wildwood Sports Bar & Grill
1517 16th St SW, Next to Tjmaxx Plaza, Rochester, MN 55902
+1 507-226-8380
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #95 of 239 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Rochester, MN
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This place is at the Ramada, and on the inside it looks like a typical sports bar; however, it has great food. Ramada used to have another restaurant on the otherside of the complex called Teresa's. It recently closed, but the chef moved over to Wildwood; so, if you liked Teresa's, the menu at Wildwood will seem very familiar.

If you like sitting outside, Wildwood has a nice outdoor patio, too. It also has two sand volleyball courts, if that's what you're into.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    9
    3
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No service..?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

My sisters and I heard about Wildwood and decided we would give it a try since none of us had been here before..we were greeted by a friendly woman who seated us w/menu's..we sat at our table looking over the menu and not one waitress came to our table to even ask us if we needed any beverages...we sat there for 20 minutes before getting up and walking out...not one of the many waitresses once checked on our table...there was a total of4tables(including ours)in the entire place..so..it wasn't like it was so busy in there...yet as we were walking out..employees came out of the kitchen like"where are they going"..we figured the waitresses would rather finish their conversations instead of helping us...we will not be back!!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim N, Owner at Wildwood Sports Bar & Grill, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Hello bello1378,
I saw your review and wanted to take a moment to apologize for the lack of service you received. We try to hold ourselves at Wildwood to high level of customer service and quality of food. I appreciate the feedback you posted and show us an area that we need to improve on. I understand your being disatisfied with our service it is never easy to return to a business that your are treated poorly, I hope that you give us another chance to change your opinion of us.
Thank you,
Jim Nicholas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

Can't wait to go back! We had a great experience and even brought the kids.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim N, Owner at Wildwood Sports Bar & Grill, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Thank you for the comments on our food and kid freindly atmosphere. We pride ourselves on offering quality food in a casual kid friendly atmosphere. Please stop in and see us again. please like us on facebbook to keep up to date on specials.
Thank you,
Jim Nicholas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Sports bar with very nice menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

A group of parents went here after a high school baseball game. We made a reservation and a table was set up with a named plaque. Nice touch. This has a sports bar look and feel. It is a wide open layout with several TV's. The service was fast and friendly. The menu was a pleasant surprise. It included much more than just the basic burger and pizza sports bar menu. I had the "Uptown Girl" sandwich which was turkey and sliced apples on cranberry wheat bread with a light creme cheese spread and a side of sweet potato fries. It was unusual and refreshing. The patio has promise for group events and if they match their decor more to their menu, they should do well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim N, Owner at Wildwood Sports Bar & Grill, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Thank you for the positve comments! We love to here how we are doing. The Patio has been opened up with the addition of a firepit, new furniture, and now offering live music on the patio every Tuesday evening from 6-9. Please stop in and see us again!
Thank you,
Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Gross”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

The place is new so we thought we'd give it a try. It's a bar...not a restaurant. It was a Friday night and they were busy. It was a mix of people eating and those that were just there to drink. It took a while for us to be acknowledged. We had heard that they were offering a cajun menu in honor of Fat Tuesday and so we ordered a crab cake to share. Worst crab cake ever!! I couldn't quite describe the taste...it was strange until my bro-in-law announced that it tasted like crab flavored mashed potatoes! Then our meal came and I shared a plate of nachos with my sister and I'm not quite sure what the marinated mystery meat was on the nachos but it about made me gag. After a couple of beers and a lousy meal I got the bill for almost $50...I felt so ripped off that I wanted to go and eat a real meal. It wasn't even bar food...you can stomach greasy bar food. I wouldn't eat there again. Plus as I mentioned before, it's a bar, not a restaurant. I watched families come in and wait at the door to be seated and not once did the wait staff tell any of them that it was seat yourself. They just left everyone standing in a huge pile at the door. Finally they all gave up and went somewhere else.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim N, Owner at Wildwood Sports Bar & Grill, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Hello Deadiebear,
I noticed your Review and wanted to apologize for the eveing that you had back in March. I am happy to inform you that we have revamped our nacho's and use only Fresh Grilled Chicken or Top Sirloin. I Appreciate your comments and we have begun working on Greeting people Faster when they come in as well being more kid friendly. Please stop in and see us again.
Thank you,
Jim Nicholas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wildwood Sports Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Wildwood Sports Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildwood Sports Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.