We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SMELLED FUNKY” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Fiksdal Hotel and Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rochester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Fiksdal Hotel and Suites
Save
You added The Fiksdal Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
1215 2nd Street SW, Rochester, MN 55902   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 56 Hotels in Rochester
rock rapids
1 review
“SMELLED FUNKY”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

IF I could give it a negative i would. A family memeber had same day surgery and we had to stay over for morning appt at Mayo, this was close to st mary's where she had the procedure. We walked in the door and she gagged fom the "funky" smell. The room smelled slighty better, but was stifling hot and stuffy--it was in the mid 70's outside with no way to let fresh air in. If there was air conditioning it was not adjustable in the room. The room was clean, but everything looked old. After about an hour we could not stand it any longer and left for a different hotel. Of course I had to pay for the night, but at least we were comfortable and didn't have to endure the smell! I would stay away from this hotel! not sure what rooms they have pictures of on the website--definately not one we saw.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiksdalhotel, General Manager at The Fiksdal Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Hello Linda S,

I'm sorry that you had an unpleasant experience during the brief time you were here. We have never had any complaints about a bad smell in the hotel prior to your experience, we pride ourselves on cleanliness, and making sure that our hotel is thoroughly cleaned every day. We do have wall thermostats in our rooms to adjust A/C and heat to accommodate our guest individual needs, and I apologize that you were not made aware of that by our staff. Once again I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced and hope that you can give us a chance again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    39
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
53
11
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mid-Missouri
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This hotel is located directly across from St Mary's Hospital in Rochester. Management was extremely nice when I had to extend my reservation unexpectedly. The hotel is clean but could use some updating and better lighting. Safe and convenient location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my mom on a recent visit to Mayo Clinic. All but one of my appointments were at St. Mary's which is right across the street so it was exceedingly convenient. On a previous visit I met a couple who was staying here and they highly recommended it. For the price, we were not disappointed. Initially the room was very warm, but we turned down the thermostat and ran the tower fan and it cooled down very quickly (temperatures were 90 degrees plus during our visit). The room remained cool the rest of our stay, although it was sometimes a bit warm in the hallway. There was a small area with a microwave, refrigerator and cupboard. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The bathroom was small but functional. Everything was very clean. My only complaint is the complimentary breakfast; the selection is very limited and there weren't really any items that appealed to me. We were there around 8:30 and things were already picked over (two muffins left, only a few pieces of fruit) and an attendant came but did not refill anything. There were no options for protein. We ended up going to the Caribou Coffee down the street for the rest of our breakfasts. Taking into consideration the low rate the hotel charges, going out for breakfast was a minor inconvenience. I would certainly stay here again for a visit to Mayo Clinic.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiksdalhotel, General Manager at The Fiksdal Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear SBATrip,

Thank you for taking your time to let us know how your stay was, and how we can better serve you in the future. I apologize that our breakfast did not provide a better assortment of food for you but I'm happy to let you know that we are looking to upgrade not only the quality of items but also provide more options to better serve our guests. Once again thank you for your comments and concerns, we look forward to the opportunity to accommodate you again.

Have a great day,

Chris Wangsness (AGM Fiksdal Hotel)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Chose this for its proximity to Mayo. Main drawback--room never got below 72 degrees and 74% humidity, because YOU CANNOT control the room temp. Because of my illness i carry a temp/humidity meter ($10 on amazon). My keratin-straightened hair was a bush. Husband quipped that after we showered and the fan-less bathrooms steamed up that with the room humidity reaching 89% it should be raining indoors! They are happy to give you a fan but really, is that how you want to spend a week?? I was astonished to see that it had won some kind of tripadvisor award. Ugh. The "wonderful breakfast" was pasty packaged muffins, cereal, coffee. Not even hot water for my own tea bags. They have a card in the room listing dozens of channels: we got 8 channels. We decamped to a cheaper and better hotel on the third day after the heat made my medical symptoms escalate into frank illness. No way would I recommend any hotel without individual a/c...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiksdalhotel, General Manager at The Fiksdal Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Hallwoman,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your stay in Rochester, I'm sorry that we did not meet your expectations as we pride ourselves on delivering the best possible service and accommodation's so that your stay is as comfortable as possible. The summer months can get very humid and I will look further into why your room could not get below 72 degrees. I'm happy to say that we are looking to improve our quality and options of our breakfast so that we can offer our guests a better breakfast experience. I'm not sure why your television only had eight channels when we provide over fifty channels for our guests and will look into possible issues with our provider. Once again I apologize for all of the issues that arose during your stay and hope that we have the opportunity to offer you a better experience in the future.

Have a great day,

Chris Wangsness (AGM Fiksdal Hotel)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

When my wife recently had a major operation at St. Mary's hospital in Rochester, MN. I stayed in the Fiksdal Hotel and was completely satisfied. The location was directly across the street from the hospital and the price, which includes parking and a continental breakfast was refreshingly low. Two employees really impressed me: Howard in housekeeping did an excellent job and was genuinely friendly and polite as was Adrian at the desk. We will certainly if return if the need arises and a room is available.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles City, Iowa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I just spent five nights at the Fiksdal Hotel, If you have someone in St. Mary's Hospital, I wouldn't stay anywhere else. Its location is immediately across the street to St. Mary's Entrance on 2nd Street. Highlight for me after a long day at the hospital was to return to the hotel and sit on the second floor terrace with either something to eat or just to think about my day. Very safe and quiet area. Staff is friendly and willing to help if needed. Rooms were clean, comfortable, and wifi worked great.

Room Tip: Third floor is easy to walk up or down to breakfast on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Center, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel is right across the street from St. Mary's Hospital in Rochester. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable about St. Mary's Hospital and the Mayo Clinic. The rooms are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fiksdal Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fiksdal Hotel and Suites

Address: 1215 2nd Street SW, Rochester, MN 55902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rochester
#16 Family Hotel in Rochester
#17 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests at the Fiksdal Hotel and Suites in Rochester have enjoyed our convenient location and personal service for over forty years. You’ll rest easy in our newly remodeled accommodations, knowing your budget-friendly room is just across the street from St. Marys hospital. And with our complimentary shuttle, the world-renowned Mayo Clinic and its downtown campus is just five minutes from our quiet hotel. If you're in town visiting the Mayo Clinic, enjoy our patient discount! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Fiksdal Hotel Rochester
Fiksdal Hotel Rochester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fiksdal Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.