We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Things are better on the North Side” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4323 Hwy 52 North, Rochester, MN 55901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #22 of 57 Hotels in Rochester
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Things are better on the North Side”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have stayed at 3 hotels in Rochester in the last 2 weeks, this was the first. No complaints, but no extraordinary comments either. It was relatively convenient to Mayo and St. Mary's (more so than the Country Inn South). Definitely, in a better location than the Country Inn South as far as food and entertainment options go. Clean room, no hassles and nothing unexpected. Met all expectations i have of a Country Inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    34
    20
    6
    7
See reviews for
50
18
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Nicely run and well maintained property. We spent three nights with a hotel full of girls college swimmers. We didn't hear them at all. Close to the majority of restaurants and shopping. Staff were excellent. Just nothing to complain about in any way. A great choice in it's price bracket.

Room Tip: Minnesotans stand up the wiper blades on their vehicles to keep them from getting stuck in the ice a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel 2 nights. The location was very easy to get to from Minneapolis on Hwy 10. They have a shuttle that will take you downtown to the Mayo clinics. Makes it very handy & the driver Ken was great! Continential breakfast was very good & host was very friendly.
Pool was nice & clean
Located near lots of eating & shopping
Nice fitness center

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had a King Bed Suite with the Pull out sofa in the living room area. I am a frequent patient at Mayo and have stayed at several hotels right around the Mayo Clinic that I wasn't very thrilled with. This hotel was clean and the beds were comfortable. The only thing that wasn't clean was the TV remote. It was nice and quiet also. It was only about a 10 - 15 minute drive to Mayo if that is your destination. I had to get up early for appointments every day, but if we had been there on a weekend I may have wanted a "do not disturb" sign; I did not notice one on our door. The continental breakfast was just like other hotels. We had a bill under our door the morning of our checkout day, so we just left our key cards on the table in the room, which saves time to not have to stop at the desk and check out. Overall we were pleased with our stay and I would stay here again on my next trip back to Rochester.

Room Tip: I always think a King bed is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owatonna, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

There was nothing bad or great about my stay here. It could have really easily been a great stay. Little things seem to fall through the cracks.
• No towels at the pool. Went swimming several times never a towel.
• Maids knocking on doors at 9:00 am for cleaning. Woke my daughter up.
• Serving rotten fruit for breakfast.
The staff was friendly but needs to take the next step to improve their guests stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

we stayed her Christmas night and there seemed to be very few people. But, it was a wonderful place to stay: the temperature in the rooms was good (many motels are too hot and stay that way), the beds were very comfortable, the workout room was great (2 treadmills, one eliptical and free weights) and it was cool also (workout rooms are often too warm.) The breakfast was a cut above the ordinary. The hals were clean. The price was right.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corydon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Our room was clean as was the rest of the motel. We weren't very happy though about getting a handicap room but had already unpacked before we noticed the bathroom was set up for this. We were very tired from a long day on the road and didn't want to gather up everything and move to another room. I did talk to the clerk a little later though to see why we got that room. All we heard was double talk and the blame being placed on Priceline. He didn't even look at the computer; wasn't even near it. He immediately asked if we got our tickets thru Priceline and we said we did. Then he said Priceline assigns rooms like that and blamed it on them. It was very obvious that this motel puts Priceline people in the rooms that are less desirable as he said everything but that. The clerk who started working after midnight was much more friendly. He told us the rooms booked were bunched together to save the maids time as there would be limited maid service because of Thanksgiving. He looked our room up on the computer and said the handicap box had been checked so that's why we got the room. He offered to move us for the next night but we said we'd stay where we were. I was just wondering how we got it and how to avoid that happening in the future. After our first shower in the handicapped tub I wished we had moved.

As I laid on the pillows I soon found out they were down pillows. As an asthmatic I can't use those so we got a couple of regular pillows from the nice clerk. The down pillows felt so great though the few minutes I laid on them!

Breakfast was sausage patties (no eggs), French toast strips, yogurt, cereals, fruit, dry donuts, hot oatmeal (pot stayed empty the whole time we were at breakfast), really great coffee but weak OJ.. The clerk said we'd have biscuits and gravy the 2nd morning so we were looking forward to that. We got there 40 min before they closed breakfast and they were already out of canned fruit, cooked oats and sausage and gravy. About 10 min later they were out of chicken patties and people were still coming in. Several of us had biscuits on our plates waiting for the gravy refill and assuming it would be out soon. Finally I asked the lady and she said they wouldn't be putting any more food out. So what was out when we arrived stayed that way. We also had to find her and tell her the regular coffee was out and there were no more oranges; we had to get coffee from the lobby pot but she had no more oranges. There were bananas left but they were over ripe and nobody wanted them. There were some small, very dry banana muffins left. They also had some kind of generic-type donut, yogurt, cereals, waffles, apples and grapefruit.

One lady complained she was told they had some sugar-free cereal (she was diabetic) but both containers had the same sweet cereal in them and they weren't even the same brand that was on the container. The lady told the diabetic that was all they had.

Also the unfriendly lady serving the food should have looked a little more presentable; at least have her hair looked combed. It made you wonder about the quality of the food that was being served.

Available in the lobby were cookies, fruit and coffee.

This is a nice, clean motel. It's a shame that some of the details travelers enjoy (friendly, helpful staff and a good, hassle-free breakfast being 2 things) are being ignored here. We are in this area several times a year and will continue to use Priceline. I sure hope we don't get stuck
with this motel again as we've experienced how Priceline users are treated.

Near the motel is a Target Superstore, Walmart, restaurants, etc.

Room Tip: Ask what type of room you have been reserved so you get the type of room you are expecting, especial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochester hotels
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Rochester
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester - North
7.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rochester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester South
3.7 mi away
Kahler Grand Hotel
Kahler Grand Hotel
#30 of 57 in Rochester
3.5 of 5 stars 904 reviews
3.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rochester - Saint Mary's & Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester

Address: 4323 Hwy 52 North, Rochester, MN 55901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Rochester
#20 Family Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Rochester, MN hotel offers all the essential modern amenities for your relaxing stay near the Mayo Clinic, University of Minnesota Rochester and IBM Rochester headquarters. The Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN offers free shuttle service to the Mayo Clinic in downtown Rochester as well as the IBM headquarters and the Rochester International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Rochester Hotel Rochester
Country Inn And Suites Rochester
Country Inn Rochester
Rochester Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rochester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.