We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester South to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   77 Woodlake Drive Southeast, Rochester, MN 55904   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on Club Carlson points. The location is not the best down a winding access road away from anything.The hotel is very clean. The breakfast was hot and had better choices than other Country Inns I have stayed in. No complaints.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocsouth, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester South, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us at the Country Inn & Suites Rochester South. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. I would like to apologize that our location is a little hard to get to. I greatly appreciate your feedback and hope you will consider staying with us again if your travels bring you back to our area,

Sincerely,

Michelle Steffl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    62
    21
    8
    9
See reviews for
71
34
9
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This was such a nice place to stay for an overnight trip on our way thru Rochester. It was conveniently located right next to the freeway (although a little confusing on how to get there by finding the other end of the access road) and had plenty of parking, even when we arrived at 10:30 at night. Best part was how great all the staff were -- friendly and very helpful. We even received a free upgrade to a king suite, even with our late arrival. Breakfast in the morning was amazing, just as good as any paid sit-down breakfast restaurant -- the place was full and the staff worked very hard to refill every item as soon as it was emptied. Huge variety of food & beverages, basically everything you could ever want to get a good start for the day. Furniture in the room was just a little bit dated and didn't really seem to match but it was clean and the bed was very comfortable. This hotel is an excellent value and I would recommend it for you stay!

Room Tip: Rooms on the freeway side are just a little bit noisy but it turns into white noise quickly. If tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocsouth, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester South, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us at the Country Inn & Suites Rochester South. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was able to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our breakfast, I will be sure to pass your comments along to our breakfast staff.
I hope you will consider staying with us again if your travels ever bring you back to the Rochester area.

Sincerely,
Michelle Steffl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Michael, Minnesota
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel probably 100 times over the past several years and I'm always impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel, the friendly and knowledgeable staff, and one of the BEST complimentary breakfasts EVER!
I will continue to use this facility for business and for pleasure as it is also convieniently located in a very nice area of MN, perfect for motorcycle riding!

Room Tip: Smoking and non-smoking rooms available! Nice option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocsouth, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester South, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us at the Country Inn & Suites Rochester South. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff offered great customer service. Thank you for the kind words regarding the breakfast, I will be sure to pass along your comments to the breakfast staff.
I hope you will consider staying with us again if your travels bring you back to our area.

Sincerely,
Michelle Steffl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

With an appointment at the Mayo Clinic, we chose a hotel on the edge of town to save money because we did not know how long we would in Rochester. When checking in, the front desk attendant asked if we were visiting Rochester to visit the Mayo Clinic and then gave us a discounted rate immediately. The only concern that I had after room price was traffic to the Clinic, which turned out to be only five minutes door to door at seven in the morning. The hotel also provided a shuttle to and from the clinic. The hotel indoor pool was open 24/7 for the guests convenience. The hotel is located across the street from a mall, which provided shopping and restaurants. Our room was clean and quiet and there is a complimentary breakfast.

We know exactly what to expect when we book a room at any Country Inn & Suites. We have stayed at other Country Inn & Suites and they are all the same. They are always a consistent value for our visits. If you are looking for a fancy high-end hotel, book elsewhere, but we think Country Inn & Suites is always a great value!

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocsouth, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester South, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us at the Country Inn & Suites Rochester South. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we met your expectations regarding our location and the amenities we offer. We hope you will stay with us again if your travels bring you back to our area.

Sincerely,

Michelle Steffl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Had a 3 night reservation while going to Mayo Clinic. Needed to stay two more nights but they were booked up. They called their other hotel and got us a room for two nights, complimentary first night and upgraded the room for the same price, Great job Country Inn! Will definitely stay here when I return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocsouth, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester South, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us at the Country Inn & Suites Rochester South. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to find you accommodations when we were full. I hope you will stay with us again if your travels bring you back to our area.


Sincerely,

Michelle Steffl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcellus, New York
Level Contributor
164 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Our room was a little worn-looking and partially painted (furniture moved/removed?) but all in all a decent place for a good nights sleep. Parking lot was well-lit and seemed safe. Not far off the highway, and staff was helpful and pleasant

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocsouth, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester South, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Country Inn & Suites Rochester South. I am happy to hear that you got a good night's rest during your stay with us. I would like to apologize that the condition of your guest room was in need of some renovation. We are looking forward to a renovation to all of our guest rooms later this year. I hope you will consider staying with us again if your travels bring you back to our area.

Sincerely,
Michelle Steffl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We are seniors who travel a lot. We seen many places that are real dumps, but this place is an excellent place for the money!!!

We stayed at the south location during a bicycling trip to Root River bike trails. The breakfast was excellent! Well worth the couple of extra of bucks over the cheaper places. Also, there were AAA and AARP discounts online.reservations.

The pool was cool but nice. We plan to stay there again when we are in Rochester, MN.

Room Tip: Its a tricky to get to the hotel. However, its located on the main shopping strip. A mile up and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocsouth, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester South, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Country Inn & Suites Rochester South. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that using the countryinns.com website was user friendly and had the discounts available you were looking for. We hope you will stay with us again if your travels bring you back to our area.

Sincerely,
Michelle Steffl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester
6.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester
6.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Rochester
Hampton Inn Rochester
#5 of 57 in Rochester
4.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Rochester
Comfort Suites Rochester
#11 of 57 in Rochester
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester South

Address: 77 Woodlake Drive Southeast, Rochester, MN 55904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#5 Business Hotel in Rochester
#12 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Rochester South Hotel Rochester
Country Inn And Suites Rochester South
Rochester Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.