We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4323 Highway 52 N.W. Frontage Rd., Rochester, MN 55901-4154   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #21 of 54 Hotels in Rochester
Minnesnowta
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A Good Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We were at Mayo for a day appointment, but unfortunately needed unanticipated care that went til after 6 pm with a follow up at 6:15 am the next day. Thus, we elected to stay over at Country Inn rather than make another round trip from the Cities. We were very pleased with the accomodations. Our room was spotless, comfortable, well-maintained and quiet, with a good view from our third floor suite. We thought the bed great. There is a very small, shallow pool that is a little lacking for serious swimming, but a very nice hot tub. The exercise room was also small and limited, but provided an outlet for an adequate work out as it was otherwise unused when we called on it. The complimentary breakfast was very adequate. Although it included preformed eggs, it also had an OK chicken patty, waffles, fresh fruit and the customary accompaniments. The coffee, though, is kept in thermos and was either old, just warm or empty both in the late evening and early morning the day of our visit. We needed some complimentary toiletries due to our unanticipated stay and he did rustle up some items. The hotel is also located very close to a major shopping mall area with franchise dining and other food choices as well as a Target and other mall stores. We would certainly consider this a good choice in Rochester, MN, especially for the attractive rate we secured.

Room Tip: Pretty good choice for Rochester and good Mayo access via Hgy 52.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    19
    13
    3
    6
See reviews for
27
13
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Breezy Point, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very nice. Quiet rooms. Clean facility. Sidewalks were shoveled, free of snow. Parking lot was plowed and well maintained. Close to food and shopping. Excellent free breakfast. New favorite for Rochester, Mn. Free shuttle to Mayo Clinic and special Mayo Clinic rates. Gas stations are almost next door.

Room Tip: No Hockey kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed there for one night. Really nice place and has rooms were really good. I would recommend to stay at this place. Overall, it was a decent stay. I am not too picky, so I am well satisfied with my stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have stayed at 3 hotels in Rochester in the last 2 weeks, this was the first. No complaints, but no extraordinary comments either. It was relatively convenient to Mayo and St. Mary's (more so than the Country Inn South). Definitely, in a better location than the Country Inn South as far as food and entertainment options go. Clean room, no hassles and nothing unexpected. Met all expectations i have of a Country Inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Nicely run and well maintained property. We spent three nights with a hotel full of girls college swimmers. We didn't hear them at all. Close to the majority of restaurants and shopping. Staff were excellent. Just nothing to complain about in any way. A great choice in it's price bracket.

Room Tip: Minnesotans stand up the wiper blades on their vehicles to keep them from getting stuck in the ice a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel 2 nights. The location was very easy to get to from Minneapolis on Hwy 10. They have a shuttle that will take you downtown to the Mayo clinics. Makes it very handy & the driver Ken was great! Continential breakfast was very good & host was very friendly.
Pool was nice & clean
Located near lots of eating & shopping
Nice fitness center

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Fargo, North Dakota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had a King Bed Suite with the Pull out sofa in the living room area. I am a frequent patient at Mayo and have stayed at several hotels right around the Mayo Clinic that I wasn't very thrilled with. This hotel was clean and the beds were comfortable. The only thing that wasn't clean was the TV remote. It was nice and quiet also. It was only about a 10 - 15 minute drive to Mayo if that is your destination. I had to get up early for appointments every day, but if we had been there on a weekend I may have wanted a "do not disturb" sign; I did not notice one on our door. The continental breakfast was just like other hotels. We had a bill under our door the morning of our checkout day, so we just left our key cards on the table in the room, which saves time to not have to stop at the desk and check out. Overall we were pleased with our stay and I would stay here again on my next trip back to Rochester.

Room Tip: I always think a King bed is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN

Address: 4323 Highway 52 N.W. Frontage Rd., Rochester, MN 55901-4154
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Rochester, MN hotel offers all the essential modern amenities for your relaxing stay near the Mayo Clinic, University of Minnesota Rochester and IBM Rochester headquarters. The Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN offers free shuttle service to the Mayo Clinic in downtown Rochester as well as the IBM headquarters and the Rochester International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Carlson, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Rochester Hotel Rochester
Country Inn And Suites Rochester
Country Inn Rochester
Rochester Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.