We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Rochester - South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - Rochester - South to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Rochester - South
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Wood Lake Dr SE, Rochester, MN 55904   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Rochester
Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

The hotel itself is very clean and my room was very comfortable. The bed was okay, a little firm, but still comfortable for me. My only complaints were the window heater/air conditioner was somewhat noisy and the bathroom fan was loud; the fan is linked to the bathroom light so the fan runs anytime the light is on. The internet speed was good (one time $4.99 fee) and the room was very quiet; even though there was a main road out my back window I couldn't hear the traffic noise at all. I liked the convenience of the small kitchenette though I didn't use it as much as I expected. The room was a nice size and had two desk areas. I liked the extra space as I stayed for a week and didn't feel cooped up. Nice hotel for a decent price.

This hotel is a bit far from the Mayo Clinic area and the shuttle makes stops at all the other hotels first, so if you're taking the shuttle to the Clinic plan on extra travel time.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    27
    10
    11
    6
See reviews for
25
14
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
durham, nc
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

Summary Statement:
The facility is just what it advertises, an efficient, low cost, self-catering hotel that provides quiet accommodations in a very convenient location. Recommended for anyone spending several days in Rochester, perhaps attending the Mayo Clinic. Room cleaning is provided for those staying one week or more; otherwise, there is no room service. Food delivery is available. No breakfast.

Location:
Pros:
About 10 minutes south of downtown and the Mayo Clinic near the intersection of Routes 52 and 63. About 5 minutes from Super Target and Super Walmart. Very convenient to the clinic as well as shopping for food supplies, etc.
Cons:
Our GPS system was able to bring us within sight of the hotel but was unable to negotiate the correct exit and all the turns. The hotel staff navigated us in by telephone.

Facility:
Pros:
Efficiency studio with kitchenette consisting of two burner stove top, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, oaster, plates, basic cookpots, tableware, and glassware. Location near Super Walmart and Super Target made grocery shopping very convenient. Free shuttle to the Mayo Clinic throughout the day. The beds are very hard; but we like hard beds so this was no problem. The AC unit fan runs all the time so this masks what little ambient noise there is. The hotel is VERY quiet. For those who bring laptops wireless, internet is available at a mall one time cost and the front desk will print documents (up to 5 pages free) that are e-mailed to them. We e-mailed our boarding passes to them and they were able to print them out at no charge. The room was very
clean, everything was in its place. There was no overwhelming odor of cleaning fluids.
Cons:
Television was small and had no facilities for auxiliary inputs. If you bring your own dvd/vcr player, be sure to bring an RF adaptor to plug into the antenna terminal. The AC compressor became a little loud during out stay.

Check-In/Check-Out:
Very efficient and courteous. The front desk called a few minutes after check-in to inquire if everything was all right. It was. Check-out was fast and efficient.

Recommended Highly.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2008

Stayed here one night while visiting the Mayo for some doctors appointments.

The check-in lady was very nice and had us checked-in in about 5-10 minutes. The room was okay. We were given a double room. Having a full kitchen is nice. Bathroom okay. Beds were very very hard and I had a terrible time sleeping. It was pretty clean but I am always hesitant in rooms with shiny icky bedspreads. The room had a smell, can't put a finger on what the smell was. The walls and floors are thin. You can hear the people walking above you. Not something you like to listen to as you try to fall asleep.

Its about 3+ miles down 52 from the Mayo exit. I know that it is only a few miles but everything we wanted to go to was on 2nd.

Would I stay here again? Probably not. We usually stay at better hotels than these but there was a huge convention in town and all our hotels were booked. We decided to gamble with Priceline. The 1-star hotels they had listed where pretty well rated so we tried a 1-star hotel and our price was accepted and we were 'upgraded' to a 2-star hotel that was much lower rated on here. :( Oh well, thats the gamble you take with priceline.

It is an extended stay so that might be part of why we didnt like it. If you like very hard beds, I could see how this place might have to work if you had to stay in Rochester for an extended amount of time. The TV is smaller than most hotel TVs. Lots of hanging space but not enclosed in a closet. The kitchen includes a microwave, full fridge and 2 electric burners. 2 sets of dishes and 2 pots are stocked as well. Id bring my own bedding and pillows if possible.

Its up to you, but I wouldn't recommend this place. I saw better places online for a longerterm stay (we were looking for that at one point a few months ago)

  • Liked — kitchen
  • Disliked — beds
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, IL
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2008

This is a new facility on a portion of road not on our map so a little hard to find. The room was extra large with a King bed, kitchen and good-sized bathroom. Everything seemed new and very clean. We were there only one night and paid about $70.00.

This isn't really ideal for a single night as they don't provide amenities such as shampoo or hair dryer (just soap and towels). And no morning breakfast, but there are restaurants nearby (we drove to Dennys or Perkins).

It isn't really ideal for an extended stay either. While there is a full kitchen with cookware and dishware for two, you have to bring everything else from dish detergent to paper towels to salt and pepper. I suppose most people would just microwave some meals or bring in cereal and toast for breakfast.

  • Liked — spacious clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — No breakfast available.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiawatha National Forest
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2007

A great value. $39 per night if you stay a week. Great for me as I had a week of treatment at the Mayo Clinic. Big refrigerator and adequate kitchen. Nice recliner chair. Good free shuttle service to the clinics with just one intermediate stop at one more hotel.

Have heard some complaints that mattresses are too hard. Just right for me as I am used to a firmer mattress. On my previous visit to the clinic I stayed at the $100 per night Grand Kaylor Hotel. Mattress was harder there.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Only one comfortable chair, so not real ideal for two or more people
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2006

Bed was extreemly hard. We had to run to the local Shopko and buy a foam mattress pad just to make it through the three days we were there. Had to ask for extra pillows. (No charge, thank goodness.) For a priceline[-] price of 36 dollars a night (plus taxes) this was a place to take a shower, drink some coffee and store your stuff. Bring your own shampoo, soap, dishwashing soap and coffee/filters. You might even want to bring an air mattress and just sleep on the floor.

Also be sure to bring your confirmations with you. There was an issue with priceline and the hotel and the staff (although they are very nice).

Upon check out we were asked about our stay. Told them about the hard beds and the comment was "yes, we get that a lot."

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2003

We were in Rochester for medical business at the Mayo Clinic and found
this to be an excellent value, PRICE-WISE--under $300 for seven nights.
Rooms were clean and staff was friendly. A laundromat was on-site; iron
and board can be borrowed from desk. The room has one queen bed, one
recliner, 3 straight chairs, a small table, desk, and bedside table,
dresser, alarm clock (no radio) and TV. If you're going to be there for
any length of time, please note what the hotel does NOT provide: Daily
cleaning, towel, and bed-making services (towels changed mid-week,
cleaning and bed linens once a week) Shampoo, hair dryer, Kleenex,
notepaper and pen Radio Shower grab bar Dish detergent or any cleaning
supplies Extra pillows or blankets (ask at desk) Breakfast Coffee ($1
for 4 cup filter pak at vending machine) Did not have a shuttle to Mayo
when we were there but were told they were going to start one.

The kitchen has two of each of the following: dinner plates, salad
plates, cereal bowls, knives, forks, spoons, glasses, coffee mugs.
Also, 2 10" fry pan with lid, 1 2-qt. saucepan with lid, glass cutting
board, very dull steak knife, 1 serving spoon, 4 cup coffee pot,
pancake turner, can opener, dish drainer. There is a two-burner
electric stove, a full-size refrigerator, microwave and a small sink.
Recommend you take larger coffee pot and toaster, as well as extras like place mats, decent knives, refrigerator serving bowls, extra dishes (or use disposables). Also, if there are two of you, take one of those folding chairs with arms, as there is only one comfortable chair and sitting on the bed gets tiresome over a week's time.
I gave it four stars because it does exactly what it says it will do--offer cheap prices and a decent facility. If you want the extras, go to a higher-priced place, but you'll pay a lot more for those extras that you can take from home. And Wal-Mart is a quarter of a mile away!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Rochester - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Rochester - South

Address: 55 Wood Lake Dr SE, Rochester, MN 55904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Extended Stay America - Rochester - South 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Extended Stay, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Extended Stay America - Rochester - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Rochester
Extended Stay America Rochester
Rochester Extended Stay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Rochester - South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.