We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4323 Highway 52 N.W. Frontage Rd., Rochester, MN 55901-4154   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #21 of 54 Hotels in Rochester
Blaine, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Okay, not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at country inn when my husband needed treatment at mayo. Overall, the rooms are fine and the breakfast is good. However, not one staff person ever smiled at me the whole time we were there. When we took the shuttle to mayo - we felt we were taking our lives into our own hands! My husband said that he has been in cabs in Mexico where the drivers drove more safely!
I'm not sure we would return, based on the lack of service.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    22
    14
    4
    6
See reviews for
31
14
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hutchinson, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife, 3 year old daughter & myself stayed here. The room was spacious (1 King) with nice amenities. We used the pool & hot tub both days we were there. They are nice, not huge, but clean. The breakfast was excellent for today's standards. Most free breakfasts are pretty lack luster these days but this one was not. It had most items you would wish for and the staff was restocking it frequently. Very impressed. My only suggestion for this hotel would be a little firmer beds. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effie, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Don't stay here! Not only can you get better prices elsewhere, you will not be treated with respect! We tried to extend our stay and was treated with an disrespectful tone and sarcasm. We found a better place across the road with nicer beds, breakfast and workers.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Lee,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed the staff issues with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.


Sincerely,

Hana Anderson
Assistant General Manager
Country Inn & Suites Rochester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marengo, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I was pleased to have gotten a Country Inn & Suites on Priceline. I LOVE their motels, always very new & clean. Not this one.
~ carpet is very old & very stained
~very old shower head and too low (I'm 5' & I had to crouch under it)
~ king size bed skirt on a queen bed looked silly!
~old, old, old everything in room, tho lobby is up to date

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We were there for two weeks, going to Mayo. This facility was great to us, and we couldn't have asked for nicer folks! The staff was terrific, the property was CLEAN, the showers HOT, and the breakfast was wonderful! Very good guest laundry room. The shuttle to the clinic and hospital was right on time and very easy!

On the first weekend, we had a microwave problem. They tired to fix it, but couldn't, so they relocated us to another room. NICER than the one we had!! They went out of their way to make us feel welcome and OK!!

We will have to return, and will be booking here! Thanks!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel is located on the frontage road off Hwy 52, just north of downtown. It is very close to Target and Home Depot, as well as a myriad smaller stores and restaurants such as Chipotle. The hotel lobby provided cookies and fruit - replenished constantly. Also, coffee and tea was available at all times which was appreciated. The room was clean, beds comfy but - as with many chains - even in summer each bed had a huge thick comforter which, even with a low setting on the a/c was too much. A thin blanket is provided but just one so we had to request another for the other bed and those let us sleep. Those fat comforters could be tucked away for the summer! Thank you for those. Rooms were clean and the bathroom was stocked with everything we needed. The only down side was the breakfast serving time during the week stops at 9:30. Arriving late at night, it might be nice to offer it a bit longer or at least be willing to accommodate later arrivals. Even the pastries were removed right after 9:30 but we did grab a bowl of cereal each. Management take note this is a big deal for families, that's why we love your chain. It do know that others do accommodate later arrivals, but our family and others coming in later were out of luck. Pool was nice, pool towels provided neatly. Best points: clean room (could we get an option to not have feather pillows?), well stocked bathroom, friendly checkin staff. Not so good points: summer blankets could be provided for each bed, breakfast needs to go later or at least be willing to offer something.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room on the third floor and lucked out with an end of hall spot that was super...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We found this motel to have a very accommodating staff, they were professional, willing to please and always a sincere smile. The breakfast was excellent, they replenished the breakfast serving area until after the announced stopping time not to run out of an item. Cookies were always in the cookie jar and fruit was always at the check-in desk along with the coffee. I rated them excellent even though of wear on the carpet but I can accept that and the rooms were clean. I used the shuttle service to Mayo Clinic and I found this free service saved me $11.00 parking fee.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN

Address: 4323 Highway 52 N.W. Frontage Rd., Rochester, MN 55901-4154
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Rochester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Rochester, MN hotel offers all the essential modern amenities for your relaxing stay near the Mayo Clinic, University of Minnesota Rochester and IBM Rochester headquarters. The Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN offers free shuttle service to the Mayo Clinic in downtown Rochester as well as the IBM headquarters and the Rochester International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Carlson, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Rochester
Country Inn & Suites Rochester Hotel Rochester
Country Inn Rochester
Rochester Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rochester, MN, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.