We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Place to Stay :-))” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Rochester South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites Rochester South to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Rochester South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   77 Wood Lake Drive SE, Rochester, MN 55904   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #17 of 55 Hotels in Rochester
Saint Michael, Minnesota
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Place to Stay :-))”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel probably 100 times over the past several years and I'm always impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel, the friendly and knowledgeable staff, and one of the BEST complimentary breakfasts EVER!
I will continue to use this facility for business and for pleasure as it is also convieniently located in a very nice area of MN, perfect for motorcycle riding!

Room Tip: Smoking and non-smoking rooms available! Nice option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocsouth, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Rochester South, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us at the Country Inn & Suites Rochester South. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff offered great customer service. Thank you for the kind words regarding the breakfast, I will be sure to pass along your comments to the breakfast staff.
I hope you will consider staying with us again if your travels bring you back to our area.

Sincerely,
Michelle Steffl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    41
    18
    6
    7
See reviews for
41
23
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

With an appointment at the Mayo Clinic, we chose a hotel on the edge of town to save money because we did not know how long we would in Rochester. When checking in, the front desk attendant asked if we were visiting Rochester to visit the Mayo Clinic and then gave us a discounted rate immediately. The only concern that I had after room price was traffic to the Clinic, which turned out to be only five minutes door to door at seven in the morning. The hotel also provided a shuttle to and from the clinic. The hotel indoor pool was open 24/7 for the guests convenience. The hotel is located across the street from a mall, which provided shopping and restaurants. Our room was clean and quiet and there is a complimentary breakfast.

We know exactly what to expect when we book a room at any Country Inn & Suites. We have stayed at other Country Inn & Suites and they are all the same. They are always a consistent value for our visits. If you are looking for a fancy high-end hotel, book elsewhere, but we think Country Inn & Suites is always a great value!

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocsouth, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Rochester South, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us at the Country Inn & Suites Rochester South. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we met your expectations regarding our location and the amenities we offer. We hope you will stay with us again if your travels bring you back to our area.

Sincerely,

Michelle Steffl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Had a 3 night reservation while going to Mayo Clinic. Needed to stay two more nights but they were booked up. They called their other hotel and got us a room for two nights, complimentary first night and upgraded the room for the same price, Great job Country Inn! Will definitely stay here when I return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocsouth, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Rochester South, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us at the Country Inn & Suites Rochester South. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to find you accommodations when we were full. I hope you will stay with us again if your travels bring you back to our area.


Sincerely,

Michelle Steffl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcellus, New York
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Our room was a little worn-looking and partially painted (furniture moved/removed?) but all in all a decent place for a good nights sleep. Parking lot was well-lit and seemed safe. Not far off the highway, and staff was helpful and pleasant

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocsouth, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Rochester South, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Country Inn & Suites Rochester South. I am happy to hear that you got a good night's rest during your stay with us. I would like to apologize that the condition of your guest room was in need of some renovation. We are looking forward to a renovation to all of our guest rooms later this year. I hope you will consider staying with us again if your travels bring you back to our area.

Sincerely,
Michelle Steffl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We are seniors who travel a lot. We seen many places that are real dumps, but this place is an excellent place for the money!!!

We stayed at the south location during a bicycling trip to Root River bike trails. The breakfast was excellent! Well worth the couple of extra of bucks over the cheaper places. Also, there were AAA and AARP discounts online.reservations.

The pool was cool but nice. We plan to stay there again when we are in Rochester, MN.

Room Tip: Its a tricky to get to the hotel. However, its located on the main shopping strip. A mile up and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocsouth, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Rochester South, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Country Inn & Suites Rochester South. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that using the countryinns.com website was user friendly and had the discounts available you were looking for. We hope you will stay with us again if your travels bring you back to our area.

Sincerely,
Michelle Steffl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo MN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I have always enjoyed Country Inn and Suites, but never again! I needed to change the date of my reservation by one day (three weeks ahead of time), but received the message that I couldn't do that - my reservation had been pre-paid. All efforts at trying to actually talk to someone failed.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocsouth, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Rochester South, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us at the Country Inn & Suites, Rochester South, MN. I would like to apologize that your reservation was not able to be changed due to the third party rules and restrictions that they place on these reservations. I can understand your frustrations regarding this issue and appreciate your feedback. I hope you will consider staying with us again if your travels bring you back to our area.

Sincerely,

Michelle Steffl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

My husband, son and I stayed at the hotel while attending appointments at the Mayo Clinic. The staff was very helpful, friendly and courteous. The hotel was clean as were the rooms and bathrooms. We were very pleased and would stay here again if we return to Rochester MN.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocsouth, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Rochester South, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experiences about your recent stay with us at the Country Inn & Suites Rochester South, MN. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I hope you will stay with us again if your travels bring you back to our area.

Sincerely,

Michelle Steffl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Rochester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Rochester South

Address: 77 Wood Lake Drive SE, Rochester, MN 55904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rochester
#14 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Rochester South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Carlson, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Rochester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Rochester South Hotel Rochester
Country Inn And Suites Rochester South
Rochester Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Rochester South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.