We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would love to stay in this motel everywhere I travel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4323 Highway 52 N.W. Frontage Rd., Rochester, MN 55901-4154   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #26 of 53 hotels in Rochester
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Would love to stay in this motel everywhere I travel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

we stayed her Christmas night and there seemed to be very few people. But, it was a wonderful place to stay: the temperature in the rooms was good (many motels are too hot and stay that way), the beds were very comfortable, the workout room was great (2 treadmills, one eliptical and free weights) and it was cool also (workout rooms are often too warm.) The breakfast was a cut above the ordinary. The hals were clean. The price was right.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    18
    13
    3
    6
See reviews for
26
13
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corydon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Our room was clean as was the rest of the motel. We weren't very happy though about getting a handicap room but had already unpacked before we noticed the bathroom was set up for this. We were very tired from a long day on the road and didn't want to gather up everything and move to another room. I did talk to the clerk a little later though to see why we got that room. All we heard was double talk and the blame being placed on Priceline. He didn't even look at the computer; wasn't even near it. He immediately asked if we got our tickets thru Priceline and we said we did. Then he said Priceline assigns rooms like that and blamed it on them. It was very obvious that this motel puts Priceline people in the rooms that are less desirable as he said everything but that. The clerk who started working after midnight was much more friendly. He told us the rooms booked were bunched together to save the maids time as there would be limited maid service because of Thanksgiving. He looked our room up on the computer and said the handicap box had been checked so that's why we got the room. He offered to move us for the next night but we said we'd stay where we were. I was just wondering how we got it and how to avoid that happening in the future. After our first shower in the handicapped tub I wished we had moved.

As I laid on the pillows I soon found out they were down pillows. As an asthmatic I can't use those so we got a couple of regular pillows from the nice clerk. The down pillows felt so great though the few minutes I laid on them!

Breakfast was sausage patties (no eggs), French toast strips, yogurt, cereals, fruit, dry donuts, hot oatmeal (pot stayed empty the whole time we were at breakfast), really great coffee but weak OJ.. The clerk said we'd have biscuits and gravy the 2nd morning so we were looking forward to that. We got there 40 min before they closed breakfast and they were already out of canned fruit, cooked oats and sausage and gravy. About 10 min later they were out of chicken patties and people were still coming in. Several of us had biscuits on our plates waiting for the gravy refill and assuming it would be out soon. Finally I asked the lady and she said they wouldn't be putting any more food out. So what was out when we arrived stayed that way. We also had to find her and tell her the regular coffee was out and there were no more oranges; we had to get coffee from the lobby pot but she had no more oranges. There were bananas left but they were over ripe and nobody wanted them. There were some small, very dry banana muffins left. They also had some kind of generic-type donut, yogurt, cereals, waffles, apples and grapefruit.

One lady complained she was told they had some sugar-free cereal (she was diabetic) but both containers had the same sweet cereal in them and they weren't even the same brand that was on the container. The lady told the diabetic that was all they had.

Also the unfriendly lady serving the food should have looked a little more presentable; at least have her hair looked combed. It made you wonder about the quality of the food that was being served.

Available in the lobby were cookies, fruit and coffee.

This is a nice, clean motel. It's a shame that some of the details travelers enjoy (friendly, helpful staff and a good, hassle-free breakfast being 2 things) are being ignored here. We are in this area several times a year and will continue to use Priceline. I sure hope we don't get stuck
with this motel again as we've experienced how Priceline users are treated.

Near the motel is a Target Superstore, Walmart, restaurants, etc.

Room Tip: Ask what type of room you have been reserved so you get the type of room you are expecting, especial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at country inn when my husband needed treatment at mayo. Overall, the rooms are fine and the breakfast is good. However, not one staff person ever smiled at me the whole time we were there. When we took the shuttle to mayo - we felt we were taking our lives into our own hands! My husband said that he has been in cabs in Mexico where the drivers drove more safely!
I'm not sure we would return, based on the lack of service.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife, 3 year old daughter & myself stayed here. The room was spacious (1 King) with nice amenities. We used the pool & hot tub both days we were there. They are nice, not huge, but clean. The breakfast was excellent for today's standards. Most free breakfasts are pretty lack luster these days but this one was not. It had most items you would wish for and the staff was restocking it frequently. Very impressed. My only suggestion for this hotel would be a little firmer beds. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Don't stay here! Not only can you get better prices elsewhere, you will not be treated with respect! We tried to extend our stay and was treated with an disrespectful tone and sarcasm. We found a better place across the road with nicer beds, breakfast and workers.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Lee,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed the staff issues with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.


Sincerely,

Hana Anderson
Assistant General Manager
Country Inn & Suites Rochester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marengo, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I was pleased to have gotten a Country Inn & Suites on Priceline. I LOVE their motels, always very new & clean. Not this one.
~ carpet is very old & very stained
~very old shower head and too low (I'm 5' & I had to crouch under it)
~ king size bed skirt on a queen bed looked silly!
~old, old, old everything in room, tho lobby is up to date

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We were there for two weeks, going to Mayo. This facility was great to us, and we couldn't have asked for nicer folks! The staff was terrific, the property was CLEAN, the showers HOT, and the breakfast was wonderful! Very good guest laundry room. The shuttle to the clinic and hospital was right on time and very easy!

On the first weekend, we had a microwave problem. They tired to fix it, but couldn't, so they relocated us to another room. NICER than the one we had!! They went out of their way to make us feel welcome and OK!!

We will have to return, and will be booking here! Thanks!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN

Address: 4323 Highway 52 N.W. Frontage Rd., Rochester, MN 55901-4154
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Rochester, MN hotel offers all the essential modern amenities for your relaxing stay near the Mayo Clinic, University of Minnesota Rochester and IBM Rochester headquarters. The Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN offers free shuttle service to the Mayo Clinic in downtown Rochester as well as the IBM headquarters and the Rochester International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Rochester Hotel Rochester
Country Inn And Suites Rochester
Country Inn Rochester
Rochester Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.