We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, clean, reasonably priced” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fiksdal Hotel and Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rochester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Fiksdal Hotel and Suites
Save
You added The Fiksdal Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
1215 2nd Street SW, Rochester, MN 55902   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$89 First Night!
Ranked #19 of 56 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Convenient, clean, reasonably priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Stayed at the Fiksdal for 6 nights while my mother was hospitalized. It is right across the street from St Mary's, which is super convenient for coming and going any time of the day, especially with a 4 yr old who needed naps. The room was clean, had a window view and kitchenette, which was also very nice. The evening cookies were a special treat! Very affordable in terms of surrounding hotel prices and special rates for people there for hospital or clinic service reasons. We will definitely stay there again and recommend to others!

Room Tip: 6th floor was quite warm. If you like it cooler would ask for lower level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    39
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
54
11
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights while visiting family at St Mary's hospital. It is literally 30 steps from hotel to hospital. This is an older hotel without a lot of frills, but it is very clean and the front desk staff is extremely friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone needing a place to stay near the hospital

Room Tip: Dogs are allowed on the 6th floor for an additional fee
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canby, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

The only hesitation I have in writing about my experience is the fear that they will be completely booked when I need to stay there again! I stayed for three weeks and the location of the room they gave me - no windows, complete privacy and quiet - was perfect for what I needed. I can not begin to describe the kindness I received and observed from the staff. One of the young men cleaning rooms on my floor took the time from his busy day to listen to a customer next to me who just needed someone to talk about in regards to her family member's health. You can't buy that kind of service. No pool, no restaurant? No freaking problem...

Room Tip: My room (309) was perfect because of the health issues I was having. I would normally have wanted t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, IA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed at the Fiksdal Hotel so far on two separate occasions recently. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and quiet. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. It is approximately 35 steps to St Mary's Hospital. Fantastic restaurants on the same block. We will be going back to Rochester in a couple weeks and wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else. Love this place!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny IA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

I stayed at Fiksdal Hotel for 4 nights while a family member was in St, Mary's Hospital. This is the 2nd time I have stayed here (1st was 2010), and I have to say, this experience was different and not as good. For one thing, the room does not have an air conditioner. The room was very hot all night and there is no way of changing the temp. I had 2 fans in the room which helped, but not alot. The bathroom where the shower is is about the size of an airplane bathroom and is very cramped. The breakfast is very good, and the hotel staff WAS very friendly, which was a plus. It was also located right across the street from ST Mary's, which helped. I stayed on the 4th floor the first 3 nights and the 6th floor the last night> I would stay on 6 if you are going to stay there, no one above you and the room temps seem cooler. All in all for the price, not a bad hotel but there are better.

Room Tip: Get a room that ends in 01 or 02, because anything else has windows that look in to the hall, then o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiksdalhotel, General Manager at The Fiksdal Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Dear reviewman97,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Fiksdal Hotel. We are sorry you felt that your room was too warm – our air conditioning is now on and flowing nicely, and I’m sorry it wasn’t on during your stay. I’m so glad that you enjoyed our free continental breakfast as well as our location. I have also let our staff know that you enjoyed their friendly service – thank you for providing candid feedback. We value your input, and we hope that the next time you’re in Rochester, we can have the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I chose the Fiksdal because it is right across the Street from St. Mary's and I could easily go back and forth to the hospital at any hour. The staff were very accomodating. They provided a recliner for my husband to sleep in when he was released from the hospital. The breakfast room attendant was cheerful and diligent about restocking food items. The housekeeping staff kept the room very clean. They even provided cookies in the evening.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

My husband has had three trips to the Mayo Clinic and St Mary's Hospital since October, and I originally selected the Fiksdal because it was across the street from St. Mary's and reasonably priced. After the first visit, I did not hesitate to stay there again. Reasons: Sixth floor rooms have big windows and look out to downtown area. For exercise I walked the open stairwells with outdoor views for my exercise especially nice alternative in the extreme weather. The free paper and cookies at 7 pm and the friendly, helpful staff at the front desk also added to a pleasant experience. Free services also include easy, WIFI and handy breakfast when in a hurry. (also great Caribou coffee shop one block away and next door Canadian Honkers Friday night music and hearty breakfasts).
Shuttles and buses are so convenient for downtown when weather too chilly to walk. Highly recommend Chesters and Doubletree Pescara Restaurant for lunch and dinner.

Room Tip: Enjoy an open view on the sixth floor and it also gives you the option to wak the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fiksdal Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fiksdal Hotel and Suites

Address: 1215 2nd Street SW, Rochester, MN 55902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Rochester
#17 Family Hotel in Rochester
#21 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests at the Fiksdal Hotel and Suites in Rochester have enjoyed our convenient location and personal service for over forty years. You’ll rest easy in our newly remodeled accommodations, knowing your budget-friendly room is just across the street from St. Marys hospital. And with our complimentary shuttle, the world-renowned Mayo Clinic and its downtown campus is just five minutes from our quiet hotel. If you're in town visiting the Mayo Clinic, enjoy our patient discount! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Fiksdal Hotel Rochester
Fiksdal Hotel Rochester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fiksdal Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.