We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, dirty bathroom” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Rochester South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites Rochester South to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Rochester South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   77 Wood Lake Drive SE, Rochester, MN 55904   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #17 of 56 Hotels in Rochester
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, dirty bathroom”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I stayed here with my 2 teens this week. We arrived after 10:00 pm....the front desk was extremely nice, told us the pool was still open if we wanted to swim.

They had home-made cookies which my kids loved! The room was very nice, the beds were very comfortable. But the bathroom was small and not as clean as it needed to be. The shower curtain had mold on it and the bathroom door itself was dirty and the frame had paint chips missing most of the way around.

Breakfast was good, the ladies working it were very nice and kept up with the rush. Again, there were more home-made cookies for us to grab on our way out the door.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocsouth, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Rochester South, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us at the Country Inn & Suites Rochester South. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff provided great customer service. I would like to apologize that the bathroom in your guest room was not cleaned thofoughly. I appreciate your feedback so that we can make improvements in areas needed. We hope you will stay with us again if your travels bring you back to our area.

Sincerely,
Michelle Steffl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    41
    18
    6
    7
See reviews for
41
23
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Clean and safe; good value; I emphasize the word clean, too. I'm a single female traveler so safety is very important; I only stay in properties that have interior corridors. Room's door was solid and heavy; good additional dead bolt. Room key always worked; no fails or continuously trying to swipe to get in. Parking lot is in good repair and well-lit at night. Parking is all in front of hotel; was able to see my car from room, which I liked. While the property was off a busy road - you never heard traffic noise; speaking of noise, walls between rooms must be decent thickness - never heard neighbors at all. They have posted signs on exit doors indicating no running, horseplay or loud noises after 10:00 pm, which is when Quiet time begins. I appreciated that. I did not see any families with small kids during my two night stay - mostly seniors or business ppl. Outside of a thunderstorm, it was a quiet stay during the night and day. I did not use the pool or spa. I did not see water in the spa from the doorway, so either it was not working or the water level was low. The pool looked very nice and fairly large size. Deck area around pool was spacious and nice, plentiful furniture. BTW, interior pool so you can use it year round, a must up here where it gets so cold during the winter. Small lobby but sufficient as I do not know anyone who hangs around lobbies or sits in them - wasted space for the most part. However, this lobby was nice - coffee always available and, of course, the cookies. Right off the lobby is the breakfast area. There are seats for 44 people; substantial and it was never full while I was there but still busy. Always clean and well-lit. Hot breakfast items included scrambled eggs one day, western omelets the other; sausage links and patties, diced potatoes, and oatmeal. Also, make your own waffles, assortment of breads, bagels, muffins and fresh fruits (apples, oranges, sliced melons). The small refrigerator had milk (fat free white and chocolate) and yogurt. Juice machine had three choices, and there were 3 coffee choices. Substantial breakfast - much more than average continental type. I did not need lunch, really, after eating breakfast here. My room was in very good repair, clean and smelled nice. Air/heater unit was quiet and worked well and quickly - also no odors from it (many in other places always seem to smell musty or mildewy). Either the hotel is very new (less than 5 years?) or they maintain it well as ceiling and walls in room showed no dents, nicks, or any signs of needing paint touch-ups. Artworks (photographs not painted scenes) in room and bath was nice - contemporary and not standard hotel variety of crappy art. Large flat screen TV on swivel base. Small refrigerator and microwave were nice; coffee maker was standard small barely 2 cupper. Bathroom was very clean, tile and caulking were clean - no mold or stains. Good lighting and shower curtain was exvellent (clean but also let light through so you did not shower in near darkness). Good toiletries (Pantene and Vaseline). Beds were firm but still soft. For me, they were very good but mattress comfort is subjective - some prefer rock-hard and others pillowy soft. I found them to be very good and seemed new. Sheets were in good condition, pillows a bit small and very squishy but they give your extras on shelf in closet area. Very heavy comforter was on bed but was nice and warm. Towels in bath were plentiful and of decent thickness and not scratchy, rough but not the most soft either but more than ok. The hotel's name has "suites" in it but I would not call my room a suite. It was adequate size but was standard 2 queen beds, small square desk with two wooden chairs, 2 drawer dresser with TV on top, nightstand and bar counter with microwave and fridge underneath. No sofa, no comfrotable chair no second room that would qualify for a suite status.

Personnel: housekeeping were pleasant and always said hello. Morning dek staff were always there and smiling and said good morning. I originally planned to be in the area for only 1 night; they were quick to accommodate my needing a second night and honored my discounted rate. The night auditor, Donovan, was very nice and helpful during my check-in.

The only CONS that come immediately to mind are: bathtub is very slippery!! I almost fell 2 to 3 times - hotel needs to install some type of anti-skid or anti-slip decals to bottom of tub; accident and lawsuit waiting to happen. At same time, grab bar would be a nice addition. ONly thing to hold on to now is a bar so low it can only be reached if you reclining in a bath. A working alarm clock (my alarm went off only 1 of 2 days and setting the alarm time was problematic. Lastly, insufficient room lighting. During the day, the windows are large and let in tons of light but at night there is only the bedside lamp and two lights over small kitchen bar area. There should be an additional light source in corner of the room near the desk and chairs; working on my laptop at night was with very dim lighting.

Room Tip: I was given a choice of a room on any of the three floors; I lucked out with a room just one room aw...
See more room tips
Green Features: There are placards asking you to be environmentally aware and re-use towels or something. Sorry, but on vacation I want to be pampered so I get new towels each day.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocsouth, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Rochester South, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us at the Country Inn & Suites Rochester South. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay during your recent visit. I would like to apologize that there was no lighting by the table in your room, this is an issue we are working on resolving. Your comments are greatly appreciated. I hope to see you again if your are back in our area>

Sincerely,
Michelle Steffl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Front counter were very professional. Very accommodating and wanting to do their best to make my stay comfortable. Rooms were clean. Breakfast was nice and the fruit and cookies are a special touch.
Ryan at front desk is exceptional.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocsouth, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Rochester South, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your recenst stay with us at the Country Inn & Suites Rochester South. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay during your visit. I greatly appreciate your comments and look forward to you staying with us again if your travels bring you back to our area.

Sincerely,
Michelle Steffl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, WI
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

It is obvious that the Country Inn & Suites are changing their look. Nice, modern artwork and furnishings. The French doors separating the bedroom from the living area was great! Loved the extra TV in the bedroom and the roomy sitting area and wet bar!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocsouth, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Rochester South, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us at the Country Inn & Suites Rochester South. I am so happy to hear you like the renovations that are being done at our location. We are looking forward to the completion of the first phase of renovations within the next month. I hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to Rochester.

Sincerely,
Michelle Steffl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waconia, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Country Inn and Suites Rochester South with a friend for one night. We were more than impressed with the clean rooms, friendly staff, and wonderful breakfast! I was able to take the complimentary shuttle service to the Mayo Clinic which was very helpful as I was traveling without a vehicle. I would suggest this hotel to anyone visiting the Rochester area!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocsouth, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Rochester South, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let me know about your recent stay with us at the Country Inn & Suites Rochester South. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I am glad to hear that the shuttle service to the Mayo Clinic worked out well for your family. I hope that you will stay with us again if your travels bring you back to the Rochester area.

Sincerely,
Michelle Steffl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We arrived on Friday to visit my son who is staying in Rochester for the summer. First impressions were a nice looking exterior with petunia baskets, and a helpful front desk at check in. The lobby area is well decorated, with a dining room to the side. Room was spacious and beds comfortable. As noted in past reviews they are working on renovations. Our room looked to be fully done aside from baseboards to be added which I didn't notice to be honest, my husband did. He was only looking to try to understand past reviews.

The bathroom was nice, including upscale shampoo and conditioner products.

Very quiet at night.

Breakfast was above average, with waffles that had both blueberries and strawberries, an assortment of pastries, eggs, sausage and what not, plus an array of boxed cereals. I came down earlier for breakfast than the start time, because I hadn't paid attention, but that wasn't a big deal. The breakfast person was very nice.

All said, this hotel exceeded expectations and we will stay here later this summer during our next
trip to Rochester in a couple months.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocsouth, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Rochester South, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us at the Country Inn & Suites Rochester South. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the process of renovating all of our guest rooms and look forward to the completion within the next month. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Rochester.

Sincerely,
Michelle Steffl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omaha, nebraska
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

When we arrived, there was a large sign announcing they were in the process of upgrading the rooms. There were some new mirrors and art in the rooms but the walls still needed repainting, which had absolutely no effect on our comfort during our stay. We stayed over a Friday-Saturday night and the hotel was definitely busy but our rooms were quiet as could be. The beds are pretty soft which was ok (I'm used to a firmer mattress). The breakfast was set up earlier than advertised (prior to 7am) on Saturday and Sunday which was great because we had to be out the door by 730am. The room had a microwave and minifridge, tons of towels, and pretty great toiletries. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the stairwell and the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocsouth, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Rochester South, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us at the Country Inn & Suites Rochester South. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to serve the continental breakfast earlier than the posted time. I hope you will stay with us again if your travels bring you back to our area.

Sincerely,
Michelle Steffl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Rochester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Rochester South

Address: 77 Wood Lake Drive SE, Rochester, MN 55904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#14 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Rochester South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Carlson, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Rochester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Rochester South Hotel Rochester
Country Inn And Suites Rochester South
Rochester Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Rochester South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.