We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Carpet Inn

Save Saved
You added Red Carpet Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Carpet Inn
2214 South Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 53 hotels in Rochester
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not a good experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This hotel is not ADA compliant. If you are traveling with disabled people, it is difficult to manuever. I will say the room was clean but very worn and out-dated. Our furnishings did not match the photos on the web site. The refrigerator, microwave, and coffee pot were old. The pillows flat, the sheets and blankets were PINK and old. It was 87 degrees in our room and there was no way to turn off the electric base board heaters. The recliner was old and worn and propped up against a wall. The complimentary breakfast was Hostess danishes set on a plate on the front desk. I checked my credit card the day after checkout and found an extra $75 charge on it. I had to call back twice to get an answer and was told that I had broken the recliner in my room - the one that was propped up against the wall that we didn't dare sit in.
Definitely would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    24
    10
    3
    9
See reviews for
23
13
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Verona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed here by myself as a married female not knowing the area of Rochester at all. It was a little scarey to not have the main doors lock after say 10 pm and key cards needing to be used after this designated time. This motel is in the older area of Rochester and HAD I been traveling with my husband, would've felt more comfortable. Rooms were ok, not updated by any means but had all the ammenities of a "chain" motel. Front desk staff was SUPER-NICE! If you are a female traveling alone and staying here for more than 3 days, I'd go elsewhere to feel a little safer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandmahenry
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed for one night in a lovely super clean room. Huge bed, coffee maker, fridge and a gorgeous old dresser. Our room was quiet and seemed freshly painted. It's not fancy but it was comfy, the air worked really well. We would definitely stay there again. The pillows were a bit hard and the breakfast minimal but it was great value for the money! The room even had a RECLINER!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The price is great. The rooms are being updated one project at a time. Newer carpet and updated bathroom. There are still things for them to do. Take this into account when you book.. No elevator..
Amit and his mom are over and above helpful. They are the best....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseau
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

It is a great place to stay. Comfortable bed. Nice clean room and no smoking in the building at all. The rates are excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was adequate. Nice shower. The refrigerator and microwave worked just fine. There is a recliner, a table and chairs and TV in each room. We enjoyed our stay as it was a good place to come back to after a long day at the Mayo clinic. The shuttle bus is a great feature.

Room Tip: We have stayed twice. Once in 111 and next in 112. Very nice rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, Missouri
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I recently spent three nights at the Red Carpet Inn during a trip to the Mayo Clinic. It is an older building with no luxuries--a truly basic, economy motel. It is very clean and quiet (unless you are there on a Friday night). The owners went above and beyond by graciously giving us some milk and yougart from their personal stache, as the motel can't serve those items due to not having a kitchen.

The motel did have shuttle service for Mayo Clinic, but we drove since the times didn't work well with our clinic schedule.

The only drawback I encountered was the air conditioning in the room. It didn't cool as much as I would have liked, but it was sufficient. There was a lot of noise from someone banging on doors for over thirty minutes on Friday night. But, you might experience that anywhere you stay. The upside was the service, the clean room, comfortable bed, and wonderful shower. I'd suggest staying on the first floor. My Mom stayed on the level above the office, and the room needed updating and was warm.

For a price of $44.00 a night, it can't be beat.

Room Tip: I would stay on the first floor. The room above the lobby was not updated and a little too warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago IL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed at the Red Carpet Inn for one night, as we had a wedding in Rochester. The motel is very average at the most, rooms had a standard bed. Check in was very easy and service was nice. The common areas and hallways are not Air conditioned which causes the building to smell very mildew and moist. The room was okay, newly updated bathroom, all the AC's are quite old as they are window units, they do not get very cold but it is manageable. The bed was mediocre and decor was as well. The rooms could have been kept cleaner, mattress was stained in area's carpet, etc. The motel is very outdated.

Overall: You really get what you pay for, with that being i would definitely of spent 10-20 more to stay at a more comfortable hotel. If you are looking for cheapest hotel in the area this is the place. The service and employee's were very nice.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and go north up the road, there are more modern and more comfortable hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Carpet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn

Address: 2214 South Broadway, Rochester, MN 55904
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Carpet Inn is conveniently located just 2 miles from the Mayo Clinic and downtown Rochester, yet it sits away from the congestion of the downtown area. Those who are wishing to stay close to the Rochester Civic Center, the Rochester Fairgrounds, the Rochester Graham Arena Complex, Rochester Technical and Community College, and the University of Minnesota-Rochester will find our facilities to be the perfect place to end the day. The Red Carpet Inn is also located nearby several shopping centers; and a wide array of dining is just minutes away. Come Relax in Rochester at the Red Carpet Inn. Our facilities offer Clean, Quite, and Comfortable rooms with Friendly Service. The Red Carpet Inn's facilities are 100% NON-SMOKING and PET FREE. FREE WI-FI internet in ALL rooms! Amenities Include:>Free Courtesy Shuttle to Mayo Clinic and Hospitals.>Clinic patient, AARP, and Senior Citizen Discount Rates.>Complimentary Continental Breakfast.>Free Wireless Internet in all Rooms and Public Areas.>Free Local Calls>Microwave, Mini-fridge, and Coffee Pot in every room.>Free On-Site Parking.>Kitchenettes upon availability.>Guest Laundry>27" Remote Televisions with Extended Cable and HBO.>Restaurants & Shopping nearby.>Individual Climate Control - Heating and A/C.>Recliners in all rooms.>Weekly and Monthly Discount Rates>Hair Dryer, Iron, and Ironing Board available upon request.>Wake Up Service, and Alarm Clocks in all rooms.>Ice Machine, Snack, and Soda vendors on premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Red Carpet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Hotel Rochester
Red Carpet Inn Rochester
Rochester Red Carpet Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Carpet Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.