We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and a Wonderful Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Carpet Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Red Carpet Inn to your Saves list
Red Carpet Inn
2214 South Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 55 Hotels in Rochester
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Value and a Wonderful Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

You can't beat the value you get here! Very reasonably priced and you get everything you need in a hotel. The bathroom looked like it had just been remodeled and it was a very quiet, cozy atmosphere. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodated everything that we needed. This is very important to me, as I have a background in customer service and receiving high-quality service is something that I take seriously. Good location as it is close to a lot of restaurants and a Wal-Mart. I would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    24
    10
    4
    10
See reviews for
24
13
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kearney, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

You can't beat the value of this place. For a low price (ask for the Mayo rate) you get a clean and safe place to stay. Rooms are on the small side, furnishings are a bit worn, but the staff is friendly, the appliances work, and the shuttle runs regularly to the Mayo.

A few suggestions: if someone in your party is disabled, ask for a ground floor room. If you're travelling alone and can't negotiate stairs very well, then stay somewhere else; ditto if it's winter and an icy parking lot will be an issue. (I always stay at the Kahler Inn & Suites in winter -- much more expensive, but connects directly to the Mayo.)

No frills, but you're not paying for them.

Room Tip: If you can't handle stairs, ask for a ground-level room. But not 101 -- noise from folks using...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth, mi
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Passing through Rochester we chose this hotel based on reviews and our tight budget. It's a simple place without a whole lot to offer, but it's clean and convenient. The parking lot is shared with some apartments of some sort, and there was riff-raff drinking beers and smoking cigarettes, which was a little off-putting. It wasn't a huge issue, but just a little strange.

The woman at the front desk was very friendly and nice. She was a joy both checking in and out.

The room with 2 beds was $10 more than the ones with 1 bed. It was a spacious room, though dated. It was roasting hot when I walked in, but I cranked the air and it was habitable when I returned to the room a few hours later. They provide shampoo packets and tiny soaps. The shower needed a de-mildew treatment, but it wasn't awful. Just not really clean. My colleague in another room went to make coffee and found a moldy science experiment growing in the coffee pot in his room - from some visitor long ago. Yuk. The breakfast bar was nothing to speak of. Some stale pastries and coffee.

So this might all sound awful, but in the end, for the price, it was fine. Not a romantic destination hotel, but for some dudes passing through town in business looking for a bed and a shower it was fine. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Excellent! Over all. Stayed here a week ago with my brother and mother It only took about 10 minutes to get to my sisters home. Manger was extremely nice. The rooms were extremely clean and priced right at for 2 queens, This one was an excellent bargan and experience. It was easy to get and and at night it was very quite.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

For my thoughts, see the below email I sent to the franchise president

I stayed at the above location on 6/14. I booked the hotel thru Kayak. With all of the hotel chains in Rochester, I had the "good fortune" to chose yours. It was one of the most disgusting hotels that I have ever stayed in. The furnishings looked liked they were picked up at a "tag" sale. The bedspread was filthy and hadn't been washed in months. The area under the refrigerator had visible mold. In adddition, the security lock entering the building was broken, so outsiders could just walk in.

Your company obviously has high standards, and I am sure that you hold your franchisees accountable to those standards. You can count on me never staying in one of your hotel brands again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Excellent! Over all. You can walk next door to wally world. Manger was extremely nice. The room looked extreamly clean or new and was priced right at $62.00 for 2 queens and only 12 min from St. Marys hospital. This one was an excellent bargan and experience.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

I paid for a dirty disgusting room with no TV channels that were not filled with static. 3 hours later I was told that my grandmother was dying and I had to leave. Not only was I given no refund but I was given the third degree about a key I had already turned in. I'd rather stay at the Bates motel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedCarpetInnMN, General Manager at Red Carpet Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear brutaalchevy,

Thank you for taking time to write a review regarding your stay with us. I apologize that your stay was not up to your standards. That being said, I would like to clarify that your review was written out of anger for a refund that was not given for just cause. You came to Rochester during Saturday afternoon to announce the fights at the Graham Arena for the evening. I was the individual working the desk when you came in at 2 a.m. after announcing the fights early morning after an evening out in order to get another key as you had left yours in the room before you left earlier that day. The next morning after being exhausted and not feeling well you paid for another night so you could rest. Later that evening you came to check out so you could drive home rested. Making an excuse for your grandmother is not just. Unfortunately we do not give you your money back 7 hours after checkout because you are rested. I apologize for your inconvenience, but that is simple policy. Regarding our TV channels, we do in fact have extended cable and HBO in all of our rooms, I apologize if you had some static it could have been a simple connection problem in the back of the TV. We have a 24 hour maintenance that would have been more than glad to come to the room and take a look at the issue for you IF they had known you were having an issue, and if they were unable to fix it we would have moved you to a room that was more suitable. I apologize for the inconvenience. If you have any further questions or concerns please contact me at 507.282.7448.

Thank you,
Amit Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Carpet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn

Address: 2214 South Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Carpet Inn is conveniently located just 2 miles from the Mayo Clinic and downtown Rochester, yet it sits away from the congestion of the downtown area. Those who are wishing to stay close to the Rochester Civic Center, the Rochester Fairgrounds, the Rochester Graham Arena Complex, Rochester Technical and Community College, and the University of Minnesota-Rochester will find our facilities to be the perfect place to end the day. The Red Carpet Inn is also located nearby several shopping centers; and a wide array of dining is just minutes away. Come Relax in Rochester at the Red Carpet Inn. Our facilities offer Clean, Quite, and Comfortable rooms with Friendly Service. The Red Carpet Inn's facilities are 100% NON-SMOKING and PET FREE. FREE WI-FI internet in ALL rooms! Amenities Include:>Free Courtesy Shuttle to Mayo Clinic and Hospitals.>Clinic patient, AARP, and Senior Citizen Discount Rates.>Complimentary Continental Breakfast.>Free Wireless Internet in all Rooms and Public Areas.>Free Local Calls>Microwave, Mini-fridge, and Coffee Pot in every room.>Free On-Site Parking.>Kitchenettes upon availability.>Guest Laundry>27" Remote Televisions with Extended Cable and HBO.>Restaurants & Shopping nearby.>Individual Climate Control - Heating and A/C.>Recliners in all rooms.>Weekly and Monthly Discount Rates>Hair Dryer, Iron, and Ironing Board available upon request.>Wake Up Service, and Alarm Clocks in all rooms.>Ice Machine, Snack, and Soda vendors on premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Red Carpet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Hotel Rochester
Red Carpet Inn Rochester
Rochester Red Carpet Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Carpet Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.