We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodations for a reasonable charge.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4323 Highway 52 N.W. Frontage Rd., Rochester, MN 55901-4154   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #21 of 55 Hotels in Rochester
nebraska/cabo rojo
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodations for a reasonable charge.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Country Inn & Suites is my favorite motel. It is a Carlson chain out of Minneapolis. I was in Rochester for a physical at Mayo. I did have a brief scare at check-in. My name was not in the computer and they had no available rooms. It turned out that the person I spoke with to make the reservation had logged it under my first name (David). As always the room was excellent and bed very comfortable. I thought that the buffet breakfast was under the usual standard. The eggs and bacon were horrible and there were no boiled eggs. Guess I will try oatmeal tomorrow. They have a jar of cookies on the check-in counter and I had not eaten all day so it was appreciated. By the way, I arrived around 7:30 AM, parked and caught the shuttle to Mayo so I did not have to find or pay for parking. I have a handicap room and it is good size with free wi-fi and a nice tv that must get 100 to 150 channels.

Room Tip: I have a problem getting in and out of bath tubs so I always request a handicap room. Often they ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    23
    14
    4
    6
See reviews for
31
14
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Extremely helpful, friendly staff. Very quiet, comfortable rooms. Outstanding free hot breakfast. Pool area was exceptionally clear and well maintained. I made a mistake with my online reservation, completely my fault. The manager spent over 30 minutes on the phone to make certain I was not doubled billed. The staff were all very welcoming and determined to see that guests were satisfied. Prices were very reasonable. We will absolutely stay here again!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesnowta
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We were at Mayo for a day appointment, but unfortunately needed unanticipated care that went til after 6 pm with a follow up at 6:15 am the next day. Thus, we elected to stay over at Country Inn rather than make another round trip from the Cities. We were very pleased with the accomodations. Our room was spotless, comfortable, well-maintained and quiet, with a good view from our third floor suite. We thought the bed great. There is a very small, shallow pool that is a little lacking for serious swimming, but a very nice hot tub. The exercise room was also small and limited, but provided an outlet for an adequate work out as it was otherwise unused when we called on it. The complimentary breakfast was very adequate. Although it included preformed eggs, it also had an OK chicken patty, waffles, fresh fruit and the customary accompaniments. The coffee, though, is kept in thermos and was either old, just warm or empty both in the late evening and early morning the day of our visit. We needed some complimentary toiletries due to our unanticipated stay and he did rustle up some items. The hotel is also located very close to a major shopping mall area with franchise dining and other food choices as well as a Target and other mall stores. We would certainly consider this a good choice in Rochester, MN, especially for the attractive rate we secured.

Room Tip: Pretty good choice for Rochester and good Mayo access via Hgy 52.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breezy Point, Minnesota
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very nice. Quiet rooms. Clean facility. Sidewalks were shoveled, free of snow. Parking lot was plowed and well maintained. Close to food and shopping. Excellent free breakfast. New favorite for Rochester, Mn. Free shuttle to Mayo Clinic and special Mayo Clinic rates. Gas stations are almost next door.

Room Tip: No Hockey kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed there for one night. Really nice place and has rooms were really good. I would recommend to stay at this place. Overall, it was a decent stay. I am not too picky, so I am well satisfied with my stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have stayed at 3 hotels in Rochester in the last 2 weeks, this was the first. No complaints, but no extraordinary comments either. It was relatively convenient to Mayo and St. Mary's (more so than the Country Inn South). Definitely, in a better location than the Country Inn South as far as food and entertainment options go. Clean room, no hassles and nothing unexpected. Met all expectations i have of a Country Inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Nicely run and well maintained property. We spent three nights with a hotel full of girls college swimmers. We didn't hear them at all. Close to the majority of restaurants and shopping. Staff were excellent. Just nothing to complain about in any way. A great choice in it's price bracket.

Room Tip: Minnesotans stand up the wiper blades on their vehicles to keep them from getting stuck in the ice a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN

Address: 4323 Highway 52 N.W. Frontage Rd., Rochester, MN 55901-4154
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Rochester, MN hotel offers all the essential modern amenities for your relaxing stay near the Mayo Clinic, University of Minnesota Rochester and IBM Rochester headquarters. The Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN offers free shuttle service to the Mayo Clinic in downtown Rochester as well as the IBM headquarters and the Rochester International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Carlson, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Rochester Hotel Rochester
Country Inn And Suites Rochester
Country Inn Rochester
Rochester Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.